We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Course is ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocotal Golf & Country Club

Cocotal Golf & Country Club
Avenida Barcelo | Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
8096874653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 44 attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Renowned architect, Jose "Pepe" Gancedo, six-time spanish Champion, designed the course by following the lay of the land, using the natural terrain to provide a route easily remembered long after the player finishes. Our trademark features are strategically-placed trees, bunkers, mounds and gently rolling terrain with well-defined and generous fairways without forgetting an unrelenting wind. The utilization of four sets of tees provides low-handicapped golfers with a course of great challenge, while beginners and intermediate players can continually improve their game in a player-friendly environment.
cincinnati, ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Course is ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We played the course through the Paradiscus all inclusive. Golf was included but you had to purchase a cart which was at the end of the day at least as expensive as playing golf in a normal course would be. The course was pretty but nothing specatcular.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfPuntaCana, Tee Time and Transportation Provider at Cocotal Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Cocotal. As a guest of the Paradisus Hotels you received a complimentary green fee to play Cocotal. In the future please check back with us at www.golfpuntacana.com and www.cocotalgolf.com for the best Stay and Play Packages. Hope to see you on the course soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    65
    48
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best golf courses in Punta Cana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Cocotal Golf & Country Club is located next to the Palma Real Shopping Center, close to the most hotels and resorts in Bavaro - Punta Cana. From Paradisus Palma Real Resort, Meliá Caribe Tropical and The Reserve you can go with a golf cart as you just has to cross the road. I got the information about this golf course on Golf Punta Cana's Facebook page and Pinterest images, and everything looked awesome. In real life it's even better! I booked this also through the Golf Reservation Center and just as all the other reservations, it was perfect.
The club house has a pro shop, restaurant, 19th hole with outside balcony looking over the golf course, driving range and putting green. I enjoyed my golf very much the first day so I played again the day after. The last day I came back again and played 9 holes. All three days we had excellent weather and I just loved being at Cocotal!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound,Ont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Welcomed back Like family..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My spouse & i really enjoy our golf vacations to Melia and the Cocotal golf course. The staff all are great. They store our clubs and have everything ready to go for us each day. The course at this time of year is not too busy so we played in excellent time. We look forward to many more golf vacations there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfPuntaCana, Tee Time and Transportation Provider at Cocotal Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. For future information please check out www.golfpuntacana.com for the best Stay and Play golf packages at Melia Caribe Tropical. MCT has a fabulous facility and we regularly host various golf events throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jeresy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good round of golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Green fees are included with your stay at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. We paid to rent clubs. Resort supplies a shuttle to and from course for you and you can get your tee time 24 hrs before you want to play either at the desk in mail lobby or by the golf machines in resort. They have 3 nine hole courses but 1 was closed. Nice day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfPuntaCana, Tee Time and Transportation Provider at Cocotal Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Regarding one of the nine holes being closed: during the summer months we will close 1 of the nine holes to perform a maintenance program and ensure the course is in the best playable position it can be in. In the future please check with our office or contact us through our website at www.cocotalgolf.com or www.golfpuntacana.com if you are interested in Stay and Play packages or information on our maintenance program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Golfing at Cocotal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our family purchased property at Cocotal four years ago. We have always been very impressed with the whole gated community including a very well maintained golf course! I was surprised to hear negative comments about the course itself, but then again we only travel there in the winter months Nov-April, and it's very well maintained during these months. It is a 27 hole course, bit challenging with houses bordering the course, but have never found this to be a problem. Our only negative comment would be the carts. They desperately need new carts and have heard that NEW ones have arrived!! We of course being residents pay different prices as we buy memberships so can't pass judgement on green fees/cart rentals. We have golfed other courses in the Punta Cana area and find it to be reasonable compared to other courses. The staff members/workers are great, and whenever we've been there the drink cart hosts are definately nice looking girls!! It's too bad that carts are mandatory and hope cart rentals won't increase for hotel guests now that they have new ones??

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocotal Golf & Country Club also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cocotal Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocotal Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cocotal Golf & Country Club to your Saves list