We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Punta Cana to your Saves list
Excellence Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellente”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently returned from our 6 night stay October 27 - Nov 1, 2012. We really enjoyed our stay and met some wonderful friends while we were there. One of the things that kept coming up is how many times some guests have been there. This resort has a large percent of return guests. We stayed in 8210 the upper floor and liked the open feeling of the high ceilings. We went with the Excellence club and were greeeted warmly and taken to the club for private check in Carlos was great. Our luggage did not arrive for 3 days and Carlos helped us out with the airlines and letting me us the phones and free wi-fi to summit a claim. We loved the private beach area with Diego and Natalie. After the 1st day they all new what we liked and made sure we had what ever we needed. The first two days my husband slept all day in the comfortable bali beds. The beach was amazing and hurricane Sandy brought in this great sand bar. It lasted about 4 days and the swimming was great. I had read recent reviews that the beach was not swimable because of the under tows, but the sandbar took that away. I guess we hit it at a great time. The pool is also amazing with the exception of some loud, drunk, folks making complete fools of themselves. Oh well, I guess it was there vacation also. The new pool floats arrived while we were there more than enough to go around. We did not see anyone reserving beds, chairs with towels and then not using them. The food was a bit hit or miss. Our favorites were Spice and Chez Isabelle. We enjoyed the breakfast at the Lobster house and even the Breakfast in the club lounge. The grounds are so well kept and the maid service is exceptional. I can see why many people return. I just wish that the food was better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,055
    2,066
    722
    346
    221
See reviews for
430
6,303
75
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After having stayed at excellence cancan, this place was disappointing. We booked a king bed but was given two queens. We immediately complained and was told we had to wait until the next day for a room we booked months ago! The food was inconsistent as was the food service. On one occasion, we had to call for housekeeping as it was 5:30 p.m. and no one had been in. I will say that the hotel tried to make things better, ie free beach bag, t-shirt, and hat but it was no enough to convince us to return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a wonderful time, staff very friendly. Yanilka was very helpful and kind. Would definitely come back! Loved the shows that were featured each night, the 24/7 room service was also a plus. The excursion we went on was so much fun. Hung out at the pool bar a lot which was always fun as well. The beach was beautiful and there were always staff to around to offer you drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well what can I say.......
This was booked as a honeymoon and it was a dream come true, nothing but nothing was too much trouble for almost all of the staff. The pool conciege Natalie was an absolute diamond. Altagrazia was a star as well. Just really do not know where to start, the food was good in all of the restauratnts (6) from breakfast by the sea in the Lobster Restaurant to the snack bar on the beach, Asian, Italian, French, such a choice and excellent service with a smile.
Rooms and facilities are brilliant, maid service twice a day if required. Rooms were massive and had a jacuzzi ensuite. room service was quick and very efficient. Make sure you get to the Dominican Night to sample a bit if the local tastes which were excellent.

English hotels or anywhere else we have visited could learn a lot from this place, all inclusive means exactly that... Excellence is the correct name for this resort in all ways.

Room Tip: If you can blag an upgrade you will be in even more luxury but rooms are great, possibly avoid the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hi First let me share the positives... the property is beautiful and the champagne is flowing. honorable mentions go to: Carolina, Jose at the Martini Bar and Rosemarie. Beautiful people who are geniunely a pleasure. The Casino staff need to take some lessons from these individuals. Casino = A manager that applauds when everyone on the Roulette table loses, not one employee smiles and what seems to be with the objective to continue a losing streak the spinner rolls the ball though the roulette wheel before anyone gets a chance to put the chips on the table (even if there is only one player). Seriously, they spin the ball right after they make a payment and everyone is scrambling to put their chips on the table. VERY VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ATTITUDES. The staff there is miserable and unbelievably rude. Accomodations: We paid a little extra for the conceirge level. This would include a private beach area, lunch brought by your beach chairs, your choice of drinks in your room, fruit platter every day..etc. Well, don't bother with the extra cost. there are enough beach chairs in both areas of the resort (which is a good thing) BUT the lunch is just a boxed pizza every day - so you end up going to one of the restaurants anyway, there was never a fruit platter brought to our room AND it doesnt matter that we sent out list of preferred beverages (chosen from their list) they put whichever bottles they choose and when we asked them to swap two of them we were told they could only do one. Then why bother?? Our friends had to transfer to other rooms twice during their 7 day stay. One room had a strong cigarette odor and the other had a huge water leak. The restaurant food is mediocre at best. Nothing impressive. It rained while we were there and the power went out in our building on three separate occasions. All in all, i would recommend the Paradisus Palma Real. I should have followed my instinct as we had stayed there two years ago and we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Stay at another resort!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just got back from an 8 day stay for our honeymoon. The staff is exceptional, the rooms were comfortable and kept clean. The bartenders were unbelievable, giving the best service I ever had. The resort's pool was also the best I ever seen and maintained beautifully.The staff also put on some good shows, the Michael Jackson tribute was terrific! Negatives? YES the food is like a 5 on a scale of 1-10. We did not get sick on the food but just did not enjoy it half the time. Breakfast at Toscana was great but dinner there? not good. They had pretty good room service but the hot foods were always recvd more lukewarm. The casino is a little joke with machines that broke down and extremely small and the resort insisted on a dress code for some of their restaurants but they were not properly air conditioned making it uncomfortable for my husband to wear long pants. So I guess what I am trying to say is a beautiful place to go and if they could pull the food situation together..it would be paradise! Just have to decide if the food quality is important to you. We would consider going back but honestly looking forward to testing some of the other resorts along the way...we like good food!

Room Tip: think they should invest on a movie theater, better air conditioning in the restaurants and also hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just arrived back from The Excellence Punta Cana (Nov. 8 - 13, 2012) and it was probably one of the best vacations I have experienced. My boyfriend and I went there for a wedding (which was beautiful) and could not have been happier with our stay. First off, the grounds are immaculate and breathtaking. When we arrived we were greeted with champagne and damp wash cloths to wipe our hands with.

The rooms were spacious, with a jacuzzi that we used almost every day and seperate bathroom with a partially see-through shower (wink, wink). The only thing was I felt the beds were a little uncomfortable and next time I will probably bring an extra blanket and pillow for myself. We were placed by the Cascade Pool (seperate from the main area) which has a waterfall and personal bar with beds and chairs to lay out on. You could spend the whole day in this area sipping on Coco Locos (highly reccommended drink) and catching some rays.

There are about 8 restaurants featuring italian, mexican, japanese, french, lobster etc. food.Our favorite was the Lobster House and Spice (japanese restaurant). Every other one was so, so. Spice we went to twice during our stay because we loved it so much and the servers were the best. The buffet is also enjoyable. There is many choices and stations (homemade omlettes in the morning and chicken/steak they'll cook for you on the spot). We usually ate there for breakfast and lunch.

The pool is huge, especially in the main area. The water is also kept clean and there is a swim-up bar inside. I would reccommend bringing a float and blowing it up when you get there because the ones given by the hotel are usually taken by 8 am. We brought our own raft and enjoyed every minute of it.

SERVICE IS OUT OF THIS WORLD! These people are just so nice and helpful. When we called for champagne to be brought to our room, it came right away. Jonathon and the servers at Spice (even the host) were just so nice and helpful. That's the main reason (besides the food) that we ate there more than once. During the shows that happen every night, there are servers walking around and bringing you drinks. It's just insane how accomadating every one was. It made the trip so enjoyable for us.

Finally, the mosquitos, like every one has said, are really bad. So bring bug spray and put it on (especially at night)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Excellence Group LLC, Amex, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.