We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Dominican Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Dominican Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #59 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This by far was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, the rooms were filthy the sheets were filthy the bathroom was so disgusting the ceilings were leaky we had no wifi connect after we paid for wifi apart of our package .. Even in there wifi approved areas there was still no connection n the wifi could not be shared it had to be used one at a time. The food was disgusting and the drinks were horrible... We complained everyday of our stay but nothing was ever resolved.. Housekeeping never showed up once to clean our room I would never recommend this hotel to ANY1 n never would I return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for contacting us. We regret that your vacations not were as expected. We extend our most sincere apologies, our client’s opinion is of great importance to us, it makes us grow and improve our service quality.

Related to the remark of our food concepts, allow us to inform you that our gastronomical offer was elaborated taking in consideration the diversity of our guests. We must mention that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of our food services has always been high, according to the opinions reflected in our guests’ questionnaires. Recently, we have made some changes in the concepts of our Specialty Restaurants that also includes important improvements in their menus.

Thanks for your comments, the comments were forwarded to the involve departments for their revision and also to prevent them from happening with future clients.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    1,417
    781
    438
    426
See reviews for
1,026
1,476
111
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rooms were neat , bed hard, pools should have been cleaned on a need be basis. Was not comfortable getting in the pool or jacuzzi. Food was horrible at the buffet, but the restaurants food was better. You have to line up each morning to make dinner reservations in the restaurants. It did not feel all inclusive. Just do what makes you happy on vacation. The landscaping was wonderful. They do provide a show at night, and activities during the day. I was unable to use the spa do to time lost. So sorry I can not say anything about it. Prices were what most resorts charge. Loved the beach & tours.

Room Tip: Call ahead to explain what you expect of a room. You may not want to be right near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay, we want you to know that we take into serious consideration your opinion and we work every day to inform our staff about each customer experience, We are very sorry if you did not enjoy your stay and have not met your expectations; we hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canovanas, null, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall the hotel is a perfect hotel if you want to have a good time. There is always something to do. The beach is steps away from the pool and the staff is always creating fun games to play with the guests. At the main buffet near the lobby serve great food, and the staff is very polite. But there is a waiter named Marino that exceeded my expectations. He gave us an amazing service and I'm very thankful for how he treated me and my family. The only bad thing that I would say about this hotel is that when we arrived we had to wait 1 hour for our rooms. Overall we had a grat time, and I would deffenetly come back.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach, don't expect to get much sleep. there is always a party at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your pleasing comments from your experience with us, is really very important that our guests spend a good experience at our hotel and take the best of impressions on your visit.

Our main goal is to provide an excellent service to all our customers and we are happy to know that we did provide to you. Thank you for choose us and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

An extremely disappointing experience. Overall, customer service is minimal, at best. I cannot say it is due to the language barrier, as I am bilingual and speak Spanish. My complaints about waiting for hours for room availability upon arrival, a broken elevator (we traveled with a child) and a broken air conditioner in the room -- were all conveyed in Spanish. Hotel personnel appear overworked and there is a general disinterest in assisting customers. The hotel is clearly understaffed. When we first arrived, there were so many people waiting at reception for a room that it resembled a scene out of Catrina on television -- it was quite disturbing. Hopefully, feedback is analyzed and an effort made to rectify these issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay, we want you to know that we take into serious consideration your opinion and we work every day to inform our staff about each customer experience, so we can achieve an improvement in the areas where needed.
We are very sorry if you did not enjoy your stay and have not met your expectations; we hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived to a room where the a/c was off and took over 8 hours to cool the room down; the television did not work, and; the toilet flushed but did not have the power to flush down the toilet paper so it floated in the bowl and piled up like a sewer tank.
We called and complained but they never fixed it. The third night in, we had reservations at the "upscale" Spanish Restaurant. It gave us food poisoning including nausea, diarrhea,body aches and exhaustion from not sleeping due to the other symptoms. (This has persisted 5 days so far.)

Day 4 we walked into our room in the afternoon to find it had an overpowering odor that smelled like paint remover had been poured all over. I went to the front desk and reported it. 30 minutes later, they still had not come. So we went back and chewed them out until they gave us a new room.

The new room seemed "ok." Television worked. A/C worked. But the intake for the A/C was directly over the toilet. Thus, every time someone went to the bathroom, the odor got blown into the whole room for all to smell.

Atop all of this, the wifi that you pay extra for takes 3 minutes to load a page.

Room Tip: book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,


After making the proper investigation of your case, we would like to extend you our most sincere apologies for the lack of customer service perceived from some of our staff members. We further regret that you felt your requests were not attended properly or in a timely manner.

We are very sorry you haven’t enjoy your stay with us, we assure you our staff work very hard every day in order to please all our clients.

On behalf of all Barceló Dominican Beach staff we apologize for all the inconveniences we assure that our aim is always our client’s satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just spent a week here and will not return. The problems here are management problems. Most of the staff was helpful and gave good service. (Although many of them responded well only with tipping.) This place is not clean. 6 out of 7 people in our group spent 1 to 2 days on the toilet. The bathroom was disgusting. The room was awful. The remote had no battery and had duct tape on the back were the battery should be. There was no toilet paper in two of the three rooms we had when we checked in. The housekeepers slopped water all over someone in our group as she when down the stairs. I felt as though the door to the club was open and right next to our room. The music boomed every night until 2 a.m. and then the fights started. If you are a student and are looking for an inexpensive place to drink and don't care about anything else, this may be your kind of place. The restaurant food was pretty good, especially Pepito's. If you stay here and want to eat the better food, you should make all of your restaurant reservations right away. The buffet food was so-so. Either way, most of us got sick and it was probably due to the unsanitary conditions. The doctor in the clinic (who assisted 2 of us with a rash we picked at the resort) was extremely helpful, polite and knowledgable. (There was a charge for us to see him.)

Room Tip: Go to another resort or upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments; we have taken them as a reference to avoid a repeat in any service department.
I'm surprised this is the impression you got from our staff this because one of our main tools are the good services with warmth and friendliness at all times.

We are very sorry for these inconveniences, thanks for choosing us and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have no idea what all the complaints are about. I just returned from a girls week at this hotel and I have very minimal complaints. For what we paid I was not setting my expectation TOO high and also after hearing some of the complaints I got a little nervous. We did upgrade to the Junior Suite which i highly recommend, you are put into a nicer building right next to the beach with all the upgrades. The rooms were clean and maintained, towels were delivered everyday. We received a small fruit basket and bottle of rum the first night and also got VIP priority check in where there brought us frozen cocktails while we checked in. Room was ready promptly at 3 as promised.

The restaurant reservation system is the only major issue we encountered. You have to go to the lobby at the crack of dawn to get a reservation for the next day. So most likely the first 2 days you will be limited to the hotel buffett which we didnt think was that bad at all. I cant believe all the complaints!! They did a theme every night at the buffet, when we were there we had (japanese and Italian to name a few). Breakfast had a griddle station as well as a omelet station and lots of fresh fruit and hot foods. We ended up getting a reservation at a restaurant and ended up not going actually, we did hear the food at the restaurants was not great!

We also did the lobster dinner on the beach that they offered. It was $35 per person for a whole lobster as well as 2 other courses and dessert and also included a bottle of wine. The tables were set out on the beach it was a very nice atmosphere and the dinner was excellent and also a lot of food! Highly recommended.

The bartenders especially at the pool bar were awesome, they defiantly made our trip very enjoyable.

On the other hand we had an issue with our safe and it took us calling 3 times to get someone to come fix the situation, which they eventually did. Also we only got 1 bottle of water in out mini fridge the one day and that also took 3 calls to get another one. But all in all it was a great vacation. The resort is huge, plently of pool and beach space. The bars were fun, the disco got crowded at night but very fun, we only left the resort one time for an excursion.

We also booked the airport shuttle too and from the hotel and airport, when we arrived at the hotel we found the barcelo desk and someone promptly took us to our hotel, when we were at the hotel he booked the return trip and also had no issues with that. It defiantly the easiest way to go.

I would return.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade and get a Junior Suite or a suite, the rooms are much nicer, upgraded and close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your pleasing comments from your experience with us, is really very important that our guests spend a good experience at our hotel and take the best of impressions on your visit.

Our main goal is to provide an excellent service to all our customers and we are happy to know that we did provide to you. Thank you for choose us and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Dominican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Dominican Beach

Address: Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Dominican Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 732
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Dominican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Hotel Dominican Beach
Ocean Bavaro Spa Beach Resort
Ocean Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Ocean Bavaro
Puta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Dominican Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.