We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in peaceful environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balicana

Balicana
La Piscina, Residencial Los Corales | Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
1-829-898-4479
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 161 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Balicana is located in the middle of green gardens, where you can enjoy the typical flavors of Asian cuisine, prepared at home using fresh ingredients, in an intimate place where joy of food is priority.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food in peaceful environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

First night in Bavaro we checked out Balicana. We were the only patrons at the time and enjoyed having the place by the pool to ourselves. Staff was extremely friendly. Food came out fast and was excellent. They can make all of their dishes vegetarian, and the green curry with tofu was quite good. Not exactly true Thai style food, but a good meal nonetheless.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    50
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Excellent thai food with great service and great ambiance. Very good desserts and very cold beers. We sat right next to the pool by the moon light.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The atmosphere here is very nice. The food is good and the staff is very honest too!!! I left my credit card there on a Saturday night. They were closed Sunday. Monday I returned and my card was waiting. It doesn't get better than that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Loved it! Sometimes you just need some Thai food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Once we found the place it was great. You can't park right by it. It is right by a pool and a spa with massage tables nearby. There was also a little playground for my 3 year old so that was enough to make it a good place:) We had good drinks and the food was quality. The pad thai was a little different than what we were used to but my daughter liked it. My dish had some heat to it. I ordered it with 2 peppers and it was plenty hot. I really enjoyed the flavor and heat combination. The ambiance was very tranquila. Great food, great ambiance. Go here and eat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

we had lunch and was delicious, egg rolls were very good, i had sesame chicken with yellow rice, i recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balicana also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Balicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.