We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, beautiful settings, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Sol Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vista Sol Punta Cana to your Saves list
Vista Sol Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, beautiful settings, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room was clean, although it sometimes had a strong sewer smell if the A/C was on, but it was a nice room. The staff was nice (although the check-in staff was not very efficient, and everything seemd to be a problem to fix).
The swimming pools were beautiful, and the beach amazing, and very well groomed! I loved that they had a lot of natural shade under the large coconut trees.
The food was pretty much the same the whole week, but it was decent. I did not like the long lines just to get some of the main dishes.
That, plus the open bar and snack bar made the whole experience rather relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    213
    113
    48
    33
See reviews for
143
228
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 5 days, and I think we lost weigh the food in all restaurants was very unhealthy, I dunno if the staff isn't get paid cuz they work is just lame, there isn't a smoke free environment at all even tough is a lot of families, the cleanliness of the swimming pools was very doubtful, the cocktail at the bar had no taste and the worst was like the customer service at the hotel looks like they don't even make an effort to give an answer, I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay Ontario Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Junior Suites are beachfront with jacuzzi, fridge stocked with beer and pop, and good rum provided. You also get a nice balcony, upgraded beach chairs in a separate area with beach beds, and dedicated towel service with ice and pop. Security also keep the non-hotel vendors away. The people are excellent, except for the blond reserving the a la carte's, who serves Russians before anyone else in line. The food is good. The wine is awful, but you can get good wine at the supermarket in town for a reasonable price, and the a la carte restaurants will let you bring your own wine. The mixed drinks are very sweet (not great), but the Presidente beer is good and cold. There are many Russians and many are boorish at the buffet and bars. You must pay $US45 for a lesson in the catamaran before you can take it out on your own, but that is a good thing, even if you are an experienced sailor. We had a lot of trouble with our door lock (dead batteries, corroded contacts). The rooms could have been cleaner (mould in the shower, cockroaches under the jacuzzi). The beach is beautiful with lots of trees for shade and full sun near the water.

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the upgrade cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the Carabela for one week. The food was from average to very good, depending on the day. The place is beautiful and, although the beach was heaven, we realized it was one of the "worst" beaches compared to neighboring hotels, since ours had too many palm trees and finding a spot with continuous sunlight was difficult. Besides, the light in the room or in the lobby was really dim, which made reading after sunset almost impossible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, la
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I took my daughter(25) and son(28) for an eight day vacation (over Thanksgiving) and stayed at the Carabela. We had a wonderful time!! The room was good. We thought we would have two queen beds, but they ended up putting an extra double bed in as well. We were comfortable. Room 211. The food was good, the people just beautiful. The staff was always helpful, friendly, singing, smiling.
Relaxing, wonderful beach, Alejandro at the pool hut was so great. Would be happy to discuss any questions anyone had. Took all US $ and never needed anything else, other than a credit card. Took LOTS of $1's for tipping. Also went to dollar store and bought a bag of stuff for the housekeeper each day which she was thrilled over! Never saw any bugs of any kind. Very clean facility, grounds, etc.
Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: 211 is on second floor overlooking pool. Great location. If you want quieter then avoid facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

nice and clean place, it is all inclusive resort. Food is very good, drinks not strong.
My stay would be lovely if i would not have been constantly mistaken or taken for a Russian woman. The men working there keep on bothering especially women by trying to talk to them in Russian. Honestly it was driving me nuts!

Room Tip: if you want to have early night do not take a room close to theatre, there is musing till late night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive about the hotel having read the reviews, but chose it to start our holiday in the DR since we found a good deal. The room was spacious enough for the two of us, shower ok albeit the bathroom a bit run down. Yes there are bugs but when in tropical weather that's to be expected - bring the repellant with you. Since we needed some downtime to unwind from work, the couple of days here were fine. Any longer and we would have been bored as there really is not a lot to do in Bavaro (and the resident hotel club whilst playing good music doesn't have many people). The food was just ok and the drinks in the pool bar good fun (though the staff do take a bit of time to warm to admittedly). So passable but nothing to rave home about...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Sol Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Sol Punta Cana

Address: Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Sol Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Vista Sol Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carabela Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Carabela Beach Resort And Casino
Carabela Bavaro Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Sol Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.