We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation spot full of flavor and flare.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great vacation spot full of flavor and flare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful resort, a wide variety of eats all day. If you miss the main buffet area, try the sports bar Strikers. A nice little variety the usual bar foods. A nice layout of the property. A word of advice brush up on your Spanish. Most of the staff only speak staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,


We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe in the Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that our infrastructure and the environment of our Hotel was of your liking.

Thank you for having preferred us, we will be waiting for you next year!


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,746
    1,282
    495
    277
    253
See reviews for
1960
1882
72
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

23 of us spent 6 days and 5 nights at the resort, Thirteen were kids ages 8-17.

PROS: beautiful resort, impeccably kept rooms were spacious and exceptionally clean. Kids always seemed to have something to do...they liked the water park, laser tag, peddle boats and kayaks. Beach was very nice and there were always lounges to lie on., reservation restaurants had better food, no locals bothering you on the beach

CONS: lack of English speaking employees, check in was a bit of a nightmare ( partly due to language barrier), 'resort credit' was a bit of a scam.....$2000 credit for a stay of 5 nights....before you go it appears you get a $500 spa credit, $70 for laundry service etc, but actually it is a coupon book which gives you $30 off this spa treatment, $80 off spa packages, etc. The buffet, while plentiful, was the same thing day after day. We are pretty critical about our food, so we were disappointed.,

SUGGESTIONS: Buildings 2,3,4 are close to beach and pool. Golf buildings are far from the beach, make reservations for dinner as soon as you get there for all nights you are there and cancel if needed. We were there at a busy time and could not get reservations for every night because they were full. If anyone in your party does the club premium, they might be able to get reservations for you. The Italian restaurant was very good. Mexican restaurant was good but service was slow.

All and all a beautiful resort!

Room Tip: Buildings 2,3, and 4 are close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your valued time to share your kind review in TripAdvisor since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us.

It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. We know the importance of family vacation; this is a reason of having the family section created to meet family needs, especially for kids. We have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests' expectations, therefore rest assured that we are analyzing your observations regarding food and level of English of some of our employees. We will never cease in our efforts to achieve the excellence and quality service.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Barceló Bavaro Beach which is the adults side only part of the resort, and let me just start off by saying that the majority of us STILL have diarrhea which started 2 days after arriving to the resort. I lost 3.5lbs while still there and my husband lost 10lbs!! We went with a group of 14, and 10 of us ended up with diarrhea, like the kind that you have to run to get into a bathroom because it comes out as a water spout! The even more unfortunate part is that we were there on my best friends honeymoon, and her husband is one that got sick. So, in addition to wasting our money going here to be get sick and stuck in our rooms, we get to come home to pay even more money to go to the doctor and get medication. While out of our rooms, speaking with other Americans, they too were experiencing the same issues. I just do not think their water is filtered enough for Americans. They do give you bottled water, but when you get cocktails they use their ice, and I believe that is where it all started from!

Food: The buffet is the same thing over, and over again! Most of it is rather gross and once we all got sick we lived off of crackers any way. They also will NOT let you take any food out of the buffet, we tried to take extra crackers and bananas with us and they would stop us. And let me just say that there is NO snack bar. The restaurants that they have are descent but good luck trying to get a normal time reservation. We got an 11pm reservation for the Japanese restaurant, which we did not keep, but we tried to change it and they tell you that there is no other time available. However, walking past ALL of these restaurants they are only HALF FULL!!!! Sorry??? Did I just pay $3000 to be here, time away from my kids and home to be LIED TO??? That’s pretty jacked up.

Rooms: Our room was fine, however we were 2 building away from our group of 16 which is crazy because my best friend and I booked at the very same time, on my credit card and I was 2 buildings away from every one! Everyone else that booked MONTHS after us were all in the same building. Not a giant deal, but I sure would have enjoyed being near all of my friends. When we asked at check in if we could have our rooms near each other, they said that the hotel was booked. My best friend’s room ended up having these tiny red bugs in mass quantities. Her husband took video of them actually. He found them the night before we left, called down to have them take care of it, and they sent a girl up with raid and a bag. They were rather angry with that solution and they eventually changed rooms. Also, the walls are so thin that you can hear people walking, what sounds like constant furniture moving, and even when your neighbors turn their light on and off. Frankly, If I am going to be stuck inmy room odds are is that I want to rest. That is NOT peaceful!

They place is very large, and really should have been an entirely different experience. I have been out of the country on several different vacations and have NEVER had this happen. We genuinely had a pretty miserable experience. In fact, I know another family that came here over Christmas break that also had diarrhea the entire time they were here too. I have been to Punta Cana before, and stayed at a lower rated hotel and did not have an issue at all. It is THIS resort! However, this will more than likely be my last trip to the Dominican. I spent an entire day in my room sick, my husband spent nearly 2 days in the room.... it’s just not worth our hard earned money to be miserable while on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We regret the situations you encountered during your stay at our resort. Our main goal is the satisfaction of our customers, as well as enjoys the facilities we offer, as of gastronomy.
Regarding health, in different occasions, cases reflecting symptoms similar to the ones you and your family are presenting are known as “tourist sickness” which basically responds to the change of food and seasoning.

We are very sorry for not having met your expectations.

Sincerely,



Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Barcelo Deluxe Palace is a large, well maintained, beautiful resort. The buffets are endless with a variety of food but the taste was mediocre.

After 3 days we were bored in the evenings due to lack of activities. The bars were dead and didnt have inviting music. There are enough of them to play different genres at each. They have a tremendous theater where a show was performed each evening but it appeared to be the same show with just a change of costumes for the performers. The music was repititous. The casino was small considering the size of the resort and the slot machines seemed childlike. The disco was large but like the theater the music was repititous.
.
A knowledge of Spanish is definitely a plus because most of the staff had a limited understanding of English.

The trolley that circles the grounds had very few stops which still made the walk to most of the rooms quite far. We tried to flag it down in the pouring rain and they would not stop for us even though the next stop was only a few feet away.

There were no excursions like parasailing, speed boating, or jet skiing on the premises although they had a beautiful beach area. The excursons were all off grounds and quite expensive.

All in all the resort is a beautiful peaceful place for a quiet relaxing vacation. But if you are looking to have a lively vacation this is not the place to go for more than two or three days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for having selected our resort as your holiday destination.

We are very sorry that the holidays at the hotel were not what you expected since we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and we regret that this has not been your case.

We hope to have the opportunity in the near future to change your perception and be able to welcome you and demonstrate you the excellence of our services.


Best regards,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We did not enjoy our stay here at all. In all fairness, I should say there was nothing Earth-shatteringly bad about this resort, but there was NOTHING exceptional. Just about everything ranged from mediocre to poor. It is very much geared toward convenience and cost-savings for the resort. There is no pool service. If you want a drink, you had to go stand on line at one of the bars for a drink. If you were hungry, you had to go to the buffet. If you wanted a towel, you had to retrieve a towel, but ONLY if you had the obligatory towel card (issued 1/pp at check-in), which you only got back upon your return of the towel. The buffet (which is the only food option for breakfast and lunch) was hardly bearable from Day 1-intolerable by Day 3. Very dirty. (Service was worst at the buffet.) "Theme" restaurants were supposed to be an option for dinner, but reservations were hard to come by, even though we tried to book on our first day. The food/service at these restaurants left a lot of room for improvement, and we suspected it just came from a buffet in the kitchen-not freshly made. (It was also suspicious that these restaurants had so many open tables, yet had limited available reservations...) The rooms were okay (ours had a malfunctioning a/c unit and huge crack running the length of the ceiling); acceptably clean. As a whole, I found the service to be poor. Friendly personnel were few and far, with rude, condescending and indifferent being more the norm. We did not experience any illness. I would not recommend/return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having chosen us as your holiday destination.


We regret any inconveniences you may have had while stayed with us. We are sorry that our food concepts did not meet your expectations; currently we are revising the concept on our Food & Beverage outlets with the main purpose of delivering a high standard service that can adequate to most of our clientele requirements and exceed their culinary expectations. Rest assures that your opinion is taking into great consideration with the aim of better service to our valued guests.


I would like to invite you once again to share your stay with us during a next visit to the Dominican Republic and give us the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to excellent service and our improvements in quality and service in all levels.


Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

we loved the attention from CLUB PREMIUM and most of all the service we received by HOUSEKEEPING the place was NEATLESS!!!! THANK SO MUCH we will keep in mind for next year to have the same crowd of outstanding employees we were very pleased and satisfied with Ivonne Morel service and care.

Room Tip: I was very pleased to have housekeeping serives twice day being the fact we taveled with 2 infant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your valued time to share your kind review in TripAdvisor since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our Club Premium services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. It is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal, your entire satisfaction.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My first time here. Lots of walking to get around the resort but is on beautiful place. I didn't stand in long lines to get in or out of the airport. It was a nice experience. I didn't like the fact that there was the same thing on the buffet every day. I don't know if it was the food or the fruit that caused me to have diarrea for 3 days while there and more once I got home. They seemed to issue out towels and wouldn't give you extras. They would charge $20 for your beach towel if it wasn't returned. REALLY. The towel was ragged and torn but they want $20 for it. Is it to replace and buy new ones? IJS. All in all, it was as beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,


I would first like to thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination.

We are very pleased that the hotel in general was to your liking, having enjoyed our facilities, having fun and a nice time with us despite of any issue you may have encountered during your last visit.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.


Best regards,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana
Address: Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable locationon the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool.This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana.All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list