We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star resort but not as bad as reviews make it out to be either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Dominican Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Dominican Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #59 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star resort but not as bad as reviews make it out to be either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Again, we read the reviews and decided to not have high expectations and see what happened. We had a Junior Suite (Bldg 6), which entitled us to the Elite Club services. If this made any difference I don't know. Check in was very smooth. Yulia (Julia) did a good job and we were served drinks upon arrival. Our first room was fine but we had to switch because a family of 4 would not fit in a room with a king size bed and sofa. Our next room was great until the neighbor above took a shower and our bathroom flooded. Promptly returned to the front desk and were given another room. First floor with a view of the ocean and walkway in front of the building. AC worked well but a little cold if not adjusted and it definitely took a little time to get it just right. Beds were very comfortable, pillows left a little to be desired but the room and sheets were clean. Bathroom was clean but did show wear and could use to be remodeled. Didn't use the jacuzzi tub. Had lots of hot water. One day housekeeping forgot to leave towels. We called the front desk and it took over an hour and 3 calls to get towels. I think they had run out of clean ones since we were given brand new towels. Beach towels were similar and some afternoons they ran out. We found it was better to switch them in the morning at the desk. Housekeeping staff was not fantastic and spoke little English but we were able to take extra bottles of water and soda from the cart with no problem. Our room was cleaned and the floor mopped every day. No problems there. We arrived at 3pm, hungry and found that the buffet was closed. Ordered room service which was included with out Elite status. It wasn't very good. Had we known we would have gotten pizza. Yes, there is a pizza snack shop near the pool that is open until around 7pm. The pizzas are good. Buffet food was terrible!! Restaurants were only ok and reservations had to be made the day before in the morning. We didn't have any problems getting reservations and we went to the Italian restaurant twice. My husband and boys (17 & 13) wore polo shirts, khaki shorts and casual shoes to dinner and were dressed fine. We did see people turned away in tank tops and flip flops. Their dress code says no shorts but they were permitted and appropriate. The coffee shop was good and the staff very friendly but language was a definite problem there. Pools were neat and clean but could have used a few more lounge chairs. Beaches were clean with no problems finding a lounge chair. Resort was clean and well maintained. We used the hotel desk for excursions since we were given a 10% discount with the Elite status. The 2 person boat/snorkel trip was awful!! Spent most of the time driving in circles so they could take pictures and videos to sell you afterwards. Dune Buggies in Cap Cana were lots of fun and the cave pool was beautiful. This is the less muddy of the 2 trips they offered. Zip line was the absolute best! It was all new, only open since Dec 2011, and the staff was great! Would recommend this to everyone. Overall we had a good vacation but found that the staff was 50/50 being friendly and helpful. Sometimes it was a language barrier and other times I felt as though they didn't care. Overall a good vacation with the exception of the food and some staff. You have to keep in mind that it's only a 3 star hotel not a state of the art facility.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    1,424
    781
    438
    426
See reviews for
1,030
1,479
111
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

From the time we arrived at this hotel we knew we were in trouble! First off, there was no one there to greet the guests arriving. We went to the front desk, our room wasn't ready, mind you, it was 3:30pm. We had to wait over an hour. We were very hungry and hadn't ate so we ask where we could go to grabs bite to eat....surprise NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH!!! When we tried to speak with someone in a managerial position we were told by the English speaking employee that the manager didn't want to come out as they didn't speak english!! No where to eat as the buffet wasn't open as of then. We gave up and went to our room, what a mistake!!! Room was dirty full of bugs, sheets were dirty, bathroom was so disgusting, mini bar that was supposed to be stocked was so dirty we didn't even want the 1 bottle of water, 1 bottle of sprite or the apple juice box! I thought we were truly being punked!! This was bad!! We called housekeeping as there were no towels and once again they didn't speak any English! The staff was SO RUDE, that when we did try to complain they were so aggressive and nasty!! This place is a dirty dump!! All locals come here so that's should tell you something. We lasted all of 5 hours before we transferred right out of this hellhole to another resort!! PLEASE DO NOT GO HERE!!! THIS PLACE ALMOST RUINED OUR ENTIRE VACATION!!!

Room Tip: Go with another hotel! Nothing about this place is ok!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel might be a good one a few years back. Nowadays it desperately needs renovations and BETTER service.
Rooms are trashy; hotel really shows its age. The humidity is bad; there were puddles of water on the floor dipping from the ceiling. We had to keep the AC on all the time to help with it a little bit. The drawback was that you can't control the temperature in the room; AC is either on or off. We kept it on and it was freezing! I'm usually not that concerned about the room, as we're going for the beach. But we had a couple of rainy days when we had to stay in the room; that was depressing. Bring an umbrella; hotel doesn't offer any. The territory is quite big (which is nice), but you can't go anywhere when it's pouring.
On a positive side, the territory is big and well maintained (we wished we had those lawns in our backyard :)), nice fountains. Beach is beautiful, plenty of lounges, we never had a problem finding three together any time of the day. Water is warm; there are seaweeds, but the staff cleans it daily. We walked along the beach and I think our hotel had the best beach in the area.
Food in the buffets is average; we even were fighting food poisoning at the end of the trip. The restaurants are good though; we preferred making a reservation and eating at the restaurants. Coffee shop is a real treat; that was our favorite.
Service is bad. That could be a language issue as only few people speak English, But most of the time we found the staff was rude and not willing to help; they would turn their back when we were talking to them! Unacceptable!
In summary, we would not go back. Yes, people may say you get what you pay for. We agreed that next time we would pay a few extra $ and go for 5 stars or pay less and go to Mexico where you get much more for less money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdletree, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had debated on which resort to stay in, since this one was given so many bad reviews. Yes there was a few things that was out dated and in need of repair. There was nothing we could really complain about. The pools were cleaned every morning and all of the sand and palm tree leaves cleaned up. The staff was amazing, never rude. Housekeeping staff was great, animal figures every day from the towels, along with flowers. We had no issues at the airport coming or going home. The biggest issue we had was the Apple Rep was no where to be found all week, until we were parting from the resort. When we booked our outback trip, there were different reps eager to help. The AC could have been cooler. The beds were not bad to sleep on and the pillows were decent. The resturaunts were clean and very nice. The food was exceptional, the spanish one was the BEST!! The rooms were always clean. We did have a bit of a problem when it came a monsoon rain :-) the bathroom kind of flooded. We even got to watch the locals trim the palm trees with no machines. All was done with a rope and machetti. All and all we had a great time with great food and staff!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food wasent good at all, the restaurants were better, but not the best quality. The room was really clean, but have.some.damage that neee to be repair. The pools were a little bit dirty. The crew was really nice but they need more employes to give a better service

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Since I work at a hotel myself it only natural that I will want to scrutinize resort. I must say that the staff was really excellent with their service form the front desk to the restaurant. On arrival we were greeted by jennyfer who did a wonderful job with the check-in (very timely). The night first we had very nice singing waiter. Entertainment was excellent every night especially the beach party night. We fine that the staff was relaxed which help them to give good service even the housekeeping lady (very nice). The last thing a hotel needed is bad reviews trust me I know I work at one, but I just have to mention these 2.

Our dinner night at the Brazilian restaurant wasn't a good experience it looked like we got left overs from lunch cause we ate there at lunch, only the meat we were told is Brazilian because they were having some problems, so we left and went to the Italian restaurant, they were so helpful it made the night better (the pregnant waitress -Haitian- was excellent).

Then came the big problem, a phone problem not what you might think. Since we arrived our phone started ringing but no one was answering when we pick up. It happened again and again during our stay so we just hanged up the phone and then we took it off the hook and left it cause who needs a phone on their honeymoon. So basically what happened is that with the phone off the hook someone must likely the telephone operator was listening to everyone that happens in our room. how did we notice was after been intimate we heard voices coming from the phone so we hand up then would you believe the idiot(jacobio) called back and actually told my wife he was hearing us making love. That just killed our honeymoon. That was very embarrassing and scary. Guest relations handle the matter kind of ok. They didn’t know my wife speaks Spanish since we spoke English to them so between themselves they were saying that is was guest who did that, but when I told I know how the telephone operation works cause at the front desk of a hotel and it had to be a staff who barged in to our line was listening everyone got quiet.

Still don’t know the out come of what happen to that employee but I know We will never return to that resort ever (sorry)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I read the reviews prior to my arrival, but decided to have an open mind and see first hand. Here was my experience:
Room- we were "upgraded" to a Junior Suite because they were out of Standard rooms. I must say, I would hate to see the Standard Rooms! Our suite was absolutely filthy with stains on the floor, wall, bed sheets, and a mystery stain on the shower curtain. The furniture was very shabby and worn and the television was outdated. There was a film over the counters in the bathrooms and on the top of the dresser. The toilet handle fell off in my hand. We had a whirlpool tub that was outdated and filthy. The doors to the suite were warped and the front door was not very secure. Upon further investigation of our suite we discovered that there were ants on the floor, and all over the sinks. Despite notifying the staff four times, nothing was done to remedy the situation. (See Customer Service)
Customer Service- There were two or three employees who were friendly and smiled.....the rest were amazingly rude and unwilling to help. The worst offenders were the women at the coffee shop and the men at the check-in counter. Often they would stare just over your shoulder at something into the distance instead of making eye contact- like they wished you would just go away and not bother them. They outright make you feel unwelcome and act like you are a nuisance. We notified the management of our room conditions and were promised that steps would be taken to clean the room more thoroughly and replace the shower curtain- nothing was done. We were told that that was the only room they had available. Three more notifications to the management and still nothing was done.
Food- Terrible at the buffets, o.k. at the "restaurants." The servers at the buffet were very indifferent of your presence. It took an average of 20 min. to recieve a drink, and in two cases our drinks never came. The restaurants require reservations to be made at the Main Buffet in person, and must be done the day before. Very inconvenient.
Grounds- Neatly maintained for the most part. The beach was very nice, and there seemed to be plenty of beach chairs.
Entertainment- o.k. Lots of singing and dancing. The children's entertainment seemed to be redundant.
OVERALL- PLEASE dont waste your time and money!!! These employees DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU after you pay for your trip. I'm not sure if they are underpaid or generally unhappy people, but they go out of their way NOT to help you or to be friendly. The rooms are in disrepair and the resort needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: Ensure that your room is free of ants or other insects. We couldnt even put our bags down on the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Dominican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Dominican Beach

Address: Avenida Alemania, A-B 108 | El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Dominican Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 732
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Dominican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Hotel Dominican Beach
Ocean Bavaro Spa Beach Resort
Ocean Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Ocean Bavaro
Puta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Dominican Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.