We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon, Food Needs Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Royal Beach

Save Saved
You added Secrets Royal Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #11 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon, Food Needs Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently went to Secrets for a week to celebrate our honeymoon. Overall, we had a lovely and relaxing trip, but would not return unless the food changed.

Room- We were located on the second floor facing the end of the pool. It was a quick walk down the steps to jump in the pool. I really liked this location and was really glad we did not end up paying more for the swim up room because they seemed to have very little privacy with people always outside your door. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked really well which is nice after being in the sun all day. The balcony was nice, but we did find some hairs in our whirlpool tub, so we did not use it.

Pool- We were under the impression that the winding pool is a lazy river that you can float on effortlessly throughout the property. However, while it does wind through the resort, it is just a pool and does not move. We also found it strange that it was not a complete loop. It ends on either end and you have to turn around. Really enjoyed the raised areas in the pool to lay in the sun, but still be in the water. We brought our own floats and were glad that we did since the hotel rafts were hard to come by. The pool bar was fine- good service, good drinks. It could get a little loud and crowded in the late afternoon so we avoided this are. People do get out early to reserve their seats which can get annoying, especially when you do not see them actually in them all day.

Beach- The beach was stunning- crystal blue water, white sand. We quickly learned where we wanted to spend most of our days. Much easier to find a spot at the beach than at the pool. There is a lot of seaweed in the water, but once you get past a certain point, it is gone. Scenery is just beautiful. We took a lot of walks up and down the beach. Making a right is a nicer walk.

Service- The Secrets side was always a bit better than Now, but overall the staff makes sure you are well taken care of. Sometimes the beach service was slow, but there was usually only 1 person for all of the chairs, so it is understandable. A few dollars in tips was always well appreciated. As for tipping, it looked like some people never tipped and some tipped a lot. We always tipped a bit everyday.

Spa- I got a swedish massage and it was excellent and my husband really enjoyed his pineapple pedicure. However, they do run deals randomly, so you may want to ask ahead of time. The day after I got my massage, they were offering a 2 for 1 deal.

Entertainment- I really enjoyed the beach and pool aerobics, as well as the painting class. The staff do a nice job of trying to get people interested and involved. The entertainment at night is okay... very typical of all inclusive resorts. We really enjoyed all of the live music.

Food- I wish I could say it was better than it was, but it just was just not great. If the food improved, this would be a close to perfect place to visit. After a few days, everything tastes the same and you notice how things are recycled all over the resort. It was edible, but needs some work. Breakfast at the buffet was probably the best meal of the day. Oceana was the worst meal we had, just terrible. Spice and Tamarindo were both okay, mediocre. On a positive note, we really enjoyed our meal at Capers and found that it was by far the best place to eat dinner. I will note that I am a vegetarian, so it does limit what I tried. I got very sick after mexican night at the buffet which was not a great way to spend part of a vacation. The drinks were much better than the food and I especially enjoyed the pina colodas.


We found the Punta Cana airport to be a miserable experience full of lines and confusion. It was hot, crowded, and the worst part of our trip, obviously.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,355
    702
    295
    92
    50
See reviews for
215
2513
70
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We love the Caribbean and honestly don't feel you can go wrong at a beachy resort in a tropical location. Sometimes travel can be more of an adventure than a vacation. Our trip began with flying over the plane crash in SFO, cancelled flights, a day late arrival and lost luggage. When we finally arrived at Secrets Royal Beach (without luggage) we were greeted with the signature warm "Welcome Home", cool cloths and glasses of bubbly. Thank you Claire and Carlos for the warm welcome! Luckily I was able to fashion a new dress out of a sarong from the gift shop, and a black belt, so we were able to get a bit more comfortable and had fresh clothes for dinner. By the time our luggage arrived 2 days later (with swimsuits, etc), a tropical storm was predicted and the pool and beach were closed for the day. Thankfully the storm ended up being only a few showers but something disrupted towel service completely. The next day we were unable to find towels at the pool or the beach in the afternoon. We were bummed. Upon returning to our suite we did not have towels there until 8:30 pm which impacted our dinner plans. Our other complaint was finding lounge chairs at the pool. The only lounger I was able to find one afternoon was right next to a pathway being rebuilt with construction tape across the chair. It wasn't comfortable but made for a funny photo. We realize that most of our issues were not the fault of Secrets Royal Beach but our time here was not extremely relaxing. A highlight-ahhhh-was the spa with outdoor hydra circuit with our spa guide Juan Carlos. I would advise doing the spa early in your stay as it definitely helped us relax-finally!
The food was okay but not up to the standard we had come to expect from visiting Secrets Maroma Beach and Secrets Marquis. We found room service here to be limited.
It is fair to say that this resort is being renovated and I believe the level of luxury will continue to improve. We were much more impressed with Secrets Maroma Beach and Secrets Marquis.


A big thank you to my girl, Claire, concierge, for working to find our luggage, her warm welcome and making our trip to Zoetry so wonderfully smooth. Claire is a gem! She would have helped us find towels if only we had thought of requesting it. Carlos, UVC, welcomed us warmly and was of good help as well. For more more info on Secrets and Zoetry I have posted more info on my lifestyle/travel blog http://www.stylemindchic.blogspot.com.
Our next stop was Zoetry Agua in Punta Cana (I also posted a review). We found our true paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful experience. Traveled with a group and due to a room error we were upgraded from the Now Larimar to Secrets! Although it seems to be more on the romantic side and we are far from a couple we still enjoyed ourselves. The staff and service was EXCELLENTE! I loved the seclusion of Secrets from the Now Larimar...it gave me the time to myself that I needed so much. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a week long anniversary trip to Secrets Royal Beach. It was amazing or should I say Excellente! We have stayed in Secerts Resorts before and have always been happy. Steves was by far our favorite employee. He was our butler in our cabana on the beach that we rented for our anniversary night. He went above and beyond to make it such a special night. The food was great here and the beach is stunning. We have been to Riveria Maya twice and this was our first trip to Punta Cana. We would def go back. You can't go wrong with Secrets Resorts!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MegB929,

Greetings from the sunny Punta Cana, and thank you to share your comments about your recent stay in our establishment. On behalf of our entire personnel, we feel very pleasant that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all. Your comments are very important to increase the hotel value getting the best recognition as the best hotel in Punta Cana as well. We really appreciate if you can join us once again and it will be perfect if we can meet you personally as well, in that case do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Be well

Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is catered to Honeymooners! The honeymoon package comes with champagne, rum and fruit basket upon arrival, romantic dinner on the beach which is OUTSTANDING, and spa massage and facial.

Other Pros:
-The service here is SUPERB! There is a HUGE difference when traveling between the NOW and Secrets. Everyone is so kind and everything is "its a pleasure". From the service at the bars to the waiters on the beach to the staff in the restaurants, there is no comparison. When going to the NOW for the night entertainment, we were never greated by waitresses but as soon as we sat down in our seats at the Secrets we were waited on immediately. Special shout outs to George, Manuel, Francisco, and Marcelo who were exceptionally great, kind, and helpful.
-The grounds and the room were well kept and soo neat and clean.Room was stocked daily with beer and refreshments which was very convenient. There is night time turn down service, in which our maid did romantic stuff daily prepared rose petals and bubble baths etc
-Entertainment was very nice in Secrets thanks to Akon, New York, and the rest of the crew.The Eclipse club was "hit or miss"-there was one night that was soo much fun but another that was kind of "corny" I guess it depends on the DJ
-Food was pretty decent. The seafood restaurant was just "ok" but more or less the main restaurant,lobster dinners, and outside grill was very good. We had a bad experience at the "Tamarindo"(mexican) on the NOW side with really bad service, a long wait (people were walking out), and so-so food.
-Beach was beautiful and swimmable!! Very relaxing
-Booked our vacation through Apple which was very smooth allowing transportation to and from airport completely painless! The Apple rep onsite was very helpful for excursions etc.
-Pool and swim up bar was beautiful!

Cons
-Pool closes at 7 pm :(. We understand that they need to be cleaned daily but they should maybe have a small section open later to allow for later swimming or have a night crew who can clean later.
-when requesting small items from the front desk, it would take a really long time for them to fix it/bring it..sometimes it would take several people to get the job done which was a little annoying, you just have to have patience and keep calling.

Alll in All if you are looking for a quiet, romantic, and beautiful resort/vacation for your honeymoon, look no more. This resort is intimate, quiet, calm, and the epitome of romantic!! Secrets really goes out of there way to please you and ensure that you have a good stay. The small flaws/cons were overlooked by their great service and amenities!! Excellente!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Alexis K,

Greetings from the sunny Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay in our hotel Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

we find through of your words the opportunity to get the best recognition as one of the best hotel destinations in the Caribbean.

Regarding the isolated issues that you encountered during your stay about the service, we do apologize if you felt hard time about the issues that you kindly mentioned, we assure that our human resources is preparing a new employee training system where we guarantee to all our guests high levels of our hotel service quality.

we hope that besides these important issues you had the opportunity to enjoy a relax a comfortable vacation in our establishment and we appreciate if you join us once again where we will pleased to offer our best services, if that happens, we are looking forward to meet your expectations.

be well

Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchard, OK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The beach is gorgeous, the pool area and waiters are great that's all around (especially Junior and Angel). My friend and I just feel like overall the culture is very bitter and not very hospitipl to Americans. We have been to Jamicia, playa,cancun, and cabo as well and by far this is the worst service - and food :( we are having a great time because of our company and that we are alone without our kids he he,but I wouldn't stay here again, unless it was free. Steve's is one of the other employed that is amazing and very willing to help and so friendly. The entertainment at night is excellent. The room is so so, seems a bit dirty and definitely nothing special. Bring a insulated cup for your drinks and get out early to save a chair at the pool. The Mexican restaurant on the family side was yummy, the oceana was disgusting and bland:( don't waste a dinner on it! The steak house was pretty good. I just hope they get friendlier staff overall. The grounds are kept very nicely and it seems as of the janitors work hard, but rooms seem lacking in the cleanliness factor. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear llbunch,

Greetings from the sunny Punta Cana, and thank you to share your comments about your recent stay in our establishment. On behalf of our entire personnel, we feel very pleasant that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all. Your comments are very important to increase the hotel value getting the best recognition as the best hotel in Punta Cana as well.

Concerning the issues that you encountered about the food, we appreciate your comments, through of them we have the opportunity to work hardly in the improvement areas.

We hope that besides this unfortunate facts, you have enjoyed a relax vacation in our hotel ,we really appreciate if you can join us once again in the future and it will be great if we can meet you personally as well, if that happens we are looking forward to hear from you soon.

Be well

Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I returned a week ago from a 6 day stay at Secrets Royal Beach, Punta Cana. Our room was average. The pictures online are pictures of rooms that are for "preferred stay". It sounded like the people above us were moving furniture every day.
Room service was terrible. We would order coffee for the next morning at certain times and they never got the time right. We ordered breakfast to be served one morning....it never arrived that morning. However, it did arrive on the morning of our departure at 7:30 am which was the one morning we really wanted to sleep in.
The management in the steak restaurant on the NOW side was just plain rude. I would not recommend the food at any of the restaurants. The food was very plain.
The staff, for the most part, were very courteous. The entertainment staff was excellent. The beach was beautiful. The grounds were beautiful.
As far as excursions go, the dune buggy ride was very unorganized,it took way too long, and took you to places where all the people did was beg you for money. It was very sad. The snuba trip was well worth the money.
Overall, for as much money as we spent, neither of us would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear lisa488

First of all, receive cordial greetings from Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and at the same time, we regret that you did not enjoy your honeymoon in our Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.
We have just analyzed every point that you kindly reported in a a constructive manner about our infrastructure and its facilities and we are extremely sorry for the things that you did not like or found inappropriate about our hotel.

Your comments are very helpful to us in order to be able to improve the hotel quality and service and they area indeed an excellent source of valuable data to know what our guests like and appreciate and what they dislike.

Concerning your comments about the room service, we do apologize due to the lack of service of our personnel and we assure that we had took the proper actions to prevent any similar situation in the future, we feel very concerned because of the uncomfortable situation created and we regret if we did not able to assist you on the timely manner.

About the issues that you had in the mentioned restaurant, our main goal in Secrets Royal Beach is the guest service and we are working hardly to be one of the best Hotel destinations in the Caribbean, we do not pretend to justify the incorrect attitude of our collaborators at the respect and we assure that right now, we have a new team of professional people motivated who will help us to increase the hotel value.

We are very sorry for all the inconveniences that this might of caused you and we regret that you left the hotel with such a bad taste on your mouth.
Also we regret about the unfortunate facts that did not allow you enjoy your stay plentiful and we would like to think that somehow you can change your mind about our resort and we hope that you visit us once again. If that happens, we will make sure that we will do the best to give our best service in our establishment.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to hear from you soon.

Yours faithfully


Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach

Address: Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury®. Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.