My girlfriend and I stayed at Secrets Royal Beach for 8 days, booking through Resort Vacations To Go. We contemplated spending the extra money for the swim-up room, and subsequently did so. It was well worth the money. The resort is stunning. The landscape is very well maintained and manicured. Cleanliness is definitely obvious everywhere in the resort. On our arrival, we were promptly greeted with a cold towel, and a glass of champagne. We checked in immediately. Afterwards, a female at the concierge desk greeted us, explaining the resort. She then requested that we attend a breakfast to hear about other properties associated with Secrets. This was to last 90 minutes, and we were told we were under no obligations. She stated that for our participation, we would receive complimentary dinners for the Lobster Dinner held every Friday night. The dinner is $42.00 per person. We would up receiving a voucher for $40.00 off the dinner with coupons given at check-in. Anyways, I initially agreed, but later cancelled. Glad we did, as we were there for the beach, not for sales pitches. Be aware of this upon check-in. Our swim-up room was beautiful. Great access to the pool, and two lounge chairs for the room. Keep in mind that pool lounge chairs fill up fast. People were putting towels over the lounge chairs and leaving to reserve them. This also happened on the beach at the palapas. So get up early to get a prime spot for pool/beach activities if this is your desire. The rooms are well decorated and the bathroom/shower is amazing. As we later found, the lighting in the entire room is very dim. Especially in the bathroom. Maid service on our room was horrid. We never received the turn down service on 4 out of 8 nights. I reported this to the front desk on the first occasion. They wrote it down and documented it , but the next night it happened again. The nice thing about the turn down service is they provide you with an itinerary for the next days events at the pool and beach. So needless to say, we never got this itinerary on 4 of the 8 days. I had to call for towels twice, as they never left us any. The refrigerator was not working the first day. They did promptly replace it, however. There were no snacks or food items in the refrigerator. Just beer, soda, and juices. Bottled water as well. Ironically, on our last night, our room was all decorated. We were very dissatisfied with the maid service. The beach is amazing. A lot of seaweed washing up as well as in the water. The resort does rake the beach in an attempt to minimize this, but it is a losing battle. A lot of beach activities. Aerobics, yoga, volleyball, and dancing are among some of them. Bar service was superb. You are very well tended to, and your glass is never empty. We did tip throughout the stay which I am sure helped. The food was definitely below par. Breakfast at the buffet was the best meal by far. Do not waste your time at the Mexican restaurant on the NOW side. It was awful. The hibachi was ok, not great. We went to the Seaside Grille, and were told they were out of shrimp. No shrimp cocktails or entrees with shrimp. Very disappointing, The Lobster Dinner was ok. Surely not worth the $84.00 in my opinion. If you really want to do it, get coupons to minimize the expense. The one thing that stood out to me was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone spoke to you, and I mean everyone. So friendly. Cannot say enough about this. Overall, I was definitely expecting more. Especially for the price I paid. I really thought the food was going to be much better and tastier. The maid service was really a let down, especially when you have to ask for hand towels to dry your hands on numerous occasions. I did enjoy the trip but will definitely not return here.
The swim-up rooms are great and worth it!! If you can, upgrade at the resort, and you will probably...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Receive cordial greetings from the entire personnel of Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I would like to express our most sincere apologizes for every inconvenience that you have encountered during your stay at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and I regret not being able to meet the expectations you had before arriving at our hotel.
Before I begin, I would like to thank you for your appreciated perception about the hotel infrastructure conditions.
Concerning the issues that you had about the turn down service, I do apologize if you felt hard time wasting your relax time to get the room according to your expectations, I admit that is not the proper way to enjoy a vacations. However, I assure that we are working hardly in our improvement areas with my personnel to prevent any situation like you unfortunately experienced in the establishment.
Also I regret if you felt disturbed from the Unlimited Vacation concierges, I assure that they tried at all times that you enjoyed the best attentions during your stay, that’s why they insisted to inform you about all the special amenities and facilities that you would have been able to enjoy if you were contracted this special vacation package. I do want to excuse them and I do apologize if their manners were not sophisticated at the time to explain you detailed about this special vacation package.
I do not want to lose you as one of our privilege guests, and I hope you give us a second opportunity to show you that we are able to give you the vacations that you deserve.
I regret once again about the unfortunate facts that did not allow you enjoy your stay plentiful and also I would like to think that somehow you can change your mind about our resort in a near future, where we will be pleased to give you our best attentions as well.
Thank you for your time and I hope to hear from you soon
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.