We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very calm and beautiful beach in front of it. Lot's of different foods there, I love it almost all of them... for except the japanese restaurante... the sushi and sashimi wasn 't so fresh...the room service is not so great, have some problems, I went out from my room someday at 9 am and when I came back at 12:00 pm, the service room hadn't been there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,737
    1,279
    495
    277
    252
See reviews for
1953
1876
72
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and 2 daughters (22 & 24) stayed from Nov 11-18. The property is stunning and the rooms are very spacious and beds are comfortable. The beach is beautiful although I was surprised that they didn't clean up the foliage at the shore, you have to wade through it to get to the nice sandy part or walk to find an area that is cleared. While there are many restaurants to choose from, you can only reserve up to 4 for the week which they don't tell you anywhere on their site. We ate in the Mexican, Japanese, Steakhouse, Italian, the food was ok, not great with the exception of the Italian which was very good. The wine was terrible and so we bought off the menu which had a good selection but certainly adds to the price of your vacation. There are lots of loungers at both the beach and around the pool area which was great because you didn't need to get up early to reserve a lounger. There are many pool areas to choose from so you can be around lots of activity or find a nice quiet spot if you want to read and relax. We didn't have a good experience with the service right from the minute we arrived. We booked about 2 months in advance and asked for 2 rooms close together. We arrived at 11:30 am and didn't get into our room until after 2pm in the first room and after 3pm for our 2nd room. They not only didn't put us close together, they put us in separate buildings. It took 3 visits and a request to speak to the manager in order to get this resolved. They told us to go for lunch until our rooms were ready and hang out by the pool but when we tried to get towels, they said they wouldn't give us any until we had our "towel" cards which you don't get until you check in. Another trip to the front desk to inquire about our room and to get towel cards finally convinced them to give us our cards even though our rooms still were not ready. Be forewarned about the coupons they give and how they bill you. They jack up the prices on everything and then offer you a coupon to reduce the price; however, if you are booking more than one service, they will divide one coupon among your services instead of applying one coupon to each service. We booked 3 massages and gave them 3 coupons worth $30 each and they only discounted us $10 off each massage. It's hard to tell because when they give you the bill, it is in pesos and you don't notice until you do the math. We didn't notice until after we paid our hotel bill and the total (US dollars) seemed too high so we did the math and found the error. We went back to the front desk and they sent us to the spa who said they couldn't fix it because we had already paid our bill. We explained to her how she could send a credit through the system instead of a charge and then we could get our refund from the front desk. She did this and we went back to the front desk to get our money back. This seemed to be the service we received throughout the resort. We still enjoyed ourselves but wouldn't go back to this resort based on the service we received.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It was unforgatable vacation for my family. I would like to special thank for Manuel and Dahiana from Guest services We spent 6 nights at this hotel and every day there was new experience. Restuarants are very nice and the food everywhere ( buffets, sport bar and for dinner ) just magnifisant. Lots of varieties. I definitely will go back for next year and for sure will reccomend this hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a ocean view rom but on a second floor and closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am Venezuelan so I am very picky when it comes to selecting a beach destination.
The Bavaro Palace Deluxe has everything for a perfect vacation with lots of activities to do.
The staff were very nice specially Juan Santos from the reception and Elisa from the Mexican restaurant.
Overall food is average but nothing special. They could do better specially the night restaurants.
I would go back again, the beach is stunning.

Room Tip: the resort is huge so if you want to be close to the pool or bar make sure you tell them so. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, On, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My daughter and I along with my friend and her daughter stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Nov. 11th - 17th & had the greatest time! This resort is absolutely beautiful and enormous with a lot to do for every type of traveler.
We didn't go on any excursion, preferring to enjoy the resort to its fullest. The site has two small water parks, one with additional charges (10$) and one included. The girls (8 years old) enjoyed both, the wave pool in the first one and the little water slides in the other.
Food was really good, the site offers a restaurant (Hole 19) with no required reservation which was great for those nights when we didn't have a reservation elsewhere. All the restaurants were good, Japanese being my personal favorite :)
Now, the only negative point, the house wine is absolutely undrinkable. There's a workaround though as you can order a bottle at a reasonable price, which we did every night. If you are a wine lover, plan a small budget and order a bottle with your dinner, it was worth it!
The entertainment was alright, we weren't overly impressed by the shows but it was always nice to go watch them.
We brought pool floaties and snorkels for the girls, and they used them every day.
Something else we brought and ended up being quite handy: long chair covers from the dollar store, we used them in the morning to reserve our chairs and didn't need to use our towels to lay on.
Staff were very nice and helpful, I definitely recommend this hotel, I would even go back again!

Room Tip: Our room was the Junior Suite Deluxe and was perfect for our needs with 2 separate rooms and very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week and I wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are very modern and very clean. The restaurants were very good and had a lot of variety to choose from. I recommend that the first thing you do when you get there is go and book your reservations for dinner for every night that you will be staying there, some of the restaurants will book up. Try and schedule them around your excursions as well. You don't need to tip there but it is nice to leave a few US dollars after dinner, especially if your service was good. I also would recommend getting a room with and ocean view as ours did not. It is not a huge deal but it would be great to just walk out from your room to the beach and maybe get breakfast on your deck with a view.

We went on the dune buggy excursion and it was pretty fun but expect to be completely submerged in dirt and mud. It was really fun but DON'T wear anything that you don't want to just throw away right after you get back. We all did a tour to the capital which was interesting and kind of broke up the week a bit.

Take time to go and get dance lessons on the beach and take time to just relax. There are plenty of places to go and take a nap and enjoy the weather. It may rain a bit, but it is usually over in like 10-15 min and then it is sunny again. This was a great value for what you get, we saw a lot of other hotels when we the bus was picking up other guests on one of our excursions and this was the nicest that we saw. Also take time to walk down the beach to the little market, there are some fun things to see and buy, but beware they are very pushy sales guys there. Fortunately I can speak spanish which was a big help.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a beach view room it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Palace. The food was atrocious. Every meal was either luke warm or cold, very bland. One night my husband was served fish that was actually frozen not even cooked at all. We could not communicate with most of the staff. At least two days we did not get maid service at all, and when they did come it was knocking on the door and walking in without waiting for us to answer at 8:30 a.m or one time at 6:00 p.m. when we were getting ready to go to dinner. If they took our towels and washcloths we did not get new ones, so we had to hide the towels and washcloths that we had. The beach was great, lots of chairs, the pools were clean, entertainment could have been a lot better. All in all we would not go back to this particular resort again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana
Address: Playa Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable locationon the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool.This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana.All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.