We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food and Stellar Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa by Eden Roc

La Palapa by Eden Roc
At The Caleton Beach Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
+1 809-469-7593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 153 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: $20 - $120
Cuisines: Sushi, Italian, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located at the beautiful Caleton Beach Club, La Palapa restaurant opened in 2003, becoming the first restaurant opened at the Cap Cana residential resort. After experiencing an interesting renovation, La Palapa by Eden Roc, began operations in September 2010, under the management of Solaya Hotels & Resorts, a private firm dedicated to developing luxury hotel projects, which operates the Caleton Beach Club, a private beach club in Cap Cana. Solaya Hotels & Resorts' premier property is Eden Roc at Cap Cana, the first Relais & Chateaux property in the Dominican Republic.Immediately after its first renovation, the new La Palapa by Eden Roc fascinated visitors with its unique proposal of pastas, fresh sauces, homemade bread, fish and seafood. La Palapa by Eden Roc is ideal for those who enjoy the authentic cuisine, where each dish is perfectly executed incorporating fresh seasonal products, without losing the simplicity, in a casual, elegant and relaxed ambiance. La Palapa by Eden Roc is a place to enjoy the best cuisine and the beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. More recently, La Palapa by Eden Roc has been completely renovated by introducing a new Sushi Bar on the terrace of the restaurant with the creations of one of the most talented local Sushi masters. The access to the restaurant La Palapa by Eden Roc is free to the general public. For weekends and special nights, we recommend booking a table in advance. The use of facilities Caleton Beach Club (beach, pool) is reserved for members or visitors who have purchased an access pass.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Stellar Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

EXCLUSIVE to Royal Service clients only.
Minoska, Cheila, Bilis, Francisco, Geronimo, and Julio were the BEST SERVERS EVER!
Top quality food, and drinks and just a very relaxing, yet sophisticated vibe!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the beach, romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I absolutely loved the view of the ocean while we ate dinner. The food was really good, but smaller plates than expected.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We LOVED our Wedding at La Palapa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had our wedding at La Palapa and it was AMAZING! The food was so delicious. The staff was SO professional! Our guests could NOT stop talking about the beautiful venue. Waves crashed up against the cliffs throughout our ceremony. Our guests started their meal with the salad with burrata cheese and mushrooms. I love mushrooms so I particularly enjoyed this dish. Our guests then chose between baked chicken, catch of the day, and risotto. The chicken was SO moist and delicious! The sauce on the chicken was the perfect compliment! The risotto was creamy and delicious. The fish was covered in a caper sauce and was the favorite of many of our guests; however, between my fiance and I, we enjoyed the chicken and risotto the most.

Planning our wedding was seamless with the help of Ana Luisa, the event manager of La Palapa. She was incredibly sweet and friendly and quick to respond to my emails. She let me make little modifications to the menu, which was very appreciated!

We used Mayte Mari as our wedding planner and she created the most beautiful ceremony space and reception decor. I don't yet have professional photos, but I'll upload a few when I do!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Spot in DR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Whenever we are in the DR this is my favorite place to eat. If you're having a stressful day nothing makes the rest of the world disappear like a drink here. If you want a great place to take guests, they will always enjoy this spot. Looking for romance? Look no further. The staff and management always remember us, the setting is exquisite and it's probably one of the best meals you'll have in the area. It's pricey, but in my opinion it's worth it to have a consistently good food with unbeatable atmosphere. My favorite is the King Crab Rolls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hit or miss? Our experience was positive ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I think the review of decarts saying: "failed once and has been repurposed" is accurate for all of Cap Cana. Cap Cana seems to simply be fighting it's way through financial hardship. Service is hit or miss everywhere we went. There is abandoned construction throughout the area.

Our family of five (kids - 14, 12 and 9 years old) chose to eat at La Palapa for the final dinner on our vacation. Everything from the service to the food was done very well on this particular night.

No doubt there is going to be mixed reviews on everything in Cap Cana. Service is so inconsistent everywhere you just don't know what your going to get. With that said, choosing to go upscale with accommodations or restaurants is a true gamble.

For our dinner, it was a Friday night and the restaurant was full. I think this had a lot to do with our having a delightful experience. With a $400 bill we tried a lot of things on the menu: from kids meals, to sushi, to appetizers, to salads, to filet mignon, to mojitos, to wine, to dessert, everything was good and made us want to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa by Eden Roc also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Palapa by Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa by Eden Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.