We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Time at the Catalonia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Ontario, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Time at the Catalonia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was a little nervous about staying at this resort after reading many negative reviews. I stayed for a week with 3 other people, all in our 20's. All in all, we had a great time and I would definitely go back to Punta Cana, but I would probably try out another resort. Most of the "bad" things about this resort were only minor but the food was the biggest negative. It really wasn't very good and none of us are picky eaters. Avoid the "hamburgers" for sure! That being said, the Italian restaurant was fantastic! The American and Japanese restaurants were also decent, but the Mexican was not very good (except for dessert!). At the buffet, we mostly stuck to pizza as that seemed to be safe. Getting enough water in the room could be a challenge, but if you called the front desk, they would eventually bring you a couple more bottles. Many previous reviewers complained about the AC not keeping the room cool enough. I definitely did NOT have this issue - I was freezing! AC worked fine. The disco and casino were always fun as well as the lobby bar at night. We were definitely never bored. The lobby bar had the best drinks followed by the pool bar and then the beach bar. We did one excursion where we took a catamaran to a beautiful island. We stayed there for several hours and were served lunch (there was also an open bar). We then went to a "natural pool" via speed boat, which was also beautiful. If you're going to do an excursion/activity, buy it from one of the guys on the beach, not at the lobby. You'll pay half the price! Last words of advice, drink plenty of Mama Juana, the doggies that roam the beach are friendly, and use bug spray!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,858
    1,568
    660
    306
    300
See reviews for
1,155
1,921
69
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Arrived airport and received luggage very quickly . Excellent 30 min transfer On arrival upgraded room with minimal effort and reception staff very helpful. Food plentiful but only moderately warm but a microwave was on hand which proved useful. All bar staff in all areas very helpful and friendly. Animation team worked tirelessly to ensure guests had a good time. As we upgraded to the prove ledges rooms this entitled us to keep our room for three hours after checkout time enabling us time to shower and change at our leisure before checking out. Take PLENTY of mosquito repellant as they are biting everyone that moves. On the whole an enjoyable ten days in a good value for money hotel. Go with an open mind and don't take to many of the bad reviews to heart.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Catalonia Bavaro and I wanted to be sure to write a review. I had read so many iffy reviews before we left, I was getting nervous, but our stay was just fantastic. i know everyone's experience will be a bit different, but I don't know if we could find anything to really complain about the whole week. We have 2 young children, and got the "privileged" service, and a wonderful suite that was very close to the beach and pool. I read other reviews about the resort being very big, but our 2 year old walked from our room to the beach to restaurants without any trouble, so just a point of reference. Our rooms were clean and bright, well laid- out, all furnishings and bedding were great. The beach is absolutely spectacular. Tall palms separate the hotel buildings from the water, so from the beach you have a beautiful natural setting. Water is flat calm, crystal clear, and sand is soft and white. Food at all the restaurants was great. If you are traveling here for gourmet food, probably not going to live up to your standards, but our whole family ate happily at every meal and tried every restaurant. 24 hr room service was also nice. Very diverse visitors at the resort- we were some of the very few from the USA. Lots of Canadians and French Canadians, South American, Russian and Eastern European travelers - I really liked that aspect, love when our kids are exposed to so many different people. Our weather was totally perfect for all 6 days!

Couple of tips: we tipped whenever we could (not a lot, but just a way to say thank you to the lovey staff). We left a couple of dollars in the fridge each day, and our fridge was always fully stocked with beer, soda and water. Bring bug spray, for sure - the mosquitos are out en masse. They did spray for them, which helped a bit, but still good to be aware of.

Other notes - The "animacion team" were friendly and enthusiastic, not at all pushy like other all inclusives we've been to. They were so nice to our kids. I think this place is a bargain. Personally, I will judge a perfect beach above all else, but I won't tolerate poor food or service. Thankfully, this resort was great on every level. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent a week at the Catalonia Bavaro and had a very pleasant experience. The food was good and presented very nicely and the staff were welcoming and helpful. One night there was an especially heavy rainfall (we were there near the end of the rainy season) that created flooding in some areas and the staff were quick to respond in a calm and collected manner, working together to quickly return everything to normal. They were concerned that we continued to enjoy our stay and we did. We were also impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and the common areas. Overall, we have no complaints and would recommend this location to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and help us in the quality processes we have.

We will be delighted if you give us the opportunity to have you again as our guests, in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.
Receive warm regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this resort the first week of November. The resort was OK. The food was avarege but we always found something that we realy liked. The personel was very helpfull. The rooms were OK. Some people complained that there was no hot water but actually there was water all the time you just had to know hom to turn the nob. The entertainment was good but not as good as the other Catalonia resort in Riviera Maya that I have visited last year. Actually I liked the entertainment at the other hotel so much, that I only chose this hotel hoping for the same thing because it is the chain of hotels. The guests of the resort were very diverse except that almost 50% of the guests were Russian. I'm not saying this as a bad thing but that it was a nice surprise. So if you like to hang out with a diverse crowd, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having now visited 9 resorts in the D/R this resort was the most dissapointing.On entering our room a dead cockroach on its back greeted us begging the question when the last time our room was checked pre our arrival.Linen that has not been white since its birth,pillows hard as nails and the size of a table mat on a large bed didnt look very inviting,holes in bath towels that were not changed for the first 5 days and the most concerning was to see a young man who had clearly drank more than he could hold fell asleep on a sun bed and vomited a number of times when the pool glass collector passed i pointed this out to him and expressed my concerns for his health and our comfort he said he would sort it out and 4hrs later he was still there no sign of security.
Overall not a place I would EVER return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

You really do get what you pay for at Catalonia Punta Cana; a relatively affordable family vacation at a fixed price with no surprises. Great for families or couples. We had 2 rooms (same floor, next to each other was no problem) and upgraded to the "priviledged" section putting us closest to the beach. Had breakfast and lunch at the priviledged buffet (same food, just closer to rooms) and walked to the front of the resort for dinner at the themed restaurants and nightly show.

The resort is showing it's age in places but was clean and secure. The service was excellent and any problems in the room were quickly attended to. Some safety concern over the electrical wiring in the room. The bedside lamps, clock, and TV are all "hard-wired" into an electrical outlet without insulators or electrical tape. Be aware, if you need bedside electrical outlets, there are none; take your own extension cord. The maintenance crew were very nice to "make" us an extension cord that we ran to the bathroom.

The AC in one of the rooms did not cool or reduce the humidity as well as the other but the celing fan made up for it. Just go to the beach for a breeze! The grounds are mature and very well maintained; plenty of lighting and chairs on the beach. No need to "save" shaded chairs. The staff at the Dive Shop were professional and we enjoyed several dives and excursions with them. The food was average but with plenty of selection; the Italian restaurant was the best. Bar service was okay but the "Dominican" brand vodka is awful; stick with rum or tequila. Our maids were the very best, leaving flowers and special items each day. Tip them well the first day; I took samples of hand lotion, Tylenol, soaps and shampoo ect. to leave with a note of "Gracias" each morning.

Room Tip: They should offer but you can ask to see the room before you commit to upgrading to "priviledge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Otel, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.