We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resort is great but eroded beach is terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Dominican Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Dominican Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Alemania El Cortecito, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Pictou, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“resort is great but eroded beach is terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I travel to DR every year this is probably the only complaint we have ever had, and its still not bad.
We are big time beach lovers we spend from 9am-6pm on the beach the whole time we are away. so its our most important spot on a resort.I'm going to try and explain this...when coming to the end of the resort towards the beach there are many beach chairs etc then to go in the water you must then step down a bank(very dangerous)the land has eroded away.When you get down the bank and drag a beach chair with you,there is not much room for the many passing people to walk past you, pretty much all locals as there are condos or apartments on each side of this resort.When the tide is coming in or the water gets rough you must then go back up the bank as it fills in with water.Other than that the food was great service was great the entertainment was very very lame and they didnt have it every night.However we dont go away for these things once you have been away a few times you dont watch the entertainment anyways.
So if you are NOT die hard beach people this is the place for you.If you are go somewhere else as you always have to watch your things that they dont float away we could have stayed up top however you are up so high all you can see is way out in the water.i love to sit back and watch the waves come in.
Enjoy

Room Tip: demand close to the beach this is the first time we ever had to change rooms it took many trips to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    933
    566
    368
    370
See reviews for
694
1017
78
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Hotel Excellance come by way of their Staff. They will go out of their way to help you. Several different languages are spoken by the staff as well. The facilities are very nice, the rooms are average and clean. The food at the buffet is average. The nightly entertainment is extremely talented. Wow! What a Show! The Singers,the Band, and the Dancers are all very talented. You will enjoy this Hotel.

Room Tip: They have optional pool side and ocean view rooms.There is an Italian Resturante by reservation only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wonderful vacation. Was A little worried reading the reviews seeing I had already book my trip. Let me just say front desk was always there to help as well as guest services. Could always find something to eat that I loved. Lots of things going on at the pool everyday. Beach beautiful. Maid service wonderful. Just need to say this, don't worry like I did it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just got back from vacation at the Barcelo Dominican Resort. I read and reread all the reviews the vacationer wrote. I must say I was a little afraid to book this vacation. I said "how bad can it really be"? Well to tell the truth I'm glad we went The food is very good. the people are very friendly, the casino was a lot of fun, and the pools at wonderful. The beach is to die for. I really didn't want to leave. Everyone has there own opinion. But this resort is really nice. Some buildings are older then others, but for the price it is well worth it. Go and decide for yourselves. We did and had a blast

Room Tip: Please don't expect to get into your room as soon as you get there. The maids have a lot of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The first day in we knew it was a mistake, Washroom door did not lock, front door had all kinds of cracks in them, table lamp did not work, ceiling fan did not work, bathroom had mold and rust marks, safe was locked, I have discarded better furniture than what they have in their rooms (Will try to upload pictures) Front desk employees think they are doing you a favour. Entire staff is not friendly or helpful at all (Never saw anybody smile once) Food is horrible here except the Japanese restaurant,(Closed three days a week) only ate French fries after the first day. Mini bar had a bottle of water 1 small coke and 1 small sprite, people working the Bar don't know any drinks at all (Nobody speaks English here) They let the locals stay here on a day pass for about $20 and they take over the whole place (Swimming pools, games, bar and food places, and they make a lot of noise).I could go on writing a couple more pages of the negative experience about this place, but all i can say is i would never return to this resort ever

Room Tip: Nothing is good here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I just came back from Barcelo Dominican Beach, I had a great time. The rooms were simple, nothing special about them, But when you go to an all inclusive resort, the last place you are is in your room. The service was great and the staff was friendly. Even if they did not understand english, they made an effort to understand and helped to the best of their ability. The restaurants had good food, as long as you made your reservation, you will be fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got there, everything looked great from the outside, but as soon as you started talking to the workers it was game over. NOBODY speaks English. The whole time we were there our first question was “do you speak English” and if they did it was the best feeling in the world. They didn’t really give us an outline of the hotel so we had to figure everything out by ourselves (this is a pretty big resort). Got to our room, our bathroom was locked, tried to call the front desk but our phone didn’t work. Had to truck all the way back to the front desk and it took them about an hour to unlock the bathroom. Our lamp didn’t work so they had to replace that. The rooms and bathrooms are so dark it’s ridiculous! There was water all over the celling and floor from the condensation. There were bugs smashed against the wall and ceiling everywhere! There was mold on the lamb shades and curtains. There was no water pressure in the shower, the shower head had to be held up b/c it kept falling down and if you were luck the water was luke warm (at best). Like in Mexico, we thought that the wet bar was going to be stocked with beer and liquor but the only thing you get is 1 bottle of water, 1 sprite, 1 coke and 1 juice box. Food was horrible all around expect for the hibachi grill and the Brazilian restaurant. They allowed locals on the beach area to pester the crap out of you to get your hair braided, massages, etc. and it got real old real fast b/c all you want to do is relax and enjoy your vacation. Not someone harassing and pressuring us to spend money on things that you have no interest in.
The only Pros were the beaches, landscape around the hotel and the strong drinks (which you REALLY need while here). You can tell that is the only thing that they take pride in. We go on vacation every year and this chain is one that we will never return to. Try out the RIU. They won’t disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Dominican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Dominican Beach

Address: Avenida Alemania El Cortecito, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Dominican Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Dominican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Hotel Dominican Beach
Ocean Bavaro Spa Beach Resort
Ocean Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Ocean Bavaro
Puta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Dominican Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.