We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT! what more do you need!???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Sol Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Vista Sol Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Sol Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“WHAT! what more do you need!???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a great surprising experience.
it's all about a hotel review not Dominicans or outside locals or seaweeds that can't be controlled this time of the year...

RECEPTION: Great customer service... They speak some english and some french and some more....
We were switched room and they were amazing with it! We even got our room 2 hrs before they said.

You can also change your money at the front desk at the same rate almost as outside the resort.

This resort is located only a few min. from the downtown Bavaro... Soooo it was amazing for going out dancing!

ROOMS:
PERFECT comfortable
we had visited a few different types of rooms and we were simply happy...
Bed were comfortable, AC was working great and bathroom was very clean.

BEST rooms: The suite ocean view 6301 was mine!
Can't ask for more

POOLS... warm water in the 3 pools.

Clean and well maintained yards.

FOOD: GREAT!
Come on... you are in Dominican Rep. There was plenty but plenty of variety to survive for a week or two. Free bottles of water in the rooms, deserts... miam! good! and plenty of fruits every night.

If you need to eat after buffet hours... There is always the little restaurant by the beach and enough to choose from... WAY better than any Cuban resorts I have been and better than a lot of resorts I have visited also.

There are a few restaurant a la carte... but we enjoy the buffet food enough that we didn't need to book the a la carte restaurant!

DRINKS: Very good... not watered down!!!!

DISCO: they play some dance music (mix) and latin music too

in general: The resort has lots of latin american people visiting... not too many Canadians and mostly not many Quebecois... and I loved it... Nice to feel disconnected!

on the beach... yes locals will try to sell you a lot of things... but the security guy is very good at controlling that.

But the staff is very friendly and I was more than happy with my STAY at Vista Sol Punta Cana... I WILL BE BACK!! Thank you!

One little note: I saw a supervisor (non dominican) at the restaurant talking down to the employees ... THAT I didn't appreciate... I find that most Dominicans don't make much money and they work very hard at trying to make everything perfect... I thought they were doing a great job in the restaurant in keeping everything in order... no need to be talked down to them... especially in front of the clients... Encouraging them would be better and it would be nice to hear a felicidades every now and then... They deserve to be treated right and equal...
Not everyone has the same chances in life!

Room Tip: take a top floor and further from the pool for quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, today
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por sus buenos comentarios,esperamos volverla a ver entre nosotros .
Nos complace en leer lo que usted cuenta de nosotros.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    203
    110
    49
    31
See reviews for
134
223
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I really do not know why there are some negative comments this place was great value for money and became like home for 2 weeks.

On arrival there are porters to take your bags don’t be worried they are safe and part of the hotel and are the friendliest bunch ever they don’t expect a tip so don’t worry they love working.
Once at check in this was quick and easy and the staff spoke okay English and at least tried to understand you. 5 minutes to check in and your gone and you get a cheep safe for $10.
The rooms were huge 2 double beds and plenty of storage space for clothes and other items. There is a fridge in the room which get stocked with water only daily. The room was always cleaned daily and was to a very high standard. The shower is a little pain as the water comes in to the bath room but if you ask for an extra towel there is no problem. Our air con worked fine room 3108 great location.

The restaurants were brilliant as well, the main buffey which is self service is huge if you can’t find something to eat then you are to picky and a snob. There is everything and the fresh paster stand is lovely. There is always several meats to choose from and they are proper meat cooked lovely. The deserts are out of this world they design them so well and they taste amazing. Plenty to choose from and if you are picky there is always 3 types of ice cream.

The entertainment staff were so funny and so good at there job they are on the beach from 9.30am and there is a wide range of things to do from yoga to beach volleyball to beach dancing. They really make your day at the beach and the pool. They put a beach party on the Saturday night and they can dance it is such great night.

The entire complex is clean and the staff work extremely hard to keep it this way its lovely. All the staffs are friendly and try to speak your language and they would do anything for you.

If you want some shopping stuff do not go left out of the beach them shops are terrible and the men do no not leave you alone. Go right and its about a 2 minute walk and there is one shop that sells everything they are good to you in there ran by a German family I think. No hassle shop till you drop.
The beach do have security on and they blow there whistle so the luck lucky men don’t bother you so don’t be worried.

There is a place in the lobby where you can book trips its called nixion trips the guy is good and he sorts you out with discount and proper looks out for you. Do the dolphin royal swim this is once in a lifetime trip and also the outback safari trip make sure you get Kenny as the guide he is funny.

This complex is really such a nice place to go on holiday and relax it is great value for money and I would recommend this to anybody the negative feedback is so wrong and you should really try this place.

Room Tip: room 3108 grouynd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Google Translation
Thanks a lot,por sus comentarios.
Ustedes reflejan muy bien como es nuestro hotel y los comentarios emitidos son los que a veces haría yo también.
Estamos satisfechos que les gustara nuestro hotel y si quieren repetir la experiencia estamos a su disposición.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family spend 7 days days at the Vista Sol Punta Cana on Christmas week 2013.
Well the service was super, I mean these people really do their utmost to entertain you and accommodate you. The food was OK, nothing really fancy but it had a good taste. Their breakfast was varied and consisted of the usual fruits and pastries but also delicious local dishes. I especially recommend the fresh fruit juices that they have every morning.
The garden en surroundings are well kept and the room is nicely cleaned up every day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a family (2+2)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios,esperamos que vuelvan y reencuentren el mismo relax.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have gone to many resorts in Punta Cana. The food is great at all the restaurants at Vista Sol and the buffet is as good as the 5 star places in Punta Cana. The rooms are very clean and the people at the hotel are great also. Even when I stayed at the 5 star hotel, I had to be very careful of the water and ice cubes.
If you want to vacation more then once a year, I would recommend Vista Sol.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Google Translation
Thanks a lot for your words.
Esperamos verles nuevamente entre nosotros.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here but I went with an open mind...not everyone can be pleased after all.

We arrived at noon on August 30th '14. Our room would not be ready until 3PM which was kind of a pain but luckily we packed bathing suits in our carry ons. We enjoyed the pool and a few drinks for those few hours...it was searing hot weather so no complaints there!

I have to admit though...one of the guys at the reception desk (only one!) was not very welcoming. I told him it was my birthday and his response was "and..?"...not even a Happy Birthday! I thought they would do something nice like send a bottle of champagne to our room but...no luck there. That was kind of a let down and I was worried about going to the front after that but...everyone else was very nice!

We were very happy with our room (we stayed in room 8211), no issues with the AC. A mosquito here and there but not many. The cleaning service was excellent. Make sure you spend the extra $10 for the safe...totally worth it for the extra peace of mind!

The food was pretty standard buffet style food. Some of it was a bit bland but there was a great selection. My favorite was the omelette station during breakfast. We went to the Mexican and French a la carte restaurants and we enjoyed both. The French was better though. The snack bar also had a great variety of food everyday... I loved the nachos. Be very careful of the tap/shower water...do NOT drink it or you will be sick! My bf did get a little sick towards the end of the trip...but I attribute that to this being his first time out of Canada.

The beach and pools are amazing and beautiful. Just be careful of the sales people wandering the property, they are pushy. A firm and polite "no, thank you" will send them on their way. We wanted a quiet vacation so we didn't do the excursions but they sounded like fun. We were especially interested in the Pirate Dinner Theatre...next time we will definitely be doing that.

The Animacion team was okay...we only saw them a few times because we preferred quiet nights in the reception Lounge. The wait staff are very friendly and attentive.

Please be aware, this is NOT a luxury hotel. You get an excellent experience for the amount you pay. As with any vacation, be prepared with Immodium, Pepto, allergy pills, Motrin etc...it's only common sense!

It wasn't perfect but we were very happy with our first experience at Vista Sol. We recommend it and will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y tomamos nota de sus recomendaciones.
Estamos trabajando para mejorar el servicio al igual que en la educación del personal en lo que se refiere al trato con los clientes.
Si bien tarde,pero le deseo un feliz cumpleaños y que cumpla muchísimos mas.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I never thought food on vacation was that big of a deal until I went somewhere where we couldn't eat the food. It was all inclusive for 7 nights and 8 days. My wife and I actually lost weight on this vacation. We only ate fruit, French fries, and salad. By day 5 we had to walk the long way around the cooking area because the smell was making us nauseous. We ended up having to spend a fortune to take taxis to other hotels to eat. If you don't care about the food, the rest of the place is great.

Room Tip: Pool side room on the bottom floor was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios.
Quizás podrían ustedes ser un poco mas explícitos a la hora de comentar sobre la comida,ya que ofrecemos una gran variedad,hasta los viernes día de gala se ofrece langosta.
No puedo responderle concretamente ya que al parecer no le gusto nada lo que servimos,me gustaría saber a que hoteles fueron a comer para ir yo y probar la comida,sepa que nos conocemos todos y los proveedores son los mismos,es decir la misma comida.
Le repito,agradecería fuera mas explicito y así podremos cambiar platos.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort was just ok. The food and alcohol are not good. The whole time you're at the beach people are coming up to you trying to sell their products or services. Not relaxing. The massage girls come up to you and try to give you 5 minute massages for free and just start touching you. The room was ok but the air conditioning will not go cooler than 77 degrees Fahrenheit. There's a weird card device by the door, don't touch it or your air will turn off. Haha interesting experience but I would never visit again or recommend anyone go there.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y vamos a tomar medidas con el tema de los vendedores en la playa.
Sentimos que no haya sido una estancia del todo relajante.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Sol Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Sol Punta Cana

Address: Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Sol Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Vista Sol Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carabela Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Carabela Beach Resort And Casino
Carabela Bavaro Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Sol Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.