We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Save Saved
You added The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
2 reviews
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We traveled to The Reserve with a family group of 16. Eight adults and eight children. We were greeted at the registration desk by our concierge, Staben. He suggested restaurants that we might enjoy and made reservations at each of them for us. He also arranged a special birthday celebration for our grandson and a special anniversary celebration for my son and his wife. He was very much available when we needed him and even checked in on our group on his own. He assistance definitely made the whole experience go more smoothly and we tried restaurants that we probably would not have had he not been available to make suggestions.

The resort was beautiful, the pools were not crowded, and we could easily get a golf card to transport us from the Reserve section of the resort to the main buildings and the beach and back. There was an odd smell on these trips that was not so pleasant.

This was a great place for a large group traveling together, very spacious and all-inclusive. The scuba diving was okay although our new divers though it was fabulous. It was difficult getting information in advance as to how many dives were included in our package although that was resolve when we visited the dive shop. Edwin was fabulous in training our new divers for their Discover Dive and was very conscientious about checking up on them during their dives.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,706
    362
    110
    37
    26
See reviews for
1146
688
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Once again we have visited our favorite vacation spot, The Reserve at the Paradisus Palma Real. If your looking for a place that makes you feel like your Family this is the place to go. I have always said there are hundreds of wonderful vacations spots with great beaches, great rooms and great food. This has all of that but what we come back for are the people that make us feel like the resort is ours. Just to mention a few of our family starting with Laura the new and wonderful manager of the resort. Jhoenny who took care of all of our room needs and Victor who took care of making us feel special. Any time we went to a resturant or bar we were always treated like family. Ronny, Gustavo and Juan at the Gabi Bar the best. and at Agua Cristian, Julian and Lorenzo. And Martin who directs all of the service in the resturants is perfect.
We vacation a few times a year and this is our favorite, as you can see we have a very big Family at the Reserve at the Paradisus Palma Real. So Laura and your wonderful staff Thank you
Linda & Kevin

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We've payed U$ 1000 for an upgrade and it earned every cent! The room was really big, with 2 jacuzzi and kids could sleep in a different ambient so we could have some privacy at night. Food is good and you have a lot of options. Comparing with other hotels at the same area, it beats because of its kids pool and kids zone. It's a small hotel but part of a huge one that you can also use as if you were a guest. Family concierge helped with reservations and with food for the baby. Bad parts were to take a golf car to get to the beach and to some of the restaurants (imagine the operation with a stroller!). If you are traveling with baby, make sure they give you a 1st floor room cause there are no elevators!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was an amazing resort, the rooms were great, elegantly decorated, we were a party of 6 rented two rooms. Plenty of space, with a patio and a Bali bed in our suite. The people were really nice, Aqua, Gabi club, Gabi beach was great. Many activities to choose from. The kids club was nice many nice activities for the kids, some good activities for the adults. The beach this time of the year had some algy, the hotel really try to clean it, the pools were great, the service by the pool was good. We were traveling with my in-laws who also had a great time.
The casino was nice, the people at the front desk were great accomodating our request for the restaurants. I took some Pilates classes (great), some spining (great). Some of the entertainment activities by Edwin and Carlos-- were great (Edwin did a great Zumba class, and we were always looking forward to his aqua gym class). There was spining in the pool (amazing). We participated in some great classes like (learn how to make sushi- THank you Carlos) and wine tasting class (by Carlos and Octaviano)-- really nice and fun.
Some of the beach parties at night were great. There was live music every day. We all had a great time, I think is a great time for families, friends, they also have an adult only section (in the royal service) that is really nice.I have to say that the buffet at the Palma Real was not good (or just not enough waitress to help, it took a while to get any drinks, food was just ok there). All the a la carte restaurants were good-- Vento and Aqua were great. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you are not a club melia member, the royal service is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, the positives
Rooms are spacious and elegant. had a two bedroom suite for a family of four: really two connected units. Plenty of space. Two balconies.
Property is gorgeous, except for sulphur stink around swamps.
Gym is decent, but towels scratchy.
Passions, the Michelin starred restaurant is excellent. It was so good, we ate there twice.
Now the not so good news. There is little understanding of excellent service. When you are asked if you want coffee, it is served without spoons to stir it and no napkins.
Towels can be scratchy.
They try to get you to go on a sales pitch when you arrive, but they would be much better off making sure the service is excellent first. I would never consider buying into this chain. They don't know what good service is.
We tried to get a good restaurant reservation our first night, and we were given reservations to an almost empty restaurant.
Food is good at Mizu, and the service is better. But the food is only good, not great.
Instead of waiting till you leave the room, the rooms are cleaned on a set schedule.
At the Spa, we ordered treatments in advance, but both times they got the orders wrong. Before finishing with us, they started to help the next people who walked into the building. The massage itself was very good. But not to get the order right twice when we made the requests in person?
if you are used to the Ritz, Anse Chastanet, Round Hill, you will be terribly disappointed here. They try, but they can't seem to get it right. Our needs were often not quite met, much less anticipated.

If they want to improve hire someone who knows customer service, and learn it all from top to bottom.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our second annual trip to this resort, we are a party of 12, with ages ranging from 13-82. Our positive experience started the week prior to arrival as Laura (The Reserve Manager) and Genaro Gil assisted with last minute requests, as we were traveling with my in-laws who were 80+ years of age.

Upon Arrival from the airport Genaro and our concierge (Staben Roque) greeted us at the front entrance. It was a small touch, but greatly appreciated as we felt as if we were "back home". Over the course of our stay (8 days) we felt as if we were in paradise. The food was above average to delicious (Vento, Gabby Beach), the grounds were beautiful, transportation to/from the main hotel was like clockwork. All the bartenders made delicious drinks, and even took requests on some American favorites like Gray Goose Kamikazes. Want to give a special shout out to our Reserve bartender "Gustavo" who is a fellow Yankee fan and made the most delicious drinks, even though he surprised me half the time. Be sure to bring some singles and tip the staff. They will provide you with good service regardless, but its greatly appreciated.


But the main reason our trip was so wonderful was do to our concierge Staben. He made sure to take care of everyone's needs in our party. We happen to have several birthday's in the group that week, so he surprised us one night with a delicious birthday cake, and had the whole staff of Gabby Beach sing happy birthday. He left a special gift for my wife in the room on her birthday, and invited us to a special family dinner at the Hydro Grill which included steak and lobster. Everyone was wonderful, but he is the main reason we will probably come back for a third year in a row.

I would have gave the experience a five star rating if it wasn't for the abundance of seaweed in the ocean. It not the resorts fault of course, but they could have done a better job of cleaning it off the beach like on the surrounding resorts. When we took a walk on the beach and we always knew where our hotel was on the way back, as we just looked for all the seaweed on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pity to mention, that the things are going worth. Still concierge servise is good (thank`s to Andy). rooms are comfortable. Territory - amazing. But the smell! Bogs around let you know!
Mosquitos seems to be less, but still are.
Added transfert to and from Palma Real Shopping.
Pools have seen to be checked for cleanness of water.
But: personel in restaurants are not smiling as it is in all Domenican Hotels. They are very slow. Long waiting time to get water at the table, not always you will get napkins
Poor choise of foods in Gabi Restaurant. But in comparison with Palma Real buffet restaurant - it is very good. Four days melon tastes like soap... Small pieces of mango, not sweet watermelon... No good cheese to taste. So food is for 3-may be 4 Star restaurant... not much.
Sure A-La-Carte-Restaurants are better. But in Vento - food was not hot as it should be. Raviolly almost cold.
Tepanyaki - great (but in The Reserve better sushi).
Have not tried 7Star Micheline food, but will.
In Kids Club - 4 year-old can play only in one small corner...
So, the vacationes are not spoiled. But is very pale. I would rather not return here again. Thank`s to Got we do not have any membership in Melia.

Room Tip: In Concierge building 53 is ok. Only everywhere no noise suppresion. In connected rooms you hear all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore The Reserve, our new boutique resort within a resort, designed for those whose stay in a luxury suite is as important as sun, sea and sand. Including three pools and a la carte restaurants, YHI Spa and gym, Swim up Suites with direct access to the pool Family Concierge Suites. Take benefit of your stay at The Reserve and use its facilities and services as well as the ones in Paradisus Palma Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, BookIt.com, Melia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.