We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome French food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mon Ami

Chez Mon Ami
Plaza Nautica, 7 | Cortecito, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
+1 829-741-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 161 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, Bistro, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leask, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have eaten at Chez Mon Ami, several times and the food is always excellent. The prices are decent as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a stop for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We ate our last meal prior to departing our vacation here. It was early evening and the place was empty but one staff member still there so we were welcomed and got a table. We chose from the special of the day menu board which was brought to our table by the waiter and were not dissapointed. Everything was fresh and cooked perfectly and the service was fabulous- perhaps because we were the only ones there or perhaps because it just is.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice food nice service. good bistro experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i went to chez mon ami last month for dinner while we were on vacations and we really enjoyed it.

It's a small cosy place, bistro menu type with a choice of 4 starters, about 8 main courses but really nice and everybody must find out something to its taste as they propose pasta, fish, prawns, soup, salad...

To start gwen, the owner served us two amazing strawberry and basil mojitos, that good that we had 2 of them!!! Then for starter we shared a really nice, surprising and refreshing mint and cucumber chill soup (which is good in this real hot part of the world!!!!).

After that, as a main course my wife had a seafood and saffron pasta that she really enjoyed ,she said "out of this world" and i had myself a grilled beef filet mignon with blue cheese sauce n garlic sauteed potatoes to die for!!!
To end it up we had a really nice chocolate mousse and two cocktails that gwen proposed us which are called chick a chick (kind of Baileys cold coffee), perfect to end up our experience. Vince, the chef came to talk to us as well and check us out to know if we were enjoying it.

We were furstrated though because we discovered this place the day before we left so we couldn't renew the experience.

A place to try!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I visit Bavaro a few times a year and I always make a stop at Chez Mon Ami. The staff are friendly and speak english. They can adjust the menu to your liking however, I normally take the special of the day. The location is very good if you are in the Cortecito area making it easy to walk to, even at night! Of course after you finish a fantastic meal there is a great bar selection to hang out and have a few drinks. One warning, which goes for all the outdoor restaurants, wear pants or bring mosquito spray.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in Bavaro for 34 days and ate here once. It was good, but not over the top that we wanted to return. I had the shrimp with a anise favored sauce the was good. We went with a group and everyone liked what they had, but nobody raved about it. It is worth going to, but there are some better restaurants in the area. Our favorites were Balicana and Le Petit Jardin. Outside In was closed during our stay, which was disappointing as we heard that was the best in town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mon Ami also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Chez Mon Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mon Ami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.