We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst vacation experience of my life - after just one day!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real to your Saves list
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 45% off
Ranked #4 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“worst vacation experience of my life - after just one day!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Where I come from, hot water is a basic, fundamental requirement. Beautiful room had NO hot water. The room directly above might have had some, but that water came pouring down through the ceiling in our room.
Check-in to this hellhole took 3hours or more. Food is crap, service poor.
I am typically not that hard to please but I wish I had never come.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    384
    123
    38
    28
See reviews for
1,220
734
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back from an absolutely glorious week at The Reserve. Gorgeous large property with all the amenities you could look for in a five star resort with absolutely outstanding service, drinks, food, plenty of activities for all ages and tastes.
We are a family that likes the option of "night life" but also values peace and quiet, so The Reserve was perfect -- quieter setting around the gorgeous meandering pool area (wonderful swim up bar and lounge fetures in the pool and a curving flow to swim for a long time if you like that) and then we could walk over to the "main" resort for the beach or more "action" at night if we wanted to (live music, casino, shows, etc. some a bit tacky to our taste and some really fun -- trying to cater to a wide range of tastes and I think they do a great job -- but it's not in your face -- you can pick and choose what you want to go see or do). Staff in Golf carts will drive you to the beach or other spots at the main resort, but we're an active family that didn't mind doing the 10 minute walk -- you need to burn off all the great food and drinks -- and we took the cart rides sometimes when we felt lazy.

Our rooms were stunning -- walk in double head shower, huge tub, outdoor whirlpool, fabulously comfortable beds and furnishings, gorgeous gardens out back.(there were a lot of bugs at times -- bug candles/spray would be a good addition)... Seating around the pools is extraordinary with amazing service (thank you Julian for bringing us drinks!!), and pool side restaurants and bars are great. Very nice health club and fitness classes next to the spa, and nice paths around the resort for jogging, which we enjoyed. The grounds are stunning. One of my very few criticisms is that one of the lagoons on the property between the Reserve and the main Resort has a very strong septic odor -- ?? -- kind of out of keeping with the rest of the whole scene there and the level of beauty and service -- not sure what the issue is there, but it would certainly be an improvement if they can address it?

As others have mentioned, you may encounter a bit of confusion around points when you are checking in or making reservations -- we reserved two 1 bdroom suites together, and when we arrived it took about an hour to straighten out (we had been assigned somehow to two different units far apart from one another) but we were upgraded to a gorgeous master suite with adjoining one bedroom suite for our kids-- with champagne and snacks provided while the details were worked out. Just bring patience for the Dominican laid back style and a bit of confusion that seems to come up around logistics and time.. check in is not like at a fast paced U.S. hotel...

Food: Food and drinks at Reserve seemed far superior than that at main resort. The buffet at The Reserve is excellent, especially for breakfast and dinner, and no reservations are needed. Plenty to choose from and really good quality... Service is excellent -- Luis Rodrigues took great care of us. The a la carte restaurants included in your package require reservations -- it's a bit of a puzzle as I think they slot people in -- not as simple as saying you'd like to go to a particular place at a particular time -- you need to sit down with a concierge your first day and chart out a list of places you'd like to try and the times, and they will sort it out for the duration of your stay. This is admittedly a bit cumbersome and takes too long -- but do NOT try to do each day or you add that frustration to each day instead of just sorting it out once. Once this was set after our first day, it wasn't an issue. We found we ate later there than our usual dinner time due to the relaxed pace of each day -- our concierge suggested some later times and we came to appreciate that. In my opinion, Gabi Beach, Mizu and Aqua were truly excellent and well worth planning for. Vento is also quite popular -- I was a bit less excited about the food there. We did not pay extra to try Passion. The only bad meal with bad food and service we had was at Bana Sushi. The lobster at Gabi Beach was the best I've had, and I'm a fussy Mainer! The bars over at The Reserve made the best mojitos I've ever had and the bartenders work incredibly hard to please everyone -- we noticed a difference in quality of drinks over at the main resort when we went to there bars, they were okay, but nowhere near as great as at The Reserve.

The service throughout was just amazing -- everywhere you go there are people offering to help, bringing you things, etc. Very friendly and very gracious. I don't speak Spanish but I made an effort and I think it was appreciated. The clientele seemed very international -- quite a few Russians (you guys seem so SERIOUS all the time! :- )) and a number of German and French tourists as well -- it was nice to have a mix of guests from all over.

Our son played tennis everyday on the lovely lighted courts with the fantastic friendly tennis pro Rayman, and tried paddleball as well. We also took advantage of the included snorkeling excursion off the gorgeous beach to go out to the reef and see colorful fish, etc. Tons of other water activities are available if you want that sort of thing, parasailing, scuba diving, etc.

On our first day, our concierge said he needed to meet with us to talk about the details of our week and give us a tour. That included a sales pitch for their vacation club, which we were not interested in. My recommendation: when people come to a place of this caliber and cost, I would imagine many share our sentiments that you don't appreciate someone demanding an hour of your precious vacation time to make a sales pitch. The Resort is spectacular -- focus on The Reserve's great, well deserved reputation that will attract guests and leave the vacation club sales pitch out. After that meeting, I avoided dealing with the concierge because it felt awkward and I didn't want to be sold anything. i suspect upper management was pushing this one on their concierge staff....

Reviews can be tricky to distill -- what I would say is that, taking into account anything negative I've mentioned above, we miss this place already, and having paid a small fortune to go, we would do it again in a heartbeat if we get the chance! It was worth every penny -- best family vacation we've ever had....

Room Tip: If walking is hard for you, say so.. some rooms are much farther away from pool, restaurant, etc. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Family,

Allow me to express my gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your family vacation and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us. Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to this your second home, The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our family has just returned from our 3rd trip to this resort and are looking forward to returning. We are well-travelled in the Carribean: the facilities are immaculate, the food is truly excellent, yet what sets this resort apart from the rest is the fantastic service. Amongst the great people we met included our favorite waiter Roberto De Leon, Leidy Espinal, Alexander Ozuna, Adenawar Perez, Hamlet Rosa, Angel (Yhi facility), David, Jesus, and Francisco from the pool/beach area, our favorite concierge Milagros Aslla, and the Reserve manager Dionisio Rodriguez. We stayed at The Reserve section of the hotel most-recently and would recommend this over the main hotel for families.

Room Tip: Preference the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Family,

I would like to thank you for the confidence placed in us to celebrate your vacation for the third time. I am happy to know that in The Reserve you have found the most special place to create and to keep unforgettable memories.

Thank you for preferring The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very beautiful garden and hotel, excellent suites, very nice personel, excellent for almost private enjoying from the sun in the garden at the pool. Very nice personel. Our stay gave us an extra nice feeling by the attentions from the personel as Hamlet R, Ruquermin V, and really from Ovidio B, and certainly Julio M, he gave us a very natural relaxed feeling and made us forget almost everything!! Only the pressure for trying to make us a member of the melia-group was very irritating!! For the rest it is excellent hotel and his restaurants.

Room Tip: The Reserve, one bedroom suite is excellent, aqua is top!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Stefan,

Thank you for extending us your valuable comments about our services and staff. It pleases us to know that we completely fulfilled your expectations.

Kind regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On first entering the resort grounds, the first impression is awe of the upkept landscape, gracious buildings and welcoming people. My husband and I planned our wedding at Paradisus Palma Real and had a large group of 30 staying at the Reserve. The decision to stay at the Reserve was based on other reviews and they steered us correctly. The service is top notch starting from checkin with fast service, welcome drinks and explanation of hotel amenities. The villas are reminiscent of a spa with the foliage, water displays, cool temperatures and calm surroundings. Then the rooms do not disappoint with jacuzzis on the balconies, dark wood furniture and finishes, marble floors and rain shower heads. The service is impeccable at the Reserve front desk and restaurants, especially it is easier to communicate in English with employees at the Reserve compared to Palma Real.
All of our guests for our wedding thoroughly enjoyed their stay and it was effortless for us to not worry about them since there are plenty of restaurant options, drinks, and activities on the beach and pool. Our guests stayed a total of 5 nights and that was enough time to enjoy the food, atmosphere and beach.
For our wedding, the Romance department and particularly Rosa, our on-site coordinator, really turned months of emails into my dream wedding. The garden gazebo was a beautiful backdrop witht the lush tropical greenery and lake. The Plaza was also a great cocktail area for the grandeur and seating areas. The appetizers were also delicious, especially the curry lamb. The reception on the beach was beautiful and well organized. The DJ did a fantastic job of mixing our song requests with his choices to keep the party going on the LED dance floor. The buffet service for the food was efficient and drinks were also ready. Only hiccup were the Chinese lanterns did not work but Rosa and her team set on working to restring a new set and had them working. Overall, thanks to the staff at the Reserve and at the Romance department, our guests had an unforgettable stay and we had our dream wedding of elegance and fun.
We, along with a few of our guests, plan to come back to the Reserve in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are aware that they are few important moments in life as a couple’s wedding, and I feel highly honored to have been trusted with your wedding and please, receive our biggest congratulations on your wedding.

I am happy to know that you have received an excellent service from the Romance Team, which assisted you with the planning of your dream wedding. I will gladly pass on your compliments to each member of our wonderful team.

We are going to be more than glad be part of your wedding’s anniversary celebration next year.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We recently stayed at The Reserve for our honeymoon on December 15-22nd. We walked in with such welcoming company. We felt so loved and appreciative. We stayed in room 5011 with the master suite. It was amazing. I was a little anxious about our room, but we had two jacuzzi a full living room and a little mini kitchen. Our bathroom had two rain-showers and plenty of sinks. It was a dream!

The resort itself is breathtaking. Our view was of the pool and I loved it. We woke up with the sunshine coming in our room. The flowers are gorgeous and the food was amazing. Everyone always had a smile on their faces and was ready to say "Hola" to us by greeting us with a friendly smile.

We have to say Thank you to Victor Medina. He was by far the BEST employee at The Reserve. He welcomed us right away to the resort and made sure we had reservations to all of the places to eat. He made our honeymoon romantic with all the little special touches. I honestly have never felt so special in my entire life. He made our stay want to come back to The Reserve. We are so thankful that he was our best guest services concierge. We were so lucky to have him serve us. He deserves so much praise! Thanks Victor for making our stay special and well something we will never forget!!!

Our favorite places to eat were: Vento and Mizo. We loved Vento because it was Italian and we love Italian food. Mizo had such a great atmosphere to the cook and our favorite waiter. Hamlet Rosa and cook Garvel Diaz. They made sure to make us laugh and entertained the whole time. Hamlet was always making sure our drinks were filled and making sure the meals were good. Garvel was an amazing cook! Estella Garcia made sure my husband didn't have any reactions to fish and nuts. ( He carried a piece of paper to all places and Estella always remembered to tell the cooks & waiters before hand) We also loved Pedro Paulino who made our breakfast awesome and always had a smile.

The bartender Christian Santana and Raydin Delgado were amazing. Raydin made sure we had mamajuana and got our first touch of the Dominican Republic. We were sad he had to leave in the middle of the week. Christian was one of the best bartenders. He always made something special for us to drink. He spoke very good English and always had something fun to say. We truly can thank him for making our nights so special at the bar!

Last but defiantly not least. We have to say thank you to Gregory Morrobel for making our transportation smooth and always fun. We had nicknames by the first night for each other and he would always greet us and shake our hands.

We can't thank all of the staff that made our honeymoon so great! We can't wait to come back to The Reserve.

Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a jacuzzi! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sarah,

It is truly a pleasure for me to hear that you had a great honeymoon at our The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real and that you appreciated the friendliness and dedication of some of our staff members. You may rest assured that I took a good note of your observations.

Thank you for extending us your valuable comments and I look forward to host your wedding’s anniversary celebration.

Kind regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Words can not describe how beautiful and relaxing both the main resort and the Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real are!!! My husband and I visited in 2011 and loved it so we decided to come back for our honeymoon in December 2012. The service is incredible, everyone is so attentive and very happy to help you with whatever you would like or need! Though the Reserve caters to families, my husband and I never felt overwhelmed by too many children (as we ourselves do not have children) and there were so many areas of the resort where you didn't see as many families. Some may consider the fact that you are not directly on the beach a drawback to staying at the Reserve, but we enjoyed the 10 minute walk to the beach each morning; there are also shuttle carts to take you to the beach. Once we arrived at the beach Juan Medrano and George Alriche were more than happy to help us find a hut with lounge chairs and towels for us to spend the afternoon! Juan and George always had a smile on their face and made sure we had bottles of water and cocktails throughout the day. Eating lunch at Gabi Beach was perfect, we love the menu and the staff!! Before our dinner reservations each night we would have a glass of wine at the Gabi Bar in the Reserve where Felix Sanchez always had a smile for us and knew just what wine we liked and that we liked it with ice cubes! We remembered Felix from our previous trip and he remembered us as well so it was nice seeing a familiar face :) On our last night of our Honeymoon we decided we would do dinner on the beach, our concierge Gabriel Bobadilla arranged the dinner for us and picked us up, it was a windy night so our dinner location was moved to the yoga pavilion in the Royal Service area of the main Resort. Our servers Ray and Fernando made our dinner incredibly romantic and perfect!! I can honestly say this was the most incredibly honeymoon I could ever imagine! I was totally relaxed from the moment we walked into the lobby on our first day! We can't wait to plan our next trip back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting us to celebrate this important occasion as it was your wedding honeymoon and for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience about your recent stay. I feel proud to know that we provided you an excellent service making your stay a unique and unforgettable one.

I hope to have the honor to host your wedding’s anniversary celebration.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore The Reserve, our new boutique resort within a resort, designed for those whose stay in a luxury suite is as important as sun, sea and sand. Including three pools and a la carte restaurants, YHI Spa and gym, Swim up Suites with direct access to the pool Family Concierge Suites. Take benefit of your stay at The Reserve and use its facilities and services as well as the ones in Paradisus Palma Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Melia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.