We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort, Wonderful Staff, Wanted to Give 5 Stars, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Save Saved
You added The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
denver, colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Wonderful Staff, Wanted to Give 5 Stars, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are a family of 4, 2 boys ages 9 and 11 that traveled March 30-April 5, 2014. We chose the Family Concierge and are very glad that we did and would highly recommend it. Andy was our concierge and he was wonderful! He booked all of our dinners, he made sure we were situated on the beach with our beautiful cabana and even set up a snorkeling excursion for us to enjoy. We were in room 5321, a family suite which was on the top floor with views of the pool and grounds, best of all it was quiet.

We would also like to single out a few of the Reserve employees. Felipe Contreras at the pool bar was always there with a smile and a wonderful cold drink. Abraham at Market Grill was wonderful with the children and always greeted us with great service. The food was good, not great at all the restaurants, but we really enjoyed Mole and Mizu.

I would also agree with other TA reviewers and suggest bringing lots of one dollar and five dollar bills. Even though this is an all inclusive resort, tips are suggested and greatly appreciated by the staff. For our concierge, Andy, we gave him approximately $15 per day for all that he did for us and we gave the housekeeper $5 per day.

Lastly, if your room phone rings and it is someone from the resort stating that they have a gift for you in the lobby, don't go unless you want to sit through a time share presentation. Overall, a great vacation and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,379
    301
    95
    30
    20
See reviews for
911
577
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Mo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I just spend 5 wonderful nights at the Reserve, in a beautiful ground floor suite with a an amazing private garden patio that led right to the pool. The privacy of these rooms is wonderful. The Reserve tends to be for families but was also perfect for couples that wanted some quiet and privacy. The main resort always seemed more crowded and loud. It was nice to come back to the Reserve pool area in the afternoon to just chill out. We never felt that the children over ran the pool area at all. There were so many places to lounge around the pool and areas that you never had trouble finding a spot.
The Hydro Grill lunch was excellent (especially the shrimp ceasar salad) the staff--Carlos and Raul were very attentive and we never waited for drink. We always bring $1 and $5 and tip during our stay --- a few dollars goes along way with the staff and they are very appreciative---but never expect a tip.
I have to mention Carlos Pena-- entertainment director-- he made everyone feel special and welcome and we had a great time, playing fun black-jack, and taking a mixology class.
We really enjoyed breakfast every morning at Gabi Club-- and Ricardo always greeted us with a smile and remembered how we liked our coffee and which juice we liked. Having 4 restaurants just for the Reserve is great-- we also had a great meal at Mizu.
I must say that at first I was skeptical of the distance to the beach---but the walk to the beach only took about 6-7 minutes and it was liking walking thru a botanical garden, absolutely beautiful. We did find that going to the main lobby was the easiest way to get a golf cart if you wanted one. The pool and beach area for the Reserve was large and the beach loungers were the best at the resort--with lots of palapas for shade. Service on the beach was good for us--Julian and Gabriel. We did bring insulated mugs-- drinks lasted longer and you could get a double right away.
We also had a very good steak dinner at Market Grill, and dinner at Vento was good too. The beach party was fun--Andy our waiter could not have been better. Buffet was cold due to wind, but not much you could do about that.
We really enjoyed the live music every evening at Avenue Bar--- it was nice to sit outside in the courtyard and have an after-dinner drink and dance.
Lastly our concierge Victor was wonderful and took really good care of us. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for fun and relaxing vacation spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife, my two girls and I had a wonderful experience also this second time at the reserve. The kids club is fantastic and all care gives are great. Our kids loved it. We also enjoyed the pool, beach and tennis facicilitie. The tennis pros Andy and Carlos are great. The service staff overall is very friendly and helpful, eg Octaviano, Julio and Angela. We very much appreciate the privacy and smaller scale of the reserve area. The food in most restaurants was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I had never taken our son so far away before (he is 18 months), but we wanted to get away from the cold NE but had a lot of requirements.
I was a bit nervous to begin with. Our son had been away with us before, but not out of the county. I didn't know what to expect from DR, had never stayed with a Melia Hotel, and generally have not had good experiences with an all-inclusive hotel.

From the moment we got out of the car, all nerves washed away. This resort was wonderful. The service, the amenities, the room, the options - everything was flawless.

We opted for the Family Concierge on a recommendation we read here - and I'm so happy we did. Andy was such a pro! Our son loved him, and it was another layer of calm; knowing that any question, change, baby need, we had was a phone call away.
Andy stocked our fridge with milk and juice - brought in a high chair to the room - arranged a babysitter so we could have a night to ourselves - simply; having his insight and help ensured we knew where to go and got a good table :-)

The Kid Zone was a huge hit with our son (and us). He loved taking a break from the sun and heat and playing with some familiar and some new toys. The staff were so professional and caring. It took our son 5 minutes before he was sitting on the lap of one of the women who worked there. He had a new friend, and we felt comfortable enough to leave and grab lunch at the pool. Kid Zone became a daily afternoon stop for him.

TIPS :
Don't worry if you forget something. They have all necessities on property if needed.
if you are prone to get bug bites, bring spray. I brought organic spray, Don't bring that. Bring the real stuff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose to go here for a family beach vacation. I have a 2yr old son and 4mos old daughter. Overall, we were very happy with the resort and experience and had a wonderful vacation. The resort was very family friendly. The food and service at the restaurants were excellent. The drinks and bartenders were excellent. This was some of the best food I've had at an all inclusive. Bolivar was an excellent server. We enjoyed having him. My son hated the Kids Club and cried both times we took him, but it looked like a nice facility and the childcare workers were friendly. (he has a nanny, so it may have been that he is not used to a daycare environment). We did have a babysitter for a night out and she was great. Our room was not cleaned the last day we were there, not sure why, but when I called, they sent someone to clean it right away. Did not meet any supervisors/managers and not really sure how to find them-never had anyone introduce themselves or check on our stay who identified themselves as such. We were pressured to go to a club Melia talk (sort of like a timeshare), which I did not appreciate. The kids pool and yhi spa were great! The rooms were awesome, and we loved the balcony with jacuzzi. The Punta Cana airport was unairconditioned and miserably hot. We were not greeted with water or a cool towel upon arrival, which would have been nice. Would have a liked a room by the ocean, but not possible if not in the club. Golf carts were on time to take us for the most part. Overall, would recommend and go back to this resort-would want to avoid the airport though, maybe fly into another one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The reserve paradises is the perfect place for a family holiday. We had a family concierge "Luisa" who organised our days and restaurant bookings. She made sure our stay ran smoothly and reserved our pool or beach bungalows. The "drinks drinky" staff by the pool were great and most importantly the shows and activities were very family friendly. Great for the adults and kids. The kids especially loved Noel who treated them like celebrities and made sure they were always having fun and joining in the fun!! I wish it wasn't so far from Australia. Otherwise we would be back every year!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have 3 boys, 17, 16 and 9. We visited the property in March 2014 and had a great time. The property was clean and the help was fantastic. The food was good which is better than I expected at an all inclusive. Always something for each of the kids to do, golf, tennis, kids club, beach activities etc. The catamaran trip my wife booked off property was great and our first experience snorkeling. The Reserve pools/property were less "busy" than the main hotel yet it was at full capacity. I'd have no problem coming back to this property and my kids are already asking for a return trip (rare). The golf is NOT all-inclusive. At $75 per person for a cart (2 waters and 4 beers included) it was a good deal for a nice course. Greens were above average and rolled nice, next time I'm taking a chain saw and ridding the course of the many small trees in the fairways (not that I saw many fairways)....The tennis courts were nice but I'd recommend they turn one of them into a basketball court. I believe another property up the street had basketball - that would have been a big hit with many of the younger/older guests at the hotel. A previous tip on TA regarding bringing $200 in singles and $200 in five dollar bills was great. We like to tip and the help really appreciated the gesture. We had 2 rooms adjoining and would leave $5 in each room for the help each day....the first 2 days they only took the tip from our room and would place the money from the kids bed onto a table, we had to chase them down to let them know it was for them.

I'd recommend the Reserve. The service and people working at the property are great - you will be happy you brought the dollars for tipping!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Also Known As:
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore The Reserve, our new boutique resort within a resort, designed for those whose stay in a luxury suite is as important as sun, sea and sand. Including three pools and a la carte restaurants, YHI Spa and gym, Swim up Suites with direct access to the pool Family Concierge Suites. Take benefit of your stay at The Reserve and use its facilities and services as well as the ones in Paradisus Palma Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Melia, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.