We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the wrist - and the expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Dominican Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Dominican Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hoisington, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's all in the wrist - and the expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I's 1st trip to the Dominican. Booked Dominican Beach by price and picture, THEN found the reviews and started to wonder, because they are all over the place. Now that we're back, we realized that it's all about expectations. Other reviewers are right - if you want to be spoken to in clear English at all times, don't come here. If you want to stay in a brand new resort, don't stay here. If you want 4 star cuisine, why book a place with a buffet? If this is what you want, don't book Barcelo Dominican Beach. Now that's out of the way.

For $100ish a night, this place can't be beat. We didn't get to the resort until 10:00 at night, but they checked us right in. That sat us down and brought us the cocktail of the day and "The Boss" explained all the ins and outs of what was available, how and when to make ala carte restaurant reservations, how to use the pool towel cards, etc. then they put us on a cart and drove us to our room, where a plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of Ron Barcelo Anejo was waiting for us. AC was great, but beware, if you leave it cranked high, it will get a lot of condensation and will drip on the floor - it's not a leak, your AC is too high for too long. Try turning it down a bit while you're out. Grounds were meticulous, and we saw people cleaning all the time keeping everything neat. Beach and breeze were absolutely heavenly! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Helpful tip - tip your maid, then leave her a note (learn some Spanish, you're not in the US) if there's anything you need. Extra water? Diet Coke? A couple of Presidentes? Done, done, done.

Food was delicious day in and day out, though be prepared, everything in the buffet has a very distinctly Dominican slant to it. Once you know that, you're good to go. This means lots of fresh fruit in lots of things. Lots of chicken, pork, sausage, beans, rice, plantains. The pineapple is heavenly! Fresh juice of pineapple, papaya, melon. The bread station is a spectacle. And we will never be happy until we figure out their balance and blend for the cafe con leche (coffee with milk). We ordered it almost every meal. In fact, the only less-than-stellar experience we had eating was at the Italian ala carte! It wasn't bad, but it wasn't special enough that we liked it better than the buffet.

A dollar here and there to your bartender and waitress, and your drinks will show up without even asking (especially in the lobby). The coffee is to die for, no matter where you get it, but go to Le Cafe and get the best AC aside from your room, great coffeehouse atmosphere, and so much fantastic Dominican Coffee. And get a massage. The 25 minute relaxation massage was no more expensive than back home, quiet music, scented oil, and my masseuse found all the knots without my saying a word. Gift shop had decent stuff at really reasonable prices (except the soft drinks, which you can get at the bar), even on the rum and (for the most part) cigars.

Was everything perfect? No! The AC broke down. The repair guy was there 5 minutes after our call. It was running again by the time we got back from dinner. The floors and walkways are often wet, and can get slick. Bring shoes and sandals with traction. It's super-humid and nothing dries out, ever. Nothing you can do about that. Shower door leaked on the floor. Never did fix that.

We plan to come back. Learn some Spanish and try to use it. Shoes with traction. Tip your maid, and anyone else that gives you good service, no different than anywhere else. Don't expect a tropical vacation where everything is like the USA. If you want that, go to Key West. Expect to hear 4 different languages in any setting (we got Spanish, English, lots of Russian, and German), enjoy the awesome water and fantastic ocean breeze, and drink stuff with rum in it. This place is a Dominican vacation. Enjoy it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read your comments, thanks a lot. is our pleasure to serve you and do anything possible to make your vacations unforgettable.

We appreciate you have choose us and have the opportunity to please your expectations,our staff, as you said, are very hard workers try to improve our services everyday.

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your great experience, please come back soon, we will be waiting.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    1,111
    648
    394
    395
See reviews for
845
1,181
105
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We got the hotel in package,and didn't excpect a lot, but wasn't thinking it would be that bad. Hotel staff didn't care about us at all. When I tried to get change at the front desk I had to follow the guy from one end to the other, while he completely ignored me. When he finally looked at me, he just walked away! Making reservations for the resturants is another issue: there is only one person without speaking English who makes those reservations. As a result there is long line of about 20 people who is waiting in the lobby. Dear Mnagaement, Why not to add 2 or 3 reservation people, which will help to avoid lines and won't make guest wait??? Interent doesn't work in rooms at all, so don't even try to purchase ridiculously expensive wi-fi connection. Food was bad and the same all the time. Drinks in the bars are awfull, and staff has no idea what they are doing when they mix them, so you basically have to direct them in making the drink. And again, people at the bar are extremely rude and almost annoyed whenever guests approch them. Our last day, I came up to the bar asking for a water, and the woman without even looking at me barked that they are closed. I wasn't at that point shocked already, and walked away. We also had massage at spa and regreted since they simply rubbed in all the lotion, while talking to each other and giggling. So,avoid this resort at any case and don't be attracted by low rates since you end up paying for everything in addition to facing unprofessional and ignorant service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments; we have taken them as a reference to avoid a repeat in any service department.
I'm surprised this is the impression you got from our staff this because one of our main tools are the good customer with warmth and friendliness at all times.

Regarding the lack of English from our Staff, I may apologies, just remember Spanish is our mother language and sometimes can be difficult to communicate between both parties.

Thanks for choosing us we hope you to visit us again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

There was a 15 inch crack in the ceiling of my room, but that's OK.
I have to use two hands and a foot to close minibar door, but that's OK.

No windsurfing since a mast was broken some years ago and that's a shame.

Neither Barceló nor Global Divers (a provider of watersport activities for the resort) care about windsurfing and that's a shame.

They have only:
One catamaran. $5 to get tested for skills and ability as a sailor. 30 min limit of a catamaran usage per day.
Several kayaks free to use.

Two hard tennis courts, conveniently located close to the beach, rooms, lobby.
Free rent of tennis racket. $50 deposit in case you break it as Marcos Baghdatis did at 2012 Australian Open. Bring your own balls.

Volleyball court is on the beach. The ball was often wet as someone played with it in the pool.
Bring your own ball.

Beach is good, but has some seaweeds. Some shade, but mostly opened to the Sun.

Some Pros:
1. Fresh squeezed juices in the morning: papaya, melon, banana, cucumber.
2. Service is good. Service people are friendly and eager to help. Animators are funny.
3. Late night beer, food, and snacks at the beach restaurant.
4. Compact location: can walk in 5 - 10 min from one end to another: North-South, East-West.
5. Grounds are nicely kept with bridges, flowers, fountains. Picturesque views.

and Cons:
1. Limited food choices at main buffet. The ice cream is not available every day.
2. No breakfast at the beach restaurant.
3. Poor food selection at lunch at the beach restaurant: No soups, No ice cream.
4. Long lines for food and drinks when weekenders from Santo Domingo come in.
5. Only domestic drinks are included, $2+ for imported.

Thanks to Olga from Guest Services for arranging windsurfing at the next-door resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are in short walking distance (5-10 min) from everything. Closer to beach is more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we have informed all relevant departments to take actions to improve them.
Respect to windsurfing we have communicated with our aquatic services responsible for this to be resolved as soon as possible.
We are very sorry for these inconveniences, thanks for choosing us and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel services is horrible, changed rooms three times in one day. First room was in the back near the buffet restaurant where the service entry is for the hotel staff. I am not the maid I paid good money to be here.. Really bad smell, room mildewy, shower not working, no washcloth, second room, hissing noise from the bathroom, refrigerator not working, broken headboard, still no washcloth. Maid did not bring new washcloth, called housekeeping and they couldn't find someone to bring them, I quote " Washcloth are for VIP ppl " Told her i need to bath and that was her reply. Fortunately i find the maid to get some. Need a better variety of food, bartender can't make drinks, no more staff the speak English. This was a graduation gift for my daughter, her first time out of the country. I will never recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The only I can say is that Juan Roberto and Carlos Gonzales with guest services were very helpful. The resort caters to the European crowd and as a African American I felt a bit of racism.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments, the comments were forwarded to the involve departments for their revision and also to prevent them from happening with future clients.

We are very sorry you haven’t enjoy your stay with us, our staff work very hard every day in order to please all our clients.

On behalf of all Barceló Dominican Beach staff we apologize for all the inconveniences we assure that our aim is always our client’s satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just got back from my annual Girl's Trip with 5 other grown women (we leave the kids at home). First, we were dropped at the wrong hotel and left for 2 hours before someone came to pick us up. Then, spent 2 hours trying to get checked-in without food or drink. By the time were got a room, there was no where to get food. When we asked if there was somewhere to eat, the staff would just say "yes" but we could not find anywhere to get food. There were a few staff that were very friendly but most of the employees were rude and very few spoke english. Punta Cana advertises that they cater and want Americans to come visit but this hotel DOES NOT cater at all to English speaking people. I did the research before we went and read reviews, researched the area, etc. The pools were pretty, beach was amazing, our room was clean. They do not bring you fresh towels, coffee, water, or cups. We ended up having to buy bottle waters at the one store and re-use our towels. We called the front several times for items needed and even walked up there too but never got all we needed in a timely manner. We were not able to get reservations to a restaurant because we were in line at 7:15 instead of 7:00. They advertise 8 places to eat but honestly I only saw 2 (Brazillian and Japanese). The buffet is outside and there are birds flying everywhere, they will sit beside you while you get a spoonful of food and be careful where you sit down, you may sit in bird poop. The drinks were awful and very bottom shelf stuff. The disco was fun and the people in there were very nice. I will advise, if you stay here, leave on an excursion, that is the only saving grace to our trip-the actual REAL Dominican Republic food is amazing and the people are so friendly and fun. When we booked, we got 2 rooms and apparently this place does not understand if you book 2 rooms, you want them together. We spent an extra 30 minutes waiting on rooms because they did not book us next door to each other and they had to get 2 other rooms ready that were closer to each other. Do NOT stay here but Punta Cana is beautiful. I will go back there but will not be staying here and making sure that everyone I know will never make the mistake that we did and have their trip ruined.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the situations encountered your their stay with us. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure we deliver the level of service expected from our hotel.

Concerning the lack of English from our Staff, we should inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge of the English language and Barcelo Hotels is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However please be reminded that Spanish is our mother Language and their pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.

Related to the remark of our restaurants, we do have 3 buffet and 6 a la carte I am very sorry I our staff was not able to give you the proper information and assistance, we assure you we are going to take care of this situation in order to avoid recurrences.

Once again on behalf of all Barceló Dominican Beach staff we apologize for all the inconveniences we assure that our aim is always our client’s satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

No complaints at all, the staff all did a great job, some more than others, especially Marino, he works in the main buffet. He took amazing care of our family, we had 7 in our party and whenever we walked into the buffet, he was there and had a table ready for us, we never had to wait to get a table for all 7 of us so we could sit together as a family. He and all of the staff work really hard, so if at anytime one of them is cranky, let it go, they are wonderful people. The property was well maintained, clean pools, beautiful folliage, flowers, always clean. Rooms were dated, but always clean (you dont spend much time in your rooms anyway right?) and the maids were always very helpful. The beaches were beautiful of course. The food was always good, I believe they may have had some staffing issues when we were there because not all the restaurants were open at the same time, like the Pizza place, was hardly ever open, but Pizza was available at the beach bar, along with other food. Oh and the massage from the spa was amazing! I highly recommend it. I would definitely go back to this hotel. Those people who complain about service and food must be spoiled rotten folks who wouldnt be happy with anything but a personal chef and butler. Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your great comments, we are very glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff will be very pleased to see we made our goal that you have spent a good time on your vacations at our property.
Please give us the honor to visit us again we will be waiting to serve you anytime!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our first time in Punta Cana. Grounds look great. Right on the beach. However, the only place you get AC is in your room. Which I felt was not very clean. Either clean the tubs or replace them. Food was ok. We won't be back. Oh don't drink anything but the bottled water from your room. Carry it with you even to the restaurants. Brush your teeth with this water. They actually recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhames M, General Manager at Barcelo Dominican Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments and let us know your impressions, we are taking note in order to make the necessary changes to improve our services.
We regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations; we hope we can have another opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Dominican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Dominican Beach

Address: Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Dominican Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 732
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Dominican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Hotel Dominican Beach
Ocean Bavaro Spa Beach Resort
Ocean Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Ocean Bavaro
Puta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Dominican Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.