We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel would come again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Sol Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Vista Sol Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Vista Sol Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel would come again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is really good, stayed April 3 - 17. Check in was really fast no hassle at all, I was however charged $10 for a room lock but no biggie. Our room was very nice, and was stocked up daily with beer, water and rum and had a jacuzzi But we did see one roach on the first day but none after that. I am not complaining because we got upgraded to a private suite in the 9000 block because it was over booked. We had access to the VIP beach where you can use a cama/beach bed, hammocks, private bar and personal service. You can just lay on the beach and the drinks and drinks and snacks come to you. Thank you Victoria :)

If you have the cash Definitely upgrade to these rooms as they are AMAZING.
The resort is Very clean I always see the workers cleaning after closing.
I have read some people complaining about the food, but the food was really good
there was always something good to eat, KFC style Chicken,Chicken cutlet, roast chicken,
Duck, Lamb, Roast beef, Steak, Beef wellington, Roast pork, lots of fish and seafood.
Fresh juice, Giant salad bar, Lots of really good cheese and cold cuts and breads.
If you like sweets you will be in paradise, The cakes and cookies are delicious.
The A-La Carte restaurants were good aswell

The staff are very very friendly but most of them do not speak english, but they try.
There in a nightly show and they are one of they best ones I have seen, The circus show was incredible.

The animation team have lots of activities on the beach every day,
you will never be bored, Beside the theater there is a orange enclosure where you can see giant 4 foot iguanas also there is a ton of Peacocks strutting around and are not shy into showing you their feathers.

In closing if you are thinking about staying at this hotel BOOK! it now
It was one of our best vacations ever. Thank you everyone at Vista Sol for giving us a great vacation

Especially Carlos and Victoria at the front desk.
See you again

TIP: if going on excursions pay in Canadian cash as the prices are the same if you pay in American
.

Room Tip: Pay the extra cash and get a suite in the 9000 block renovated top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios positivos sobre el hotel.
Estamos trabajando para mejorar instalaciones y servicios,estamos consiguiendo buenas sensaciones por parte de los clientes.
Esperamos verles nuevamente entre nosotros.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    141
    78
    39
    21
See reviews for
84
150
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This place sucks and extremely nasty and unfriendly service. Once they take your dollar your screwed ... Wouldn't even give us beach towels for an excursion nor would they accommodate dinner reservations for my sons18th birthday. I would never stay there again. People who work there are just plain nasty. Hotel accommodates Europeans and they do not even acknowledge the Americans. Also if you are not a smoker do not stay here! Smoking is allowed everywhere..in the rooms (my room smelled like an ashtray!) at the restaurants at te beach and at the pool! Horrible horrible place to stay! Look into another hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Google Translation
Agradezco sus comentarios,si bien me sorprenden,ya que todo pareció negativo para ustedes,siempre hay un directivo para solucionarle los inconvenientes,desgraciadamente no pude conversar con ustedes y poder haber tenido esa información negativa directamente en mi oficina.
Tomamos nota de todo lo que ustedes dicen y vamos a tratar de solucionar todos esos problemas,me siento apenado de no haber podido hablar con ustedes personalmente.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After two months of scouring the internet and reading reviews, we decided on the Vista Sol Punta Cana (also known as the Carabela Resort). Although we were initially concerned after reading all the negative reviews, we decided to take the risk and it was totally, totally worth it and we absolutely loved it. We’ve been to quite a bit of all-inclusive resorts and interesting places before, but this was our first time in Punta Cana. And we were very much surprised at the cleanliness of the resort, the diligence and helpfulness of the employees, the beautiful beach, good food and great rooms. Anyways to make your life a bit easier I’ve broken down my review into sections.
Rooms:
Wonderful. We stayed in the 2nd building (room 2106). Upon getting the room we were concerned about the level of volume since it is soo close to the theater, buffet and disco club, but it ended up being quiet both during the day and at night. Now I’m not saying it was completely noise free at night, but usually most of the noise stopped by 10:30 after the shows ended and people dispersed. Even before then, as compared to other areas it was still relatively quiet.
As for other complexes (there are 11 of them) from what we observed and heard they were all also fairy quiet and clean. We stayed in a standard room and although we heard that some people upgraded, it’s really not worth it as the upgraded rooms don’t have hallways on the inside but instead everyone has a shared balcony, thus those rooms are nosier. And either way you only sleep in the rooms so why bother upgrading?
The rooms themselves were very clean and well kept. Every day we would have fresh towels and linens and our maid would make beautiful flower and towel decorations. Although this is a four star resort, this was something unique that we did not receive in any of the five star resorts we had stayed in. Also based on some of the pictures the furniture seems worn out, however when we actually got there, it turned out that they had special coating/burnishing to create that beachy/worn out effect and were glossed over with transparent paint. Everything is actually in very good condition and kept very clean.
The amenities are provided (we got 3-5 bars of soap, 1 shower cap and 1 sewing kit each day ). They also have shampoo in a dispenser on the wall in the bathtub and might I just say it smells magnificent  The room also has a small table with chairs, a larger table with a bench and TV, a refrigerator that hides in a cabinet (we didn’t notice it at first…) with 2-4 bottles of water replenished each day, 2 sliding door closets with 10-15 hangers (soooo helpful) and then the usual beds, bathroom ect.
We didn’t have any issue with bugs/smells and we were on the first floor. Their “first floor” is actully about 1.5 meters off the ground to keep out bugs and other unwanted guests. The only thing we did encounter were some tiny sand flies, but they disappeared after the first day and never reappeared. (I’m guessing because they disinfect everything with chlorine/bleach.. which really helps). TIP: Don’t open your doors and leave them open for long periods of time as bugs and tiny lizards will find a way in. (thankfully we had no problems with this, but based on the amount of wildlife, it’s probably not a good idea to just leave the balcony open to air out the rooms).
As for the location of the rooms and complexes… there are 11 complexes total and all are within 5 minutes walking distance from the beach. They are soo close to the beach that you can see the beautiful shoreline from almost anywhere on the resort. There is one complex (the 10th) that is located directly on the beach. The complexes have 2-4 floors. Most of the standard rooms are in the 3-4 floor buildings and the ungraded/deluxe rooms are in the 2-3 floor complexes. We read some complaints about there not being enough water pressure on the top floors; however we did not encounter any problems since we were on the first floor. Also all the complexes have elevators and bellhops help bring up and take down luggage if needed.
Food:
Overall the food was good. We were always able to find something good the eat, so this is definitely a good hotel for even the pickiest eaters. Many people complained in previous reviews that they cater to Europeans, but we found that they try to cater to everyone: Americans and Europeans alike. The main restaurant was Noray’s – a buffet open for breakfast (from 7-10am), lunch (from 12-3 pm) and dinner (7-10 pm).
For breakfast they had a huge abundance of foods, delicious yogurts ( I loved they Guava fruit yogurt), fresh fruit juices ( I highly recommend the banana smoothie), eggs sun side up/omelets made to order on the main grill, pancakes (made from scratch and probably the most delicious pancakes I have ever tasted), cheeses, hams, hash-browns, bacon, freshly sliced vegetables, delicious desserts and fruits ( there was always 4 choices 2 of which were always watermelon and pineapple and they alternated with papaya, guava fruit, passion fruit, honey-dew melons, cantaloupe, mangos..).
For lunch we had a choice of attending the main buffet or the beach sports/snack bar. To be honest we only went to the lunch buffet the first two days and then we just found it easier to go the beach snack bar instead so we could stay on the beach the entire day. The main buffet had various salads, different choices of meats (always chicken, some seafood/fish, pork, sometimes beef or veal), some sort of large paella style dish, salads, desserts and freshly cut fruit and vegetables. The snack bar had typical American-style food which consisted of hot dogs, hamburgers, French fires, nachos, pizza, ice cream, slushies, fresh fruit and sometimes a few salads like those in the main buffet.
Lastly for dinner you have a choice of going to one of the three themed restaurants (Mexican, Italian or Gourmet French) or the main buffet which had themed-nights ( Asian, Dominican, Mexican.. ect). We never went to the themed restaurants and we heard mixed reviews about them. Overall we heard the French was very good and the other two really depended on you taste. Noray’s was excellent, the only problem we had was that the first day we decided to show up right at 7 and it was haywire. The hotel has a lot of Europeans, which are very friendly and warm, that is until it comes to dinner. I’m guessing most of them don’t realize that you can eat more than 3 times per day and so they don’t eat from 3 to 7 and all show up at 7 to eat. TIP: Don’t starve yourself.. you can eat as much as you want and also the snack bar on the beach is open from 10-6, so you can eat even after lunch is over. We would eat like 5-6 times a day.. I mean it is all-inclusive and free food :D TIP #2 – Don’t show up at 7pm for dinner… its impossible to find a table to sit at and they are constantly running out of plates and utensils. We would show up at 7:30 or 8 and there would be plenty of tables and plates/utensils. Also for those of you who worry that the food will run out.. it won’t because they always replenish it. Dinner was super delicious with plenty of variety, freshly baked bread, salads, guacamole, freshly cut fruits and vegetables, 3-4 meat stations (one station always had someone carving duck, fish, turkey, beef, steak or pork) and delicious deserts and ice cream. TIP: The deserts have little parfaits which most think are decorations, but you can actually eat them and they are delicious :D
As for the drinks they always have juices and pop (Pepsi, 7up, Fanta, Coca Cola…) and alcoholic beverages. We don’t drink.. so we cannot really say anything about the beer and wines, but it seems everyone enjoyed them. There are multiple bars all over, so you can definitely get drinks practically anywhere.

Pool:
There are 3 pools, 2 of which have Jacuzzis and one of which is the animation/main pool where they hold events. They are all very clean and no overly chlorinated. We didn’t actually use them though because we went on vacation to swim in the ocean, not in chlorine… . But they are nice pools if you don’t like the ocean/waves and prefer to swim in calmer water.
Reception/Staff:
Very helpful and diligent in their work. Angel at the front desk was great  He speaks 3 languages (English, Russian and Spanish), so if you need help ask him. Besides the receptionists, most of the staff speaks very minimal English… so it might not be a bad idea to brush up on a few Spanish phrases. The staff really appreciates when you take the time to learn their language, as they have ours. We really had no problems communicating, although my daughters are taking Spanish, so that did help. A lot of Spanish words are similar to English so even without them, we probably would have been able to communicate. And if all else fails, the front desk employees all speak English and are super helpful. Here are some helpful phrases you might want to learn however:
• Hello - Hola
• Thank you - Gracias-
• Please… - por favor
• Beach – playa
• Room- habitacion (H is not pronounced)
• Thank you for cleaning our room. – gracias por limpiando nuestro habitacion.
• Eggs –huevos (nice for the grill station in the morning…)
• Well-done eggs – huevos bien fritos (it depends what kind of eggs you like, but they automatically leave some of the whites semi-liquidy unless you tell them otherwise)
• How much does it cost? – Cuanto cuestan?
• Cheaper – mas barato(s)
Beach:
Gorgous! White coral sand and beautiful aqua waters <3 The Vista Sol is one of the original hotels in Punta Cana, thus they have the best beach. Their beach is also very unique because they are the only beach with tropical pine trees mixed in with palm trees from inland. For those of you worrying about sharp needles, the needles are actually very different from those we are used to… very long, soft and bendable. There are occasional pine cones, but they too are different – much smaller. The beach has semi-shade… there is absolute shade in some places, but most have at least some sun. If you prefer to lay in the sun, there is plenty of open sun closer to the water and plenty of shade a little further from the water for those who like shade. We know that we some hotels there is a “towel” game where people reserve beach chairs/ lunge chairs early in the morning. Here in Vista Sol, there are plenty of chairs and typically you can get lunge chairs up to 9am… after its quite difficult. We would still recommend reserving chairs with towels because they you can also reserve a certain shady or sunny spot (as those go pretty fast).
The beach itself is very clean… the staff always clean the beach of debris and seaweed. The water itself is very warm (we went in late March) and moderately calm. The calmness of the water really depends on the wind. The first day, it was quite rough, but the rest of our stay it was very calm. Its good for families with children, but still you may want to keep an eye on your little one as the waves near the shore are quite large (the depth may go from your ankle to your knee in less than 10 seconds). Further out however, the depth doesn’t change as much and the water is much calmer. We visited a few other hotels and it seems the Vista Sol has the calmest waters. TIP: It might be a good idea to wear tighter swim suits as there are sea lice (baby jellyfish) that may be found in the waters during May, June and July. Thankfully we did not encounter them… but be warned because they love the waters of the Caribbean.
TIP: Bring lots and lots of sunscreen and reapply throughout the day. Remember that even if your sunscreen is waterproof it will still need reapplying. The first day I went swimming and didn’t reapply and I had a very oddly shaped burn on my shoulders from where the sunscreen must have rubbed off because of the waves. So moral of the story, if you want an even tan, keep reapplying and working in the sunscreen. Also don’t apply it on the beach as you get sand everywhere and then it itches and well…. When it itches it burns and when it burns it itches…. What we did is we applied it in our hotel room and walked in our swimsuits down to the beach. Don’t worry about walking around in your swimsuits as everyone does this.
Towels – you have towel cards that you will receive upon checking in. Our flight was a bit later so we waited till 5 to go get towels on the first day and they had none. Most people get them in the morning (they open around 9 am) and then keep them overnight, exchanging them for new ones the following morning. TIP: bring a colorful beach towel from home, so you can distinguish your beach spot from others… all the resort towels are blue and unless you bring a towel or purse or bag no one knows who reserved which lunge chairs.
Entertainment:
There is a fun kids club for the little ones ( up to 12 years old) where they make arts and crafts, play volleyball and watch movies. Additionally they have tons of entertainment for adults from yoga to darts to volleyball, the Olympics and much more. These events are held from 9am to 5pm, so you will never be bored. Like entertainment teams from other resorts they can be a bit persistent, however they typically leave you alone. TIP: It is super noisy by the animation station, so it’s a good idea to reserve beach spots on the right side of the beach if you do not want to participate in the entertainment activities. There are also certain water sports and free scuba diving lessons included in the hotel fee. The only down side was that there isn’t a lot of entertainment for teens… many participate in the adult events, but the events are more geared for adults. My daughters did however participate and had lots of fun.
We did not visit the nightly entertainment shows, but from what we heard they were pretty good… similar to all the all-inclusive resort shows. They also had a little min-disco for the little ones which was adorable to watch.
There is also free-wifi in the theater… with the password of 1234 (if you forget its written on a sign in the lobby). Wifi is a bit slow, however but when there is less people during the day its better.
Tours/Things to Do Outside Resort:
Many, many things to do outside the resort… we just didn’t go on them this year… maybe next year. There are a ton of people walking around the beach offering parasailing adventures, glass bottom boat tours, Saona island tours, Punta Cana Adventure Land tickets, Mall trips, city tours ect…
Miscellaneous:
They have beautiful gardens all over the resort, which are just gorgeous… truly make you feel like you are living in paradise.
Airport- if you are from America you are in for a surprise. In Punta Cana they don’t have those long corridors you walk through when you get off the plain. Instead you walk down a later like many celebrities and the president do here in the US. Makes you feel famous  Also the airport is made from brick walls and straw roofs… probably to keep it cooler. Oh and you get on the plane also through a later outside. Speaking of departure.. the first “security checkpoint” is actually not a security checkpoint. It’s a photo company that has these two girls dressed in traditional dress who line you up an take a picture with you that you can later purchase. (we actually thought they were taking pictures to keep a tab on all who exited the airport, but turns out its just to sell pictures).
Russians – yes there are a lot of them, but there are also a tone of Germans and other nationalities… most of them mainly keep to themselves and they really aren’t as rude as they are made out to be. Seem to be quite similar to us actually. (probably because most of the Europeans there are from fairly well-to do families as this is an expensive trip .. and tend to act perfectly fine).
TIP: if you have long hair… we recommend you mostly keep it tied up because your hair will become super thick and frizzy an become impossible to comb because of the high humidity.
Climate: The climate is unique in that its mostly sunny year round (except form late April and May which is rainy season), but there are tropical rains every night, so in the morning everything is moist.
Shopping: You can go to the Main Punta Cana shopping center or just walk down the beach… there are tons of vendors and you can usually get the price down a few bucks. Also we recommend not exchanging into the peso currency, because if you do they might try to rip you off.
Overall we loved it and will definitely be coming back sometime in the future. We highly recommend this wonderful hotel to everyone :D

Room Tip: Rooms away from the theater are generally quieter. The best floors are the 1st and 2nd floors as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks a lot for your words,y por el tiempo que se ha tomado en dar una descripción del hotel.
Como usted comprobó,no somos perfectos pero intentamos ofrecer a nuestros huespedes lo mejor de cada uno,hacerles agradables sus vacaciones y que personas como usted den su opinión sobre el hotel.
Naturalmente no podemos satisfacer a todos ,ya que los gustos son muy diferentes en todas las personas y naturalmente varían según las nacionalidades,tenemos clientes que no están de acuerdo con nada otros todo les va bien.
Esperamos verles nuevamente en el hotel y sera un placer poder compartir con ustedes.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is ideal for those who are looking for relaxing holiday at seaside and who want to be surrounded by beautiful natural scenery. The most important is that the white sandy beach is clean and you can stroll here many kilometres to both sides. The sea is crystal clear and has amazing blue colour. The waves are small and allow you good swimming. On the beach as well as in hotel garden there are plenty of palm trees that allow you to keep yourself in the shade where you can be hidden from strong Carribean sun. Local businessmen who make you various offers of goods and services are not permitted to enter the hotel beach. By the way prices of such activities like parasail or massage are rather high when comparing them with prices of these services in other touristic destinations.
The main pool with its pool bar is situated in the centre of hotel complex. Hotel garden is very lovely and several peacocks that make hardly any noise during night live here.
Hotel staff is polite and helpful and the argument that they speak more Spanish than English doesn t seem to be relevant because you can easily understand all the important things.
There is a wide choise of meals and different food in a buffer restaurant and some of them are really delicious. In the whole complex there are plenty of bars where you can enjoy tasteful drinks with local rum. But be careful - after consumption of more drinks while listening to the thythm of merengue you can feel very happy and then its not advisable to swim far to the sea :-)
Hotel rooms are quite large and provide you space enough for all your belongings.
During your stay at the beach you can join some activities of animation team those members every day with great enthusiasm make a pretty good show (i.e. you can participate in crazy games, lessons of basic steps of salsa, bachata, or aerobics.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y que se haya tomado un tiempo en darlos.
Estamos agradecidos y a su vez contentos que su estadía entre nosotros haya sido placentera.
Esperamos de verles nuevamente entre nosotros.
Att.Xisco Calderón
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really can't say anything bad about our time at Vista Sol. The room (duplex) suited our family of 4 perfect. The room was clean, well kept and the staff did their best to make it pretty with flowers and fun things on the beds with blankets. Never a cold shower, beds were comfy. The food was fine, never went hungry for sure but honestly, didn't plan on grand meals, wanted quick easy food that I didn't have to prepare! The staff were great! The entertainment was GREAT, lots of energy, smiles and always fun all day and night!!! The beach was spectacular!! The people selling on the beach are pretty persistent when you first arrive (pre-tan), we bought several things from Miguel (yellow t-shirt and hat..find him!! He's wonderful!) we were very happy! The security on the beach was nice too! Enjoyed that we were well outnumbered by Europeans so many people to meet so few who spoke English...but had fun trying! Loved listening to all the languages! Was a little worried after reading a few reviews...but if you want a family trip that doesn't break the bank, this is a great spot! Will go back next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Thanks for your words,estamos contentos de leer que se lo pasaron bien entre nosotros y quieren regresar,trabajamos para mejorar las instalaciones al igual que las habitaciones.
Sera un placer poder hablar con ustedes y compartir la proxima vez.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our vacation at Vista Sol Punta Cana at the end of March. The hotel is comfortable, environment is relaxing, the staff is friendly and helpful. The 3 issues we want to point out:
1. The balcony door does not have a screen and we waked up in the morning with mosquito bites. With the closed balcony door the air becomes hot and stinky. The air conditioner blows towards the bed so you dare to get cold at least.

2. In the bathroom, there is not a shower curtain just a small glass board. Water from the shower is pouring on the floor, the towel on the floor does not absorb all water so you walk on the wet floor. From the upper floor water is dripping from the ceiling and when you are sitting on the toilet it gets directly on your head.

3. Our room was near the pool. In the night after the disco after 1am people gathered at the pool talking, screaming, laughing. The guard stood nearby doing nothing. Only when we waked up and called the front desk he stopped the party.

And the last but not the least and not related to the hotel service but the transportation company Blue. Upon arrival to the airport the representative have taken the entire vacation package papers from us instead of only a voucher for transportation, so we had no documents with us just the Expedia notice about the changed flight from Punta Cana. At the hotel we met the Blue representative Domingo, he said we can see him every morning at 9am. Later when we tried to meet Domingo to find when we will be picked up to go to the airport he never showed up. Then people around suggested to come over at 11:30am. We met Torivio, he said he has no information about us. We tried to meet the Blue representative during 3 days wasting our vacation time, getting nervous because of uncertainty, our calls to the Blue resulted with nothing. Eventually by the end of the last day before leaving we were told they will pick us up at 11am. We travel for many years and never been treated in such a negligent and disrespectable way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Agradezco sus comentarios,sepa que estamos renovando habitaciones,baños puertas etc,para ofrecerles una mayor comodidad.
Sabemos el problema de las mamparas de la ducha y estamos colocando unas gomas para que no salga el agua.
Sobre el tema de transfer al aeropuerto y servicio de la agencia ,siento no poder opinar,debe hacerlo directamente con ellos.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay in Vista sol Punta Cana, despite the little inconveniences. The patio door did not lock, asked to be fixed, immediately send someone, but no use, the problem persisted. Around 6:00 pm, water pressure was nil , but managed to take shower, I was on the 3rd floor. Needless to say, I was aware that I am in 3star hotel when I booked. I was looking for a nice beach, security, and a clean place to sleep, I found all that in Vita Sol. The Animation group was #1 , they work very hard, and made my stay in Vista Sol great fun. Also great thanks to the Sun Wing rep. was very helpful. The food was OK. the rooms were cleaned every day, good value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaSol_Hotels, Gerente at Vista Sol Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de comentar sobre sus vacaciones.Trabajamos para mejorar y ofrecer mejores atenciones.Si se marcho satisfecho,nos alegra y anima a seguir trabajando,sabiendo nuestras limitaciones.
Att.Xisco Calderón.
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista Sol Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Sol Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Carabela Beach Resort And Casino
Carabela Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Carabela Beach Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Punta Cana
Carabela Beach Resort
Carabela Bavaro
Address: El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#72 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Sol Punta Cana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vista Sol Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Sol Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.