We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long evening, but great dancers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna del Caribe

Luna del Caribe
Giuseppe Prioli, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
1-809-455-1824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 44 attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Dinner Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dinner show & the best Dominican Carnival. The Best Dominican musical folklore Show in the most impressive resort in Punta Cana. We are pleased to present the first Dominican cultural tour, an impressive night attraction where people of different nationalities will enjoy the Dominican culture, its roots and traditions.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Long evening, but great dancers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We happened to go to this show on a night where there was a total of 7 people, including us. The initial native Indian show was rained out, after this we went inside to eat at the restaurant. Food was average, nothing special, especially if you are used to West Indian food. The best thing was the roast pig. I think some people got lobster at other shows, but we didn't. After dinner, there was an amazing native dance show which was great, but a little long. They do provide endless drinks throughout. The dancers were very talented. After this, they take you to a nearby outdoor cantina for more drinks and to socialize with the dancers. I think that given the length of the main dance show the evening would be better if it were shortened to just the show. We spent about 3 hrs there after taking a 40 min cab ride. We paid $80/person.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Luna del Caribe, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your comments.
We offer three different packages for the excursion, including transportation in the area. Depending on the location of your hotel it takes from 15 to 40 minutes to reach us. The area of Punta Cana-Bavaro has a lineal extension of more than 35 miles:
Traditional Dinner : U$D 80.--
Lobster Dinner: U$D 95.--
Show Only: U$D 75.-- for two pax or U$D 50.-- for one pax.
Children up to 4 y. o.: Free
Children from 5 to 13 y. o.: 50% discount
Your travel rep had the information.
Our show in the amphitheater, takes 70 minutes, is a historic tour of the dominican folklore.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    6
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

loved this - gave us a glimpse of the island people; food and culture. THe dancers were nonstop - loved the show!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“WOW WHAT A SHOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The show truly is spectacular! The story of Christopher Colombus on this island was interesting and very well done! Great food on the buffet including large BBQ lobster which was my favorite part of the elaborate spread. Highly recommend this for a super night out for the whole family.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“In the middle of a batey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Tha facilities are very well planned for events and entertainment, the bad part is that this place is located about 300m from the main road in the middle of a poor neighborhood, lot of poverty around and I don´t feel this place safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna del Caribe C, General Manager at Luna del Caribe, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We appreciate your review and have full respect for your impressions. Since the beginning of February we have new management and many of our activities have experienced a positive change. If it was good at the time you visited us, is even better now.
Nevertheless, there is something we would like to clarify for the rest of readers from other countries.
You mention ‘in the middle of a batey’. A batey is a Dominican word, describing a small village used by the sugar cane workers build in the middle of a sugar cane plantation. Most probably, knowing this word, we may be correct by saying you are Dominican or you live in this country, as you mention, in Samana.
We are at the cul de sac of the street, 232mts away from the main road between Punta Cana and Bavaro. There are no sugar cane plantations close to us. We wish they were. We build the street at the same time the resort was constructed. The majority of the neighborhood is the same people that worked in the construction. This is a community of workers. About 100mts. are occupied by local groceries, bars, coffee shops, hairdresser, etc. the rest, from the entrance of the street, are two big companies, one of them is a wine producer that belongs to our group. From the main door we have our security in site and the resort is surrounded by high walls.
You may agree that poorness has not necessarily to do with insecurity. Many of our visitors, from foreign countries like to walk around the village because they like to experience the approach to the real Dominican Republic, as they say.
Thank you for your positive comments about our resort. We sincerely regret your feeling , probably from lack of information.
We are at your disposal for any additional information you may require.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna del Caribe also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Luna del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna del Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna del Caribe to your Saves list