We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recent Stay at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just come from an eight days visit to Punta Cana and my stay at Barcelo Palace Deluxe (room #8385) was fantastic. The location is nice. The hotel and the landscape are well designed. The place is cleaned and the food is great. Overall the personnel was friendly especially Betsi Contreras, the front desk receptionist, whom we found to be very professional, helpful and kind. She deserves an A+ for her kindness and assistance to the clients.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, Director General at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent vacation at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe with other travellers in the TripAdvisor.

We can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us as it is the most reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities in all levels. We appreciate your good and kind review about the hotel accommodation, the ambiance and the overall facilities.

We are exceptionally glad to read your comment on our friendly staff, especially about Ms. Betsi; be assured that we will share this with her.

We hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again and welcome you back to our little Caribbean paradise.



Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,056
    1,403
    548
    303
    272
See reviews for
2206
2049
78
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We traveled to the Barceló Palace Deluxe over the July 4th holiday with a large (14 people) extended family group. For us this place was a mixed bag.

Overall I found the property to be beautiful and very well maintained. The beach was beautiful (probably the best part of the resort) and the grounds were very well maintained.

In general I found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating and although in our case there was a language barrier (we are English speaking), with a little patience (and brushing up on your high school Spanish) it was very easy to communicate.

The food was average. By far the best restaurant was the Japanese Restaurant, the other sit down restaurants that we went to (Italian, Golf Course, Steak House) were not that great. I thought the breakfast buffet was pretty good and the lunch and dinner buffets had enough of a selection that you could get something you liked.

There have been a fair amount of reviews that mentioned having stomach issues while at the Barceló. For our 14 person group we were at about 50% having stomach issues. My guess is that there is something in the overall food preparation that some people have trouble with as the issues seemed to be random as to what meal/restaurant triggered issues.

One of my biggest turnoffs with this resort is the number of smokers and amount of second hand smoke at the resort. Although all indoor areas in the restaurants are non smoking all outdoor areas are fair game. Coming from the US (which is very strict on smoking) and being very intolerant of smokers, this was a turnoff. Just about every day I went to the beach we moved our chairs at least once to avoid being downwind of smokers and there was one day that I tried to sit at poolside (dipping my toes in the water) and have a few drinks after circling both pools two times I could not find ONE area that wasn't downwind of a smoker.

My other turn off for this place was the pool towels. When you arrive you get one towel card for each guest, you can exchange the card for a towel and from there you can either exchange wet towel for a dry towel or towel for a card to start the process off the next day. The resort was constantly running out of clean towels, and several evenings they ran out of cards to give me for my used towels. When you pay good money to go to a resort, it is quite annoying to have to jump through hoops to get clean towels!!!

The small market that was a short walk down the beach was a lot of fun, and if you want to bring back a souvenir (Cigars, tee shirt, bottle of rum, island jewelry) I would recommend going down there. You can haggle on prices (half of the fun) and you will find out how inflated everything is at the hotel shops.

Right in front of the shops there were a few people selling excursions (boat rides, snorkeling, etc.) they are the same excursions that the hotels book but they are quite a bit cheaper doing it by yourself. There is a Canadian Gentleman who goes by the name "Gringo" (he was wearing a tee shirt that said something about being Canadian most days) we booked a glass bottom boat ride/snorkeling trip through him, he gave us an honest price and good advice. There were other people on our excursion that booked through one of the hotels and paid over twice as much. I would definitely look him up if you want to book an excursion.

One thing to remember if you are considering this resort is that it is quite large (I think I read about 1500 rooms) and with that you can easily approach 4000-5000 guests. They seem to draw a fair amount of guests from the US, South America, Europe and Mexico so with that you with have a lot of cultures meshing in a relatively small space.........which brings me to the weird part of my experience, while waiting in the men's restroom near the beach (I was having stomach issues that day) and "dancing" for what seemed to be an eternity outside of the two stalls. In stall #1 there was a man who was screaming (in Spanish) at his young son (probably 3 years old). Stall #2 was quiet but I could see a pair of shoes at a quick glance under the door. Another few minutes of dancing and finally a grown man exits door #2 and being in my condition I quickly sidestepped him, pushed open the door and was staring at another grown man sitting on the throne! I very quickly hightailed it out of there...Not my cup of tea, but as Jerry Seinfeld said "not that there is anything wrong with it".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, Director General at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen us as the ideal place to enjoy your vacation.

We truly appreciate your comments, both positive and where we need to improve. We have taken note of your overall comments as improvements of the quality of services offered. You can be sure that we will never cease in our effort to achieve our guests’ entire satisfaction.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to regain your confidence with a memorable stay in our Resort.

Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 11 day stay with my partner and 13 yr old daughter. Large beautifully kept hotel outstanding pools and immaculate gardens .our room was clean and well equipped,although bathroom door was not really suitable( open wooden slats) check in was ok but not great, bit of a language barrier with all staff, would be helpful to brush up on your Spanish before you come! Vouchers received on arrival were a waste of time. Beach an- d the free activities/water sports available were very good with plenty to keep the kids happy.Although I think the charge for the water park was unnecessary.food in the buffet restaurant was very good but a little repetitive.overall we were very happy with our holiday and would recommend this hotel,having stayed in the DR 5/6 times before -the Riu bamboo and The grand Bahia,this hotel was slightly better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, Director General at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


We appreciate the time you have taken to share this kind comment about our hotel. Thank you very much! We are pleased that we were able to provide you a delightful stay and that we met your expectations. It is a pleasure for us to know that the room accommodation, the facilities, the services and the restaurants were of your liking. In the same way, thank you for your observations in order to improve our services and to let us know that you recommend us as ideal place for vacation.


We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the future!



Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First time we have experienced all-inclusive. It was fabulous. Each room is outfitted with comfortable beds, full refrigerators (all free drinks and food which gets stocked daily), and a hot tub on each balcony. Endless cocktails and lots to do! You don't get hassled to buy activities like in some other Caribbean countries but if you do want to do something and don't want to go by whatever their pre-packaged ideas are....you tell them and they deliver! The rooms was so comfy and there were so many restaurants and bars to choose from...it never got old. The staff always said hello and smiled. We really enjoyed our stay and would never stay anywhere else after this fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Since you never pay for alcohol, food or otherwise...save up and get a suite....BY FAR the best deci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, Director General at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for visiting Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe!
We are very pleased and happy after reading your review and discovering how much you enjoyed during your past stay here in our premises. We also appreciate that you have taking your time to post your kind review; it is always a pleasure to receive our guest appreciation of our services and facilities.


We are glad to know that our staff made you feels welcomed and comfortable as it is our priority.



Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was there August 12-17. This was my third trip to the DR and this facility was a decent third to Hard Rock and Iberostar - the other two resorts I have stayed (admittedly Hard Rock is much more expensive). I agree with some of the more recent reviews in that the grounds are well maintained, the food is good, but something is missing here.

Our check-in was not as bad as others have experienced but we had challenges. We arrived a little after noon and had to wait 3 hours or so for our room (this was expected). Once we got in our room, we had several problems: (1) the TV did not work, (2) the safe did not work, and (3) the fan did not work. All were fixed that first day but did not get us off on the right foot.

The buffets are good but the staff is focused on clearing tables and you get virtually no service. The maid service is spotty. For a family of 3 we struggled to get 3 wash cloths and 3 towels every day. We had a couple of days where they did not refill the mini refrigerator. None of these were the end of the world events but annoying.

We were in a junior suite (room 5343) and had a view of the beach but simply because our room jutted out a little more than the others in our section. The room is an odd layout for a family. We had our college aged son with us and you get no privacy. The toilet and shower doors open to the sink/closet - no separation from the living space. Again, not the end of the world but creates some uncomfortableness. I think all of the junior suites have jacuzzis on the patio.

The pools, chairs, etc. were great. Seems to have plenty of chairs available. The beach is good but did not seem as big as I recall from the other 2 DR resorts. The seaweed is a slight eyesore but they work hard on the clean up process. In walking through the seaweed it is liking walking through cut grass. If you leave the resort controlled beach the vendors can be aggressive, especially if you walk up to the "shopping center" like we did once.

Overall, a good facility but I think the DR has better options available at comparable costs.

Room Tip: Section 5 is a good location being equidistant to pools and restaurants/main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent experience at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

We take comments such as yours seriously as we are constantly looking to improve and to provide an experience to our guests which is memorable. But in your case, we are very sorry that we seem to have fallen short of your expectations. We are glad to read that the ambiance, our gastronomy and landscaping were of your liking.

As concerns your comments in regards of lack of service you describe to have encountered during your stay with us, we are taking care with the involved departments to discuss them as improvements. We also try to stay competitive with other luxury hotels on the island throughout continuous improvement in the quality of the services offered and in the pursuit of excellence.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back and that we will be able to create that memorable experience that we strive to offer our guests.
Until then I remain with warm regards from the island of the Caribbean.



Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our 4th consecutive years visiting a Barceló property. The first three were in the Riviera Maya at the Colonial/Tropical property. Let me start by saying that the Palace Deluxe property itself is amazing! It is a huge complex, and the attention to detail throughout the physical aspect is top notch.
We found the service to be very spotty, especially in the food service areas.
It was at times difficult to get service during breakfast and lunch, silverware was not always available on the tables as well.
I also found that there was a lot of chipped chinaware, which I was not expecting in such a highly rated property.
As far as our room, there was a burnt out light bulb during the entire stay. The tv remote did not work, and we never received any moisture cream until I finally asked the housekeeper. We thought that the service would be equal to or better than the Mexican properties, since this is the premier brand of the Barceló family. We overheard many guests with the same comments as our experiences, and felt that the overall service experience was not what was expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe and for prefers our hotel Chain as your holiday destination. Your opinion is very important for us and we are pleased, that despite some of the issues mentioned, in general our facilities were to your liking. However, we regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations at all. But we assure you, that we are continuously working on improving our services and that we will take all your suggestions and observations into consideration.

We hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe Hotel!


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I read many Tripadvisor reviews before booking, and I found most of them to be accurate. The compound was beautiful, immense and well kept. There was definitely a language barrier, especially with the servers. I speak passable Spanish, therefore I did all communicating. You are decidedly on your own, if you have an issue. We all either picked up a bug,or the water the produce was washed in made us ill. We asked for water bottles to be delivered to our rooms, twice, no one ever showed up. A tropical storm was due to hit the Dominican,and we were told to stay in our rooms. Of course the person who delivered the notice didn't speak English, so my husband couldn't ask questions. We also had an issue, with the tour company. I had to fight with them to return our money, from an excursion. The representative never bothered to point out the fine print on the back of the paper, regarding the cancellation policy. I called to cancel as soon as we realized we had some sort of bug/food related illness. It was too late to cancel I was told. Well how can one know to cancel before one becomes ill? Besides which our tour was scheduled during the time the hotel had told us to stay in our rooms. Olympus Tours was only worried about taking our money , not pointing out the important details of our excursion. How could we go on a trip, away from a toilet? Seriously! It is difficult enough being sick away from home, in a foreign country, we didn't need to fight over a refund! They finally relented and credited my card, only because I told the tour rep. that I had disputed the almost $600 charge with the credit card company. Melissa from Olympus Tours worked to sell me additional tours, yet did not feel it was worth mentioning the cancellation policy. She told me to tip, even though it was an all inclusive, again not bothering to protect our best interest. Olympus tours was only concerned with parting us from our $$$. We would never deal with them again! Arguing with her added stress to an already stressful situation. All in all, between Olympus Tours, the illness, and the food, I feel I could have just put all those thousands of dollars in a pile and dropped a match on it.

The food was most assuredly quantity over quality, even in the sit down restaurants. One review on tripadvisor said it was because Americans only eat hamburgers. I am an American, and i assure you we rarely eat hamburgers. I am an amateur chef, so I do understand what it takes to prepare and feed large amounts of people, but the food wasn't well prepared, and too much salt in everything! Most of the staff was very friendly, and as I mentioned the hotel and grounds were immaculate.

Also a warning for other American families. I am not a prudish American, but there were quite a few topless mothers with their topless daughters on the beach. If I wanted this, I would have went to a clothing optional resort.

Finally the airport. We waited In line two hours, to check in two bags. Many of the check in kiosks were down. The same guy was at the counter for 45 min. People actually cheered when he left. The US Airways employees waited until after this to open another counter, and then they allowed the back of the line to jump in front of the first line of passengers. We would have missed our flight, had it not been delayed. Did I mention there was no air conditioning? We didn't have time to buy a snack or use the bathroom. We had to get right into line for the bus, which finally took us to our plane. Yuck!

We have been to five or six other Caribbean Islands, and other all inclusive resorts. This was the most expensive and most disappointing. My advice pick another island, If you can't, choose a smaller resort. The only problem for us was this was the only resort that had the room type we needed for the amount of people in my family. It was a stressful, not so relaxed vacation we would not care to repeat.

Leslie P.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


We regret the situations you encountered during your stay at our resort. We are very disappointed of your comment since is not our intention created the memory you have about your stay with us. The main objective of Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe is the entire satisfaction of our valued guests and that they do not have any desire unfulfilled. We regret that we did not achieve this goal with you.

We hope despite of the uncommon circumstances you may have encountered during your stay, you could give us another possibility in the future to demonstrate you our commitment to excellent service.


Sincerely,



Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Address: Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable locationon the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool.This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana.All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.