We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful facility, great location, fantastic weather. Room was very spacious and nice. Food was average to poor. Service was slow, average to poor. On site restaurants were no better than the all inclusive buffet. While food variety was plentiful, quality of dining experience was poor. reservations for dinner were never on time, and always late. ould have liked to have taken in some of the entertainment, but all meals were too late. Trying to get served in the sports bar was a sport in anad oof itself. Carey Bar was the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your holiday with us on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important for us to improve our services. We feel sorry that you did not enjoy our restaurants and that the service did not meet your expectations, but we assure you that we will be improving our service every day. We are glad that the facilities were to your liking.

We hope we have the possibility to welcome you again in Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe!

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,734
    1,277
    493
    277
    252
See reviews for
1949
1874
72
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had I written this review on our first day I would have said run away as fast as you can. We learned to adapt and looked at the positives. And our children had a great time.

Pro's of the trip. Stunning turquoise water and very nice sand and beaches, great for running and walking. Our room was very clean and we had a family suite which was plenty of room for a family of 5 with privacy for both bedrooms. Beautiful pool grounds.

Cons: Service at the hotel is awful, be prepared for blank stares like they do not understand you and do not help you. I'd say less than 5% of the staff was helpful and friendly. Getting a restaurant reservation is practically impossible especially at the Mexican and Japanese restaurants most likely because it is the only half decent food you can find. Don't plan on coming for good food. You can usually find a thing or two that is good and it will be your staple for the week. At the buffet they made omelette's and pasta to order, which was our staple along with soft serve ice cream. The wine is awful, poured out of large plastic jugs that look like vinegar bottles. If drinking alcohol specify the brand you want to get the better stuff. The coupon book you receive for $1000 off services is a joke and became the brunt of all of our jokes. You can not use it. For example $50 off a massage is only if you book two massages and the time has to be between 7am-8am or 8pm-10pm at night. Golf coupons is only after you have played 4 rounds can you use the coupon. Toss the book away. During the busy season when we went, getting a lounge chair is hard to find. Plan on 6:30am to snag one by the pool, 8am for the beach. The hotel is extremely large and that means people are everywhere, I personally prefer a smaller hotel atmosphere instead of being with the masses 24/7.
Tips: Eat off property one night for a break. We ate at the Jelly Fish, walking distance and located on the beach. Fun atmosphere with good food. Take a taxi to the airport and not the paid bus transportation. Be sure and leave at least 20 minutes ahead of the bus meeting time. You will have no lines at the airline check in desk. If not plan taking 2 hours to clear everything at the airport. Golf eating area, beautiful and relaxing. Not great food like the rest of the hotel, just a nicer setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions about your vacations on Tripadvisor , because the opinion of our guests is very important for us. We are glad that the facilities and the beach were to your liking. We really regret that the food & beverage did not meet your expectations and that you had problems with the dinner reservations as well if you did not feel good enough attended from some members of our staff. We assure you, that we are continuously working on the perfection of our service.

It would be a pleasure if you could give us another possibility so that we can demonstrate you that we are able to provide you a delightful stay.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, hotel is nice and there is a lot of things to do.

However, the room are very small and not really clean. There is no service or poor service. The staff is not smiling but is good at the restaurants ( not the buffet though)

Not bad but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe. We appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to write this comment, because it is very important for us to know the opinion of our guest for improving our service. We regret that we did not meet your expectations 100%, but be assured, we are working every day to achieve the highest level of excellent service.

We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate you that we are able to improve and to let you have delightful vacations.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, peru
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I traveled to Punra Cana with my husband and 3 children for 7 nights. When we arrived they gave us a room upgrade.... we booked a family room located on thw childrens area (children's pools, kids Club and playground) and because this area was all full the gave us a gorgeous 2-room suite with jacuzzi and balcony... but it was located on the other end of the property so each day we had to rwalk great distance with the kids to get where we wanted to. The room was great and we get used to the walking.
There was 2 main buffet restaurants and many speciality ones. Food and service on the buffet was spectacular.... every day new dishes... very good quality and assortment. Speciality restaurants on the other hand were terrible!! you had to book in advance , they where always packed, service was bad, had to wait fir an hour for a steak and were not worth the waiting. Also the available schedule they offer to make the reservations were terrible.... they inly offered 6pm or 10 pm times.... although we went to make the reservations as soon as we arrived at the hotel.
Pools were great.... many pools. Kids love the pools with playground, slides and tide. Kids Club was ok.... not many activities.
We went to dive with the dolphins... really a priceless experience....they were so excited ans could not believe they could touch them, kiss them and swimm with them.

Hope this review has been helpful for you!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your children were happy with the pool with playground!

We appreciate the time you have taken to share this comment on Tripadvisor. The opinion of our guests is very important for us. We are sorry that you had problems with the dinner reservations and that the Steak House was not to your liking.

We hope we will have the possibility to welcome you again in our little paradise.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on the family side of the resort, almost right across from the kids club. The room was great with 2 separate sleeping areas, which we have to have because I am not going to bed at 7:30 with my kids. The "Adults only" side of the resort, and therefore the loud, loud dance party until 2:00 AM was on the other side of the resort, which was awesome. The food was ok. Breakfast was r'eally pretty good, lunch was ok and dinner was not so good. They did not label the lasagna as "fish", when it was. The fruit was never cut up, had to peel the kiwi and good luck finding a salad. All of the adults in my family has gastric issues day 3 never to rid them in the resort. The drinks were smallish. The staff was very warm, but they were not really responsible for the food. My kids enjoyed laser tag, mini-golf and lifesize chess for sure.

It was OK, but I don't think I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your last vacations, as well as the time that you have taken to write this comment. We appreciate the opinion of our guests, because it is very important for us to know which are the points we have to improve to provide an excellent service and a delightful stay to our guest. We regret that the food was not to your liking. But we are very pleased that your children enjoyed everything we offer for families.


We really hope that we have the possibility to welcome you again in the future.


Sincerely,



Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time time best vacation ever the pools were huge the hotel was really clean always seen staff cleaning all around the hotel the food was excellent at the buffets and at the ala carte restaurants staff was really friendly around the hotel loved our room we stayed in went with my husband and son so much to do around the hotel to keep you entertained you didnt want to leave

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind note about our hotel Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe on Tripadvisor. It is very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. It is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The front desk function when you come and trying to check in is very disorganized , taking very long time .
The rooms are very nicely designed , spacious, but not everything is working, like the remote control for TV, our friends were with us , could not use the room phone for couple days, was not working.
You can see cockroaches in your room.
The food looks impressive , a lot of varieties , but all the salads , stews , etc have very similar taste.

Room Tip: I do not think you can predict where you will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your vacations at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
We appreciate the time you have taken to write this comment. The opinion of our guests is very important for us to improve our service. We regret that it was not possible for us to fulfill your expectations 100%, but we hope that you will give us another chance visiting our resort, so that we can demonstrate you, that we are continuously working on the perfection of our service.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana
Address: Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable locationon the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool.This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana.All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.