We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 times a year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Sol Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Vista Sol Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Sol Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Somerset
1 review
“2 times a year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have gone to many resorts in Punta Cana. The food is great at all the restaurants at Vista Sol and the buffet is as good as the 5 star places in Punta Cana. The rooms are very clean and the people at the hotel are great also. Even when I stayed at the 5 star hotel, I had to be very careful of the water and ice cubes.
If you want to vacation more then once a year, I would recommend Vista Sol.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    202
    109
    49
    31
See reviews for
133
221
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here but I went with an open mind...not everyone can be pleased after all.

We arrived at noon on August 30th '14. Our room would not be ready until 3PM which was kind of a pain but luckily we packed bathing suits in our carry ons. We enjoyed the pool and a few drinks for those few hours...it was searing hot weather so no complaints there!

I have to admit though...one of the guys at the reception desk (only one!) was not very welcoming. I told him it was my birthday and his response was "and..?"...not even a Happy Birthday! I thought they would do something nice like send a bottle of champagne to our room but...no luck there. That was kind of a let down and I was worried about going to the front after that but...everyone else was very nice!

We were very happy with our room (we stayed in room 8211), no issues with the AC. A mosquito here and there but not many. The cleaning service was excellent. Make sure you spend the extra $10 for the safe...totally worth it for the extra peace of mind!

The food was pretty standard buffet style food. Some of it was a bit bland but there was a great selection. My favorite was the omelette station during breakfast. We went to the Mexican and French a la carte restaurants and we enjoyed both. The French was better though. The snack bar also had a great variety of food everyday... I loved the nachos. Be very careful of the tap/shower water...do NOT drink it or you will be sick! My bf did get a little sick towards the end of the trip...but I attribute that to this being his first time out of Canada.

The beach and pools are amazing and beautiful. Just be careful of the sales people wandering the property, they are pushy. A firm and polite "no, thank you" will send them on their way. We wanted a quiet vacation so we didn't do the excursions but they sounded like fun. We were especially interested in the Pirate Dinner Theatre...next time we will definitely be doing that.

The Animacion team was okay...we only saw them a few times because we preferred quiet nights in the reception Lounge. The wait staff are very friendly and attentive.

Please be aware, this is NOT a luxury hotel. You get an excellent experience for the amount you pay. As with any vacation, be prepared with Immodium, Pepto, allergy pills, Motrin etc...it's only common sense!

It wasn't perfect but we were very happy with our first experience at Vista Sol. We recommend it and will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y tomamos nota de sus recomendaciones.
Estamos trabajando para mejorar el servicio al igual que en la educación del personal en lo que se refiere al trato con los clientes.
Si bien tarde,pero le deseo un feliz cumpleaños y que cumpla muchísimos mas.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I never thought food on vacation was that big of a deal until I went somewhere where we couldn't eat the food. It was all inclusive for 7 nights and 8 days. My wife and I actually lost weight on this vacation. We only ate fruit, French fries, and salad. By day 5 we had to walk the long way around the cooking area because the smell was making us nauseous. We ended up having to spend a fortune to take taxis to other hotels to eat. If you don't care about the food, the rest of the place is great.

Room Tip: Pool side room on the bottom floor was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios.
Quizás podrían ustedes ser un poco mas explícitos a la hora de comentar sobre la comida,ya que ofrecemos una gran variedad,hasta los viernes día de gala se ofrece langosta.
No puedo responderle concretamente ya que al parecer no le gusto nada lo que servimos,me gustaría saber a que hoteles fueron a comer para ir yo y probar la comida,sepa que nos conocemos todos y los proveedores son los mismos,es decir la misma comida.
Le repito,agradecería fuera mas explicito y así podremos cambiar platos.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort was just ok. The food and alcohol are not good. The whole time you're at the beach people are coming up to you trying to sell their products or services. Not relaxing. The massage girls come up to you and try to give you 5 minute massages for free and just start touching you. The room was ok but the air conditioning will not go cooler than 77 degrees Fahrenheit. There's a weird card device by the door, don't touch it or your air will turn off. Haha interesting experience but I would never visit again or recommend anyone go there.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y vamos a tomar medidas con el tema de los vendedores en la playa.
Sentimos que no haya sido una estancia del todo relajante.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first experience at a resort and I had high hopes because I had heard so many great things about vacationing at a resort! Everything started well enough until my friend and I got to the resort! They didn't have our room ready as they had stated during reservation.. We had to wait an hour for them to "clean" our room! After that it was down hill all the way! The men working at the resort are sexually charge and very aggressive which as a female its very uncomfortable to say the least. The women are all rude and disrespectful! I'm a diabetic.. I usually use an insulin plump but I forgot to bring the device that connects my pump to me so I went to their doctor's office to get needles.. The doctor reminded me 4 times how she did me a favor by giving me 2 free needled despite me offering to pay for it and I had insurance. I complained to the front desk and she kept saying it was my fault for going to the doctors office in the first place! & she reminded me how SHE did me a favor by giving me uncooked rice for my phone! I couldn't believe it! I did not feel safe there.. And innmynopinion a resort should not only be responsible for a room ,food,and alcohol and call it a day! They are responsible for their guest's safety and health as well! If you have a special needs do not go to this resort! You will be sorry you did! It was horrible experience!

Room Tip: Don't go here! Pay the extra money and go to a better well known resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios.
Me gustaría saber si en algún momento se sintió intimidada por alguien o si alguien se comporto groseramente con usted,este es un tema muy delicado pero me interesaría tener mas información para tomar medidas,le rogaría mandara un mail dandome esta información,puede hacerlo al reservas@vistasolpuntacana.com y dirigido a mi,que yo le responderé de mi email,no se lo puedo dar por esta vía.
El tema del doctor,este es un servicio privado que tenemos y ellos cobran por sus servicios,es decir no es el hotel quien pone los precios sino la propia empresa medica.
Para cualquier aclaración por favor mandeme email al mencionado anteriormente.
Gracias y siento esos desagradables momentos.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My cousin and myself came here for all inclusive for four nights. First of all the travel company never told us that it takes 3 hours from Santo Domingo to Punta Cana and it cost 175.00 US. Dont forget you have to pay 10 entrance fee at the airport. Anyways, while our room was fine, the pool and the beach, some the staff could not speak English, the food was very salty, and the Mexican and Italian restaurant foods was also horrible. My skin broke out that looked like chicken pox, and they hurt so bad. Tried calling a doctor, and after the 20th time calling the doctor told me i would have to pay 950.00 U.S dollars just for a consultation. If you die there, that would be trouble. The other vacationers were not friendly either and lack manners. I would never waste my money again coming to DR.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Agradezco sus comentarios,si bien no son del todo positivos.
Estamos trabajando en mejorar nuestro servicio de cocina y restaurante,lamento que no le gustara la comida si bien ,creo que ofrecemos una gran variedad en ella,claro sobre gustos no hay nada escrito.
El tema del doctor,sepa que es un servicio privado,en todo el mundo la salud cuesta dinero,este consultorio es quien pone los precios y si usted dispone de seguro le dan una factura detallada para que usted reciba del suyo el dinero de vuelta.
República Dominicana es un bello país,donde usted puede encontrar de todo,le invito a que vuelva y lo compruebe.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bad news...
We just returned from a 5 day stay at Vista Sol resort. I'm sad to say we spent the first 48 hours moving from room to room to room to room to room before we found a place with a working shower and air conditioning unit. And this was after we upgraded to their best room! And the best room was invested with ants. We had to purchase a can of insecticide from the store located on the premise to kill ants that had gotten into our luggage and were crawling around the coffee maker. It turned out they were living under the desk chair in the room.
And now the food - it was average at best. I'm still trying to figure out what meal has caused me to be seriously ill for the past three days. If my flight had been longer than 4 hours I would have been kicked off of the plane! They do offer you a few choices but the meats were greasy, the vegetables were questionabled, and the fruit was risky. That's probably were I made my mistake. Or maybe it was brushing my teeth without using the bottled water.
BY THE WAY - be prepared to tip everyone who crosses your path from the moment you step off of the plane. We had to tip three different people and pay a visitor tax before we could even leave the airport!
And one other thing - the drinks were so watered down I got craps in my arms from trying to catch a buzz! I haven't lifted this many times since my college days.
The good news - the workers are friendly but Their English is limited. If your Spanish is limited this could be an issue. Management was also friendly but they weren't really interested in resolving our room issues until we mentioned our problems to the VacationExpress representative. The best place to find a working a/c was in the internet room and the manager's office. It was at least 20 degrees cooler there compared to any of the rooms we had occupied during our stay.
The beaches and pools were excellent although it would have been nice if the pools stayed opened until at least 10:00pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor. We were told all of the 1st floor rooms were cooler ( but we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Sol Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Sol Punta Cana

Address: Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Sol Punta Cana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Vista Sol Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carabela Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Carabela Beach Resort And Casino
Carabela Bavaro Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Sol Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.