We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Single Golfer Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostate Bavaro Golf & Club

Iberostate Bavaro Golf & Club
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 00809, Dominican Republic
809-221-6500
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 160 Activities in Punta Cana
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the fabulous Iberostate Bávaro Golf & Club, created by leading designer P. B. Dye. This magnificent course boasts a length of 6,897 yards, a rating of 73, and a 126 slope. The 105 white silica sand bunkers dotted throughout the course form an eye-catching contrast with the intensely green Supreme Paspalum grass, perfect for this tropical region. Together with the lakes, streams, and even some desert-like features, it creates a combination of colors that is impossible to be forgotten. Simply put, an irresistible temptation for both Pro and Amateur guests staying either at our fine Iberostar properties or at any other resort nearby.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Single Golfer Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went alone and easily golfed through foursome in front of me. Course was well maintained, challenging and fun to play. Staff was friendly and willing to assist.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    87
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Definitely play if you have a free round from Grand Bavaro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It's hard to mess up a free round while you're on vacation, and this place was quite enjoyable. Course is in pretty good condition, although (i) no yardage markers other than typical 200/150/100 stakes and (ii) it's very, verrrry hot (no ocean breezes coming through here). Make sure to bring appropriate golf attire as this place has strict dress code. Try to play early, I played at 830am and that was still not early enough - the heat flares up dramatically by 10.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good course, amazing greens but make sure you wear the correct clothing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The course is beautiful and the greens are immaculate. However, I had to pay $180 to play, despite having a free round ($140 of clothes +$40 to rent clubs). I knew there was a dress code going in, but I took my wife along with me to ride around in the cart and catch some views. She wore a sports dress, which I assumed was 100% OK, but it turns out even women must wear collars, even on dresses. She didn't even play! The shirt and skirts were $70 each. I am probably at fault for trying to interpret the dress code, but I can assure you the clothes my wife bought were not worth $140.

With that said, I would golf there again... as long as its a 7am or 3pm tee time... the middle of the day is HOT.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Resort Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I played a free round on my next to last day while staying at the Iberostar Grand Hotel and wish I'd booked a few more rounds earlier in the trip. I brought shoes with me and rented a decent set of Taylor Made clubs for $40. The staff at the course was efficient and friendly. The Course is meticulously maintained and the greens, even though a little wet during my early morning round, played perfectly. I'll absolutely be back when I return to the D.R.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Challenging!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great service at Pro Shop! Great Beer Carts with sandwiches!
Target golf is the idea for this course. PB DYE JR. Design!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iberostate Bavaro Golf & Club also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Iberostate Bavaro Golf & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostate Bavaro Golf & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.