We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Dominican Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Dominican Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Alemania El Cortecito, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
“Vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff was excellent very attending and helpful in our needs. Friendly, entertaining and most of all very clean resort. All kind of delicious food and restaurants (Japanese, Italian, Mexican and even a Lobster feast). I we love the show in the evening. From the comedian to the dancers they were fabulous. Their massage staff ready to relaxing anyone at anytime. They even had a children's playground, daycare room with wonderful staff to watch over the safety of the children. In the evening they have children's show. We want to thank Manuel, Familia, Mariluz, Odalis, Yanira Sosa, Glady, Mama Mayra, Edward Ortiz, Alexander, Manuela, Esperanza, Yolanda, Fausto, Fernando, Rosario, Glenys for all being such wonderful people with us. You all have done an excellent job. For having me and my mom stay a wonderful time. Thank you. 10+

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    1,001
    600
    377
    379
See reviews for
754
1,076
91
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manakin Sabot
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On the whole, our trip here in May 2014 with a friend was restful and enjoyable. Things started off a little shaky when there was a late night show going on in a venue across from our building; that was followed by realizing we were facing the main walkway, which meant LOTS of people walking outside and talking loudly till the wee hours of the night. It took some doing, but we managed to get moved to rooms at the back of the resort - much better! And that building had an exit right down to the beach and the beach hut with towels and such, which was very nice.

One of the buffets was closed, so we ate most of our meals at the only one open. The food is adequate but, for the most part, nothing spectacular. Still, there was something for everyone and it was fine. The service in the buffet was terrific: the waitstaff was very attentive and those we saw throughout the week remembered our names; for the most part, they were delightful and kept our drinks full and took good care of us - enough so that we made sure to give a bonus tip to 4 of them before we left.

We had 3 of our 6 dinners in the specialty restaurants, where the food was all good, although the portions in the Italian restaurant were somewhat skimpy. The Japanese restaurant provided a fun show as the food was prepared at the large table shared by 10 people.

There was plenty of room on the beach, and it was generally clean. One thing to be aware of is the abundance of hawkers selling everything they can think of - we found the best way to handle it was to just not take any cash with us to the beach... they get you going into town, too, and Friday night the main sidewalks in the resort were lined with vendors - it was like running a gauntlet to get by them!

The one major complaint was with housekeeping: for the most part, they don't speak English (most of them are Haitians, so they speak French, maybe some Spanish). Our room was consistently overlooked, even though the resort was in a slow time. We left the tag out on our door for cleaning each day, but most of the time nothing had been done when we came back. One time, I even found the supervisor in our hallway and told her we would be gone for the next hour and could she please see that our room got done. That was at 3:00 or so; when I came back at 4:30 to get ready for dinner, nothing had been done. I turned the tag over to "do not disturb" and got ready for a shower... at which point, the maid knocked on my door! That is an issue which definitely needs addressing: if they can't read the tags, the tags are useless, so some training in that area would be helpful.

Overall, it was a good trip and the first time we've gone to an all-inclusive and we might consider it again. The resort is decent but could use some upgrading; still, it's a nice experience on a budget.

Oh, one more thing: Many guests are from Europe... and "dress" on the beaches as they would at home (just a word of warning if you go with kids); signs are in five languages.

Room Tip: Ask for the buildings away from the main walkway or on the backside of those facing the walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wow what a great time awesome place and people from Clarita and elizabel who greeted us at the buffet to to the helpers inside the buffet Carlos Obispo whom our party adopted as our son for the week to Enery Jimenez,Jesuito Diego and Estivinson who made it so enjoyable to eat at the buffet there we're special places to eat with themes that were fantastic now for the pool bars when we got there the big pool was only open foe a couple of day then closed for remodel but the bartender was awesome his name Louis then moved him to another location the bar by the ocean was the best the bartenders Luis and Enso by far the best attitude Enso was super awesome I would defiantly go back thank you to the staff for giving us an awesome time

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great beach. OK food not really great . Friendly service especially from the bartender Jensi Galvan who is a great guy and ensured me great service when I was there. will be back soon with frieda the atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Nicolaas, Aruba
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

excellent service, very friendly, I had a wonderful time
would recommend this place to anyone
Would look forward of going back their it has a little of everything for everyone
this was a way to celebrate my 40th birthday

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We where told we could do a early check in, we arrived at 12:30pm, they had a line of guest still checking out and check out was noon, we where told it would by 3:00pm before we could check in-so much for early check in, that was one reason when we booked we where staying there, the staff said they would store out bags for us, they where not stored in a secure location, but out at the entrance by the valet, anyone could have accessed them, we where able to go to the buffet, but it was not very good, and service was horrible. Once 3pm hit they did not have our room keys ready, that took about another 30 minutes and one of the guest in our parties room still was not cleaned when they got to the room, we got no help with bags, no map on where our rooms were or other info on the resort grounds/locations of restaurants etc. To get a towel at the pool only one of our party could get the towels, since his name was on the reservation-we had 9 rooms, and 16 people, then on the beach there where people selling items-made us uncomfortable-we came to relax for 1 day after 5 days of work helping the poor in the country before flying back home, they just keep trying to sell you stuff-no security from the hotel to run them off, the pool was small, no drink service on the beach, and at the pool bar it took forever to get drinks, and not sure what they where using for liquor a Gin and tonic and Vodka soda with lime should not have the same clear Liquor used for both drinks, no name brand liquors in sight. This place has no idea what customer service is nor do they care. Will never visit this hotel again or any hotel in there chain. Rooms where clean, but not updated.

Room Tip: Very few rooms have a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

$500 american was stolen from our room. It was the cleaning lady who had stolen our money. And when reported all we got was Sorry for the inconvenience. Dog taking SHy** on the resort. Staff members making out with guest. Prostitutes walking along the beach. Absolutely garbage resort!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Dominican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Dominican Beach

Address: Avenida Alemania El Cortecito, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Dominican Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 731
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Dominican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Hotel Dominican Beach
Ocean Bavaro Spa Beach Resort
Ocean Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Ocean Bavaro
Puta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Dominican Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.