We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Satisfied With The Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Cheticamp, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More Than Satisfied With The Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just arrived home from our stay at the Catalonia Bavaro. I must say this was our first trip as a family to Dominican and if this is what to expect then cant see us ever being disappointed in Punta Cana.
We found the rooms very clean and spacious (605& 607). People were very friendly and worked very hard to make sure our stay was perfect.
The checkin was( english) fine and they got us to our rooms as quick as possible being it was so late. The beds were very comfortable and pillows were fine and room was nice and chilly so no complaints there. Our room had a small shower and a huge tub. Fridge was always filled and never empty. Ana Maria had our towels and room always in immaculate condition.
The pool was very close to our room so it was easy access. We do suggest that you get your towels and reserve your chairs around the pool to have good seating oh and make sure you have a little hut because you will need the shade as it was very hot while we were there.
The food was good and a great variety. The Steak house was our favourite we were told the Texas was the best but had another suggestion while we were there and it was the Rock & Roll Rib Eye which was a very good steak even better.
People that work on the resort that will catch your eye during your stay is Espaghetti very entertaining, Smerly ( Smiley) at the pool bar Frenado as well at the pool bar.
We also did 2 excursions ( Boggie) that wasnt very good at the time and the Dolphine excursion which was great worth every dollar and bargain the price its always negotiable.
The entertainment did a great job each and every day. Michael Jackson was the best one they are amazing entertainers talent was not an issue WOW !!!
Even though we had a late flight out we were able to get a shower room which was a nice made up room (3114) second floor oposite side from where we were. The day you book out you can reserve this for a time slot but dont foget first come first serve we had the 5 to 6as we had 3 rooms.
So no complaints here and hats off to all at the Catalonia Bavaro Golf And Casino thanks for making our first trip not our last.
Thank you Angie from our Maritime travel agent in PortHawkesbury as you promised we would not be disappointed. See you next year.

Room Tip: Well we had room 605, 607, 608 close to the pool and beech and eating a nd far enough from the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,825
    1,533
    644
    300
    296
See reviews for
1,131
1,880
68
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would say the grounds and rooms were average. I wouldn't call it more than a 3 star resort if that. The first problem was the toilet clogged, the sliding door to the balcony needed the strength of 10 men to open it, and the door leaving the room needed to be slammed so hard that I'm sure they could here it in the other buildings. They came and fixed all those problems but the room service it self was the worst. We had to call everyday for something from towels, water, coffee, toilet paper etc. Don't they have a check off list on what to replace? The only thing I noticed they did was make a fancy fan design out of the bedspread. The dirty dishes were left in the room and they did not clean. If you like terrible room service, fair to poor food and watered down drinks then this is the place for you. I'm not sure how many americans go there but the language barrier was difficult at times. With some improvement it could be a nice place to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we traveled end of march till first week of April, Hotel was very busy during Easter weekend but they seemed to handle all the crowds well..
Check in> slow and not organized
ROOMS> very dated, first glance everything looks ok but once you look closely you see how old everything is, like other reviews the pillows are just plain bad! But they are kept clean and thats a big thing for me..also the towel situation is a joke one day no face clothes or hand towels, next day no bath towels or bath mat, we did go down to the front desk finely and made sure they delivered some. Our first few days we had a maid named Juana and she was the best, then for the last few days we had a new maid and she hurried threw and did not do as good a job.really wanted Juana back.
Al la carts> well the steakhouse was just ok nothing great, the Japanese was good ( the best of all) and the Italian we didn't care for at all. Buffet was really good everyday.
Entertainment> what can I say, wow it was a joke we went to each show hoping it would be better than the last but we left everynight after 10 minutes,..we had more fun going threw the channels on tv looking for english channels..what ever they are paying the entertainment director is to much..one show (couples night) was actually a game you would normaly see being played by a pool. Beach party had the chance to be really fun..the first hour or so they played beach party music, then they had a game with some men, then the bar music started.
the young dancers sure do have energy..
Beach> one word, Beautiful!! they do play the towel game so plan to be up by 7 if you want a spot.
Pool> we did not spend any time here but those who did seemed to have a good time, again though by 7am there was no chairs without towels on them
Resort Pets> there is cats and dogs at the resort, please be kind to them and share your chicken or hot dogs with them, they really are sweet, also if you are traveling with kids PLEASE teach your kids to respect all the animals there, they live there, we don't. we would not allow our children to stomp and yell at the locals to live there so they should not do it to the cats..We adopted one cat while there, he was such a sweety his eyes were so infected he couldn't open them so we had to make sure he knew where we were putting his food..we told him he was on a all inclusive this week with us..I miss him and hope he is still ok..we brought food and treat with us for home for the animals and they enjoyed all of it.
the grounds were very nice and the staff worked hard all day everyday keeping them clean. The staff was very friendly except the girl ( hostess) at the japenese she seemed very moody.
Over all we had a really good time..enjoyed the whole week, would we go back? maybe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visted this resort 28/03/13 to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. After a long flight we arrived at our hotel and though the reception staff were far from friendly the hotel complex looked beautiful. We were travelling with three other people and was a shame that we could not be all in the same block. The weather for the first few days was not the best, but this didnt spoil our enjoyment. All the entertainment,bar, restaurant staff were super and couldnt do enough for you. The complex was kepted immaculate and no sooner had you put a glass or plate down it was cleared away. The choice of food was great and immense, the main restaurant views were super looking over a lake with birds etc. The beach was great and staff went to great pains to clear the seaweed in the mornings (having seen them myself when up early watching the beautiful sunrise) i would recommed the outback safari if you like seeing how the real people live, we found it great, we also went on a helicopter trip as well which my husband loved.
This holiday was very special to us and didnt disappoint

Room Tip: try and get blocks 1, 2 or 18 as face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from the Catalonia Bavaro Beach on April 4, 2013. This was a girls trip. Very nice resort. Everything was very clean - one of our first impressions was the ladies room at the beach as we arrived before check in time - this washroom was spotless - so you can bet the rest of the resort is going to be the same. Our room was nice, we had a third floor room close to the pool and the beach was not too far away - we love walking anyway. We had a couple of small issues and they were dealt with immediately - great service - I blew the breaker with too many things going at the same time - LOL There was a maintenance worker at our room within minutes and fixed the problem easily. I am a fussy eater and had no problem finding something good to eat. The Al-A-Carte's we ate at were: Steakhouse - awesome! Italian - awesome! Mexican - awesome! The pizza at the snack bar is open at 12:00 noon daily - this pizza is great - I ate there almost every day for lunch. The buffet was good too - always a good selection and we never had to wait in any line ups for anything. One thing I really liked about this resort was it didn't feel crowded.

Sandy was our favourite bartender - he worked most of the time in the main bar.

I would definitely recommend this resort for anyone who is considering it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice resort for the money. Staff were very friendly, especially the bartenders, Nicholas in particular. A La Cartes were great, Japanese the best. Buffets were ok, lots to choose from. Beach had white sand but water was a little weedy. Good entertainment at night. Not sure about payouts at the Casino. All in all a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband, 18 y.o daughter and myself stayed at the Catalonia from March 23-30. A very busy time and the resort felt very full. The resort was home to a few groups of Spring Breakers who were semi-supervised. In general they didn't cause trouble, just added to the noise and action around the property. My review is very similar to others. We are used to staying at 5 Star resorts and there definitely is a difference between this resort and a 5 star. The resort needs a face-lift. Somewhat dissapointed with our room. It was quite outdated. The very small shower stall was in a tiny room with the toilet and the lighting was less than adequate. Had no problem with the food, enjoyed the Italian Restaurant very much. Loved the Crepe Restaurant and had Cafe Lattes here after dinner (as the Restaurants do not serve coffee). The grounds were immaculate. Probably the nicest I've seen at a resort (mature as well). My biggest dissappointment was that it was very difficult to get a glass of white wine outside of the restaurants. The pool bar did not have it and 4 out of 7 days the main bar did not have any. 2 of the 4 days one of the bar staff went to a restaurant to get some for me. (since when is white wine an exotic drink?) Suspect the liquor may be watered down. (Outside of the Spring Beakers we did not see anyone that appeared intoxicated all week). We brought our own pillows are were glad that we had. Staff were quite courteous. Beach was beautiful. But overall we had a very nice restful week. Would we come back? - We like to experience something new each time we travel, so likely wouldn't for this reason, but otherwise it was a good holiday for the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Client:

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent holiday experience at Catalonia Bavaro Resort. We give serious follow up to all comments received and use them to help us improve our services and facilities.

We will be delighted if you give us another chance by counting again with their presence in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.

Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.