We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa by Eden Roc

La Palapa by Eden Roc
At The Caleton Beach Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
+1 809-469-7593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 151 restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: $20 - $120
Cuisines: Sushi, Italian, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located at the beautiful Caleton Beach Club, La Palapa restaurant opened in 2003, becoming the first restaurant opened at the Cap Cana residential resort. After experiencing an interesting renovation, La Palapa by Eden Roc, began operations in September 2010, under the management of Solaya Hotels & Resorts, a private firm dedicated to developing luxury hotel projects, which operates the Caleton Beach Club, a private beach club in Cap Cana. Solaya Hotels & Resorts' premier property is Eden Roc at Cap Cana, the first Relais & Chateaux property in the Dominican Republic.Immediately after its first renovation, the new La Palapa by Eden Roc fascinated visitors with its unique proposal of pastas, fresh sauces, homemade bread, fish and seafood. La Palapa by Eden Roc is ideal for those who enjoy the authentic cuisine, where each dish is perfectly executed incorporating fresh seasonal products, without losing the simplicity, in a casual, elegant and relaxed ambiance. La Palapa by Eden Roc is a place to enjoy the best cuisine and the beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. More recently, La Palapa by Eden Roc has been completely renovated by introducing a new Sushi Bar on the terrace of the restaurant with the creations of one of the most talented local Sushi masters. The access to the restaurant La Palapa by Eden Roc is free to the general public. For weekends and special nights, we recommend booking a table in advance. The use of facilities Caleton Beach Club (beach, pool) is reserved for members or visitors who have purchased an access pass.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent food and location.. one of the most beautiful beaches Ive been. Very friendly staff and the view is insane

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    57
    12
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location and food combined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The restaurant is nestled between Punta Espada Golf Course and Eden Roc at Cap Cana Hotel Beach Club. The surroundings are amazing, the setting is open air and perched close to a point overlooking the ocean and a small inlet with clear blue water and a small white sand beach, while the other side is rocky with waves crashing against. The service was impeccable while the wine selection was vast and the food was mucho excellente! I will definitely return here if I am ever back in the Dominican Republic!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pick your own fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Earlier in the day I was casting for some fish near the restaurant and a waiter came out and handed me some fresh squid for bait and offered to cook my catch. I had no luck with the catch but was rewarded with an excellent meal later. My friends and I walked over from the Caleton Villas for dinner. The location is perfect, overlooking the sea and oriented for a nice sunset. After we were seated I noticed some fresh fish on ice. When I went over to look, the chef came out and explained what they were and how he could prepare them for us. Two of us decided to share a fresh snapper. After having some perfect drinks, we were served a very fresh salad. Our fish arrived after the salad. They had cooked it whole with fresh herbs and fresh vegetables. Our waiter prepared it at a side table by removing the skin and carving out two servings without bones The entire dish was excellent. Two others in our party ordered steak and were very happy. All in all it was a top-notch restaurant with timely, friendly, and expert service. This would get 5 stars anywhere, probably should get 6 in the DR.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Everything I ordered here was awesome. The food was excellent and the waiter Johnafly and assistant food and beverage manger made sure my guest and I was treated like a queens. The dessert was to die for and it's the best restaurant on the island.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Deep impact! Great service and atmosphere!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just came back from Easter week, and our fam enjoyed this stunning place with the best food ever. I have to say the service was EXCELLENT though.
Not to be missed !!! I would recommend this delicious and service oriented place. LA PALAPAS!!! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa by Eden Roc also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Palapa by Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa by Eden Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.