We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My week Feb.17-24 in Catalonia Royal Bavaro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My week Feb.17-24 in Catalonia Royal Bavaro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It took me some time and lots of reviews on TripAdvisor.com before I made my choice.

My expectations were mostly met. The biggest disappointment was the very small beach; no chance of privacy. Basically, you will be part of any conversation going on in the next beach chair even if you don’t want to. I am a beach lover and this is not preferable by any means.

The Hotel property and all its amenities are kept very clean and in top working condition. The Hotel staff is doing great job around the clock. Any addressed problems are fixed right away. All the gardens are manicured to perfection. Two thumbs up for gardening crew! Gardening is my hobby and passion so this is why I noticed it and made this comment. Gardens are a big part of the overall appeal of the Hotel.

The food and alcohol selection was not as good as I was expecting in 5-star hotel in the Dominican Republic. Food looked nicer than it tasted in my opinion. It is like there is a lack of seasoning and spices used in the kitchen. Please don’t take me wrong, there is plenty of food to choose from, nobody will go hungry, but... for my taste it was too plain with very little flavour. I didn’t like omelette the way it was made so I didn’t order it again, at least I had other foods to choose from. I loved the Grouper from the grill for dinner and most of my dinners were the same. Beach Maloo Bar offers delicious smoothies during day; which is a great idea. Everybody should visit the Cata Tapa Restaurant at least once. It is a very interesting experience, full of surprises and ... unfortunately smoke. I was out of luck when I ordered grilled pork though, as it was very dry and hard. Pork in other Caribbean islands is usually so tasty, juicy and tender; not this time.

I will come back to this hotel probably in September bringing my husband this time. Maria, Nilza, Gosia and many more employees made my stay memorable. Thank you all for your dedication and good work! I would definitely like to stay again in room 3408.

Sincerely,
Anna Posluszna
(abp42@hotmail.com)

Room Tip: If you can go for villa. This is the way to enjoy 100% in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,055
    1,759
    756
    330
    318
See reviews for
1,294
2,155
76
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Everything about the Hotel was great, that's why we have returned:) Animation Team was amazing, out getting people involved :). #1 Flecha
#2 Pablo
#3 Condorito
#4 Claribel
#5 Mikey
#6 Spaguetti

All service staff went up and beyond their call. Have recommended your resort to many friends back home in Canada!!! See you all next February:):):)

Many Thanks

Kari-Ann and Carol Kolodie

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The beach is fabulous. The pool is fantastic. The grounds are manicured and beautiful. Only down side is that you must reserve your seats at the pool early in the morning (6:00 a.m). Some days, there were seats reserved and no one used them the entire day. What a shame!!! One day, we just moved the towels to one chair and let someone else use the seats. Wasn't a problem because they never showed up. Photographers could be a nuisance. I know they're trying to make a living but they should learn to take no as an answer and leave you alone.

The food was adequate. It has been my experience that food in the Dominican is always just adequate. No reservations at the a la carte is great and we found that it was easy to get in without any real wait. Would highly recommend the Italian and Japanese but the other ones were great also. Downside is that service is lacking. We did not find that tipping made any difference. Unfortunately, I got a cold/flu after being there a few days. Saw a waiter sneeze into his hands and then continue to handle cutlery. Maybe this explains it.

Rooms were adequate although a bit small. Cleaning the rooms seemed to be problem. I really don't think my room was swept the entire week. Towels & Toilet paper were always in short supply. Fridge was not really restocked. My daughter loved Red Rock orange drink and that was only replaced once. Tipping did not seem to make any difference.

All in all, I would rate this as a good resort. ( 3 1/2 to 4 star). In comparison if you travel to Mexico, you will find that the food and service is not as good. Rooms and cleanliness are not as good. Resort itself is probably much better.

I probably would not upgrade and I don't really think it is worth it. I would not pay more than $850 plus taxes for a one week stay. (from Winnipeg) Otherwise, I think that you would be disappointed. Someone we met at the pool had items taken from their room. This did not happen to us but after that we were more careful. Since we had a late check out, we paid to keep the room. To us this was worth it and we did a small tour on the last day. Just seemed to really extend your vacation.

Downside is that it is quite remote and if you don't like sitting at the pool etc you will want to take excursions. Bavarro Runners is excellent and well worth the price.

Due to my cold/flu, did not really take advantage of the night life so am unable to comment. Other people seemed to really enjoy it.

Not much to buy. Vendors at the hotel were a bit rude but that's because I think their economy is really hurting. I love to shop but I found their manners so lacking that I really just purchased a few items. Bargaining with them was not fun. Although in their defense, some of the guests were very very rude. Alcohol did not bring out the best in them.

I would go back but I would at least see what the Catalonia Royal next door cost. Probably too much but it is worth a look.

Cheryl

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just got home yesterday from a week at this resort. No, it is NOT a 5-star, (nor does it pretend to be). It IS a very welcoming property, its staff is uniformly friendly, and seeking to be helpful. We do not speak Spanish, and noticed that much of the staff does NOT have a basic grasp of the English language. Nevertheless, we managed to communicate.
Noli-tour representatives were onsite for a good period of time every day, and were very helpful.
We experienced temperatures ranging from highs of 30 to 31 degrees Celsius, and overnight lows of maybe 22 degrees. An "onshore" breeze was almost constant, and for us, very pleasant.
The beach was well groomed, and the "beach-keepers" stayed busy trying to keep the beach clear of the seaweed which washes up from the weed beds just one hundred meters off shore. We spent more than several hours each day snorkelling, and found much of interest, both flora and fauna, more so once into the area of the breakers, about 800 meters offshore.
We also took advantage of the available Hobie-cat sailboats, which are available, free of charge, upon reservation, and we enjoyed it well enough to repeat the experience twice more.
Back to the resort; the accommodations are ample, but showing signs of ageing. The grounds are beautifully kept, the groundskeepers friendly. Water pressure, (even in our ground floor unit) was somewhat feeble, and out shower drain very slow.
The food was great, both taste, selection, and preparation, and the service superb. The bar service, likewise, was good. The " a la carte" restaurants were great too. We took part in one "organized" tour, to San Domingo, which was well organized, and well guided, we also did a "private" run into the town of Higuey, hiring a taxi to take us there, spend a few hours with us, and bring us back to the resort. We found this to be a highlight, our taxi driver, Russell, was GREAT.
We did NOT visit the onsite Casino, nor did we golf.
Value wise we felt that this resort is great, and is quite family friendly, .......... with the exception of topless bathers down at the beachfront.
Would we return here? Absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

After reading all those negative reviews, I was little concerned about this Resort, but I tell you as soon as we arrived at the hotel, it blew us off, starting from the check in at 3PM, very smooth, We had a regular room, but I asked for a non smoking room for my daughter, and the guy at the front desk canceled that room and gave me a privileged room without extra cost... nice clean room with towels with fresh flower.. the pools, bars, foods are fantastic.. all the ala carte restaurants are fabulous, specially the Japanese cuisine.. loved it, Mexican, Steak, Italian you namer it, they have it. The staffs are crazy good, this guy named Alvin Mercedes, such a nice guy.. he is like Dominican basketball player like 6'8".. so you cannot miss him. They had fantastic show every night, we loved it.. my daughter even participated in the Carnival that they had on 2/27 DR independence day in the hotel.. it was a blast for her... was a very satisfying family vacation for us-- we will definitely go there again...

Room Tip: - 2nd or 3rd floor is preferable for nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, N.S.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

After just returning yesterday, it is sad to have to review this beautiful resort. This is a very nice resort. We stayed at one of the Bahia mega resorts last year, and this was soo much better. There are always chairs to be found at beach, pool ( these do go quick, but we never went without a place to sit) the beach was really nice, no bugs, no garbage, just heaven. There is sooo much great food to choose from, after reading some reviews we were scared that the food was bad. I don't know what kind of food they are used to, it was great. The buffets had so much to choose from and the restaurants were really top notch. No reservations needed was a nice touch, we eat early and always got a seat. I am a big man, I love good food, I was not disappointed.
The drinks are always the way you want them, or just get another....
The staff really know how to look after you. They are all so pleasant, and tips do go a long way in keeping your drinks refreshed, and getting those personal touches.
The room was great, bed was comfortable, a/c worked fine. How long do you really stay in your room any way? Change clothes and sleep.
The grounds here are simply gorgeous. Well manicured and very lush.
The staff tried real hard at the shows and these were very enjoyable.
In all, this is really nice for the money, it is smaller than the mega resorts but, still has everything you want or need.
We would return.

Room Tip: We stayed by pool in building 20. No regrets. I don't think privileged is worth extra money unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Urbain Premier, QC Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The rating should be Good, very nice resort, water gardens are beautiful, restaurants nice look with food average to good, buffet average to good. Beach very nice white sand in areas a little corals but no problem at all for suimming freely just enough for good snorkling. Overall Good Vacation to be recommended.

Room Tip: Block 17 will be very close to front entrance so i would suggest get room in block 8 or so that woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.