We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macao Beach

Macao Beach
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$86*
and up
Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure
Ranked #3 of 24 Attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was by far the best beach we visited while in the Dominican Republic (We were not able to make it to Samana this trip) It was clean and while there were vendors I did not find them pushy at all. It was actually enjoyable talking with them and haggling to get the pendant I wanted. The beach is amazing. Warning, the current can be strong. It seems more like a local spot than a tourist place, although there were several tourists visiting. Absolutely beautiful beach. I could have spent all day there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,293
    498
    187
    30
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We took a buggie exc. there and to hoyo azul.. The best beach i have seen. Water is warm and you could spend hours just looking at it...We loved it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Part of our dune buggy excursion. Beach was beautiful but did not like the vendors set up at this beach. They were pushy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing! The most beautiful beach I've seen in DR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The restaurant called El Fogon (chef Chocolate) prepared the best meal ever! Beach is clean and quiet. Water is beautiful. Good for surfing or kite boarding.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautifullllll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was secluded from the other parts, therefore makes this beach so beautiful and clean white sand, green waters, amazing scenery. The vendors on the beach are a bit pushy, but you just have to be firm with them. We stopped her, as part of our ATV excursion.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macao Beach also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Macao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.