We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunshine, terrible food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Dominican Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Dominican Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
2 reviews
“Great sunshine, terrible food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My fiance and I booked a 7 day stay here. We really wanted the sunshine and relaxation which we got but we would not return to this place. We had read reviews online before booking and had seen a lot of people from the US go and rave about it. During our stay we saw maybe 10 americans. Everyone there was either hispanic or european. Nothing wrong with that we just definitely should have brushed up on Spanish better. There were maybe 3 people at the resort that spoke some english. Marlicruz was the best!!! She spoke great english and was always so helpful!! Every day that we were there laying by the pool the massage women would not leave you alone and pester you. The excursions were very expensive! The food is buffet for breakfast and lunch which is not good and then dinners were better. Japanese hibachi was the best! the night before we left we were notified they were fumigating that made me nervous and they didnt move us. those toxins are not good for your body and i blame that for getting super sick the last day we were there.

Room Tip: we were in building 5. building 7 is the best with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    1,429
    783
    438
    427
See reviews for
1,036
1,483
111
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I just finished a 4 day trip there, do not go here. The staff was on a scale of 1 to 10, basically a 3 in terms of helpfulness. The food is terrible (1). Everything is an extra charge, i.e. good alcohol, room service, internet, snacks, and so on. The restaurants were terrible as well, yet you couldn't seem to get a reservation. However, none were packed when I was there. This seemed to be manufactured in order to get you to the buffet instead. Food was all very bland. Not many Americans at the resort. At the beach bar, I watched the bartenders serve themselves (top shelf alcohol) more drinks than they would me. Which by the way come in maybe 6 ounce cups. Bring your own cup, they would seem to fill those up. Do yourself an all around favor and go to the Virgin Islands, they aren't far away.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't seem to be any. I looked for recycling, but they did not have any available. Well the towels were old a dingy, so maybe they save water by not washing them often.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, Director General at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Appreciated Customer,

In the name of all the staff of Barcelo Dominican Beach we want to thank you for choosing us as a destiny for your vacations, we want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered in our resort.

Our customer's satisfaction it's our main goal and we pursuit it day by day, you can be sure that we will follow up every point of your review in order to avoid this kind of situations. We ask you to please give us the chance of serve you in a near future.

Cordially,

Radhames Martinez
General Manager
Barceló Dominican Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at Barceló Dominican Beach hotel was ok. When I called their 1-800 number to book the hotel room, I stayed on hold forever. There was a mistake made and I had to call back and I was placed on hold forever again. On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the best I would rate their 1-800 phone service a negative 7. The people at the front desk were ok and some employees provided Mickey Mouse customer service.



There were two of the buffet restaurant staff that stood out as being very helpful, friendly and pleasant. They were Yanira Sosa and Meudy. The Japanese restaurant was very good. Also, the room I stayed in was ok.



On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the best I would give the hotel a seven for the price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, Director General at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Appreciated Guest,

Greetings from Barceló Dominican Beach, we really appreciatte your valoration between price and quality, we apologize for not fullfil your expectations and you can be sure that your review will help us to improve our services in order to provide an unforgettable experience.

We hope to have the honor of having you as our guest in a near future.

Cordially,

Radhames Martinez Ruiz
General Manager
Barceló Dominican Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

during a week long stay at Barceló I can say it was a great relaxing vacation. The resort is very clean, variety of food was for every meal. Service was exceptional. I just want to say that you have to meet Pedro, who makes the best coffee in lobby bar. All done with a huge smile. Staff was very polite.
I am definitely coming back :)
Just one unusual experience; I wanted clean towels so I left some money ( approx. 4 doll ) to maid, and she did not take it for changing wet towels.

Room Tip: My room was near by pool and was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, Director General at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Appreciated Guest,


Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit to our hotel, we feel very pleased to know that your stay was pleasurable, and that you have enjoyed our facilities and our staff was attendig to all your needs

We invite you to choose us once again and become in a member of the Barceló Family.

Cordially,

Radhames Martinez
Director General
Barceló Dominican Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ptuj, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is great. Staff is friendly. All-Inclusive is good.
We (My girlfriend&I) were there at the end of June - for twelve days.
The only thing that we were disapointed was were other guests - there was a lot of young american teenagers. They were very loud at nights. During the day they leave behind a lot of trash - also in the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, Director General at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Appreciated Customer,

Thank you for your observations, these are very important for us because through these we can implement actions to improve our service, in order to fullfil your expectations and needs.

Please excuse us for the impression that you had taken in this visit, we sujest you in your next visit choose another season so you can get another idea of our hotel.

We hope to have the oportunity of serve you once again.

Cordially,

Radhames Martinez.
General Manager
Barcelo Dominican Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel had problems with the plumbing. Towels and linens were a premium and very hard to obtain enough wash cloths and towels. There was a major speech problem in that no one spoke english. We had to move to a different room on the third day as toilet and air conditioning broke. Sea weed was very smelly in the mornings. The food was FABULOUS!!!! The staff worked very hard to make things right if they could. Second room was adequate. Cleaning? Not the best. I would go back to Punta Cana but not to this resort. Water is beautiful and overall I had a great time!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, Director General at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Estimated Guest,

We feel very sorry for not have fullfil your expectations in the areas that you mention, all your comments are very valuable for us because are our main tool to improve our service.

We would like to let you know that we are commited we our customers satisfaction and pursuit this goal day by day.
Cordialmente,

Cordially,

Radhamés Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glace Bay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First trip to the Dominican and I would definitely go back.The beach was amazing , food and service was great. Lots of activities for everyone or just some good old relaxing. The only downfall were the 200 plus spring break kids .Then the 300 plus senior high trip kids that arrived.Would have been nice to have made this public knowledge.
We had an issue with our room and we were promptly moved to a newly renovated room when one became available.
Overall amazing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, Director General at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Appreciated Customer,

Thank for your comments, we feel very pleased to know that you've of our facilities and services 100%.

We value you have share yoour experience with the Tripadvisor community and hope to have ypu around soon.

Cordially,

Radhamés Martínez
General Manager
Barceló Dominican Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Dominican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Dominican Beach

Address: Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Dominican Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 732
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Dominican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Hotel Dominican Beach
Ocean Bavaro Spa Beach Resort
Ocean Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Ocean Bavaro
Puta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Dominican Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.