We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secrets Royal Beach-A mix of adventures!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Royal Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Royal Beach to your Saves list
Secrets Royal Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Chico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Secrets Royal Beach-A mix of adventures!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We love the Caribbean and honestly don't feel you can go wrong at a beachy resort in a tropical location. Sometimes travel can be more of an adventure than a vacation. Our trip began with flying over the plane crash in SFO, cancelled flights, a day late arrival and lost luggage. When we finally arrived at Secrets Royal Beach (without luggage) we were greeted with the signature warm "Welcome Home", cool cloths and glasses of bubbly. Thank you Claire and Carlos for the warm welcome! Luckily I was able to fashion a new dress out of a sarong from the gift shop, and a black belt, so we were able to get a bit more comfortable and had fresh clothes for dinner. By the time our luggage arrived 2 days later (with swimsuits, etc), a tropical storm was predicted and the pool and beach were closed for the day. Thankfully the storm ended up being only a few showers but something disrupted towel service completely. The next day we were unable to find towels at the pool or the beach in the afternoon. We were bummed. Upon returning to our suite we did not have towels there until 8:30 pm which impacted our dinner plans. Our other complaint was finding lounge chairs at the pool. The only lounger I was able to find one afternoon was right next to a pathway being rebuilt with construction tape across the chair. It wasn't comfortable but made for a funny photo. We realize that most of our issues were not the fault of Secrets Royal Beach but our time here was not extremely relaxing. A highlight-ahhhh-was the spa with outdoor hydra circuit with our spa guide Juan Carlos. I would advise doing the spa early in your stay as it definitely helped us relax-finally!
The food was okay but not up to the standard we had come to expect from visiting Secrets Maroma Beach and Secrets Marquis. We found room service here to be limited.
It is fair to say that this resort is being renovated and I believe the level of luxury will continue to improve. We were much more impressed with Secrets Maroma Beach and Secrets Marquis.


A big thank you to my girl, Claire, concierge, for working to find our luggage, her warm welcome and making our trip to Zoetry so wonderfully smooth. Claire is a gem! She would have helped us find towels if only we had thought of requesting it. Carlos, UVC, welcomed us warmly and was of good help as well. For more more info on Secrets and Zoetry I have posted more info on my lifestyle/travel blog http://www.stylemindchic.blogspot.com.
Our next stop was Zoetry Agua in Punta Cana (I also posted a review). We found our true paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,714
    810
    326
    99
    53
See reviews for
236
2,852
80
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful experience. Traveled with a group and due to a room error we were upgraded from the Now Larimar to Secrets! Although it seems to be more on the romantic side and we are far from a couple we still enjoyed ourselves. The staff and service was EXCELLENTE! I loved the seclusion of Secrets from the Now Larimar...it gave me the time to myself that I needed so much. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a week long anniversary trip to Secrets Royal Beach. It was amazing or should I say Excellente! We have stayed in Secerts Resorts before and have always been happy. Steves was by far our favorite employee. He was our butler in our cabana on the beach that we rented for our anniversary night. He went above and beyond to make it such a special night. The food was great here and the beach is stunning. We have been to Riveria Maya twice and this was our first trip to Punta Cana. We would def go back. You can't go wrong with Secrets Resorts!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MegB929,

Greetings from the sunny Punta Cana, and thank you to share your comments about your recent stay in our establishment. On behalf of our entire personnel, we feel very pleasant that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all. Your comments are very important to increase the hotel value getting the best recognition as the best hotel in Punta Cana as well. We really appreciate if you can join us once again and it will be perfect if we can meet you personally as well, in that case do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Be well

Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is catered to Honeymooners! The honeymoon package comes with champagne, rum and fruit basket upon arrival, romantic dinner on the beach which is OUTSTANDING, and spa massage and facial.

Other Pros:
-The service here is SUPERB! There is a HUGE difference when traveling between the NOW and Secrets. Everyone is so kind and everything is "its a pleasure". From the service at the bars to the waiters on the beach to the staff in the restaurants, there is no comparison. When going to the NOW for the night entertainment, we were never greated by waitresses but as soon as we sat down in our seats at the Secrets we were waited on immediately. Special shout outs to George, Manuel, Francisco, and Marcelo who were exceptionally great, kind, and helpful.
-The grounds and the room were well kept and soo neat and clean.Room was stocked daily with beer and refreshments which was very convenient. There is night time turn down service, in which our maid did romantic stuff daily prepared rose petals and bubble baths etc
-Entertainment was very nice in Secrets thanks to Akon, New York, and the rest of the crew.The Eclipse club was "hit or miss"-there was one night that was soo much fun but another that was kind of "corny" I guess it depends on the DJ
-Food was pretty decent. The seafood restaurant was just "ok" but more or less the main restaurant,lobster dinners, and outside grill was very good. We had a bad experience at the "Tamarindo"(mexican) on the NOW side with really bad service, a long wait (people were walking out), and so-so food.
-Beach was beautiful and swimmable!! Very relaxing
-Booked our vacation through Apple which was very smooth allowing transportation to and from airport completely painless! The Apple rep onsite was very helpful for excursions etc.
-Pool and swim up bar was beautiful!

Cons
-Pool closes at 7 pm :(. We understand that they need to be cleaned daily but they should maybe have a small section open later to allow for later swimming or have a night crew who can clean later.
-when requesting small items from the front desk, it would take a really long time for them to fix it/bring it..sometimes it would take several people to get the job done which was a little annoying, you just have to have patience and keep calling.

Alll in All if you are looking for a quiet, romantic, and beautiful resort/vacation for your honeymoon, look no more. This resort is intimate, quiet, calm, and the epitome of romantic!! Secrets really goes out of there way to please you and ensure that you have a good stay. The small flaws/cons were overlooked by their great service and amenities!! Excellente!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Alexis K,

Greetings from the sunny Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay in our hotel Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

we find through of your words the opportunity to get the best recognition as one of the best hotel destinations in the Caribbean.

Regarding the isolated issues that you encountered during your stay about the service, we do apologize if you felt hard time about the issues that you kindly mentioned, we assure that our human resources is preparing a new employee training system where we guarantee to all our guests high levels of our hotel service quality.

we hope that besides these important issues you had the opportunity to enjoy a relax a comfortable vacation in our establishment and we appreciate if you join us once again where we will pleased to offer our best services, if that happens, we are looking forward to meet your expectations.

be well

Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchard, OK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The beach is gorgeous, the pool area and waiters are great that's all around (especially Junior and Angel). My friend and I just feel like overall the culture is very bitter and not very hospitipl to Americans. We have been to Jamicia, playa,cancun, and cabo as well and by far this is the worst service - and food :( we are having a great time because of our company and that we are alone without our kids he he,but I wouldn't stay here again, unless it was free. Steve's is one of the other employed that is amazing and very willing to help and so friendly. The entertainment at night is excellent. The room is so so, seems a bit dirty and definitely nothing special. Bring a insulated cup for your drinks and get out early to save a chair at the pool. The Mexican restaurant on the family side was yummy, the oceana was disgusting and bland:( don't waste a dinner on it! The steak house was pretty good. I just hope they get friendlier staff overall. The grounds are kept very nicely and it seems as of the janitors work hard, but rooms seem lacking in the cleanliness factor. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear llbunch,

Greetings from the sunny Punta Cana, and thank you to share your comments about your recent stay in our establishment. On behalf of our entire personnel, we feel very pleasant that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all. Your comments are very important to increase the hotel value getting the best recognition as the best hotel in Punta Cana as well.

Concerning the issues that you encountered about the food, we appreciate your comments, through of them we have the opportunity to work hardly in the improvement areas.

We hope that besides this unfortunate facts, you have enjoyed a relax vacation in our hotel ,we really appreciate if you can join us once again in the future and it will be great if we can meet you personally as well, if that happens we are looking forward to hear from you soon.

Be well

Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I returned a week ago from a 6 day stay at Secrets Royal Beach, Punta Cana. Our room was average. The pictures online are pictures of rooms that are for "preferred stay". It sounded like the people above us were moving furniture every day.
Room service was terrible. We would order coffee for the next morning at certain times and they never got the time right. We ordered breakfast to be served one morning....it never arrived that morning. However, it did arrive on the morning of our departure at 7:30 am which was the one morning we really wanted to sleep in.
The management in the steak restaurant on the NOW side was just plain rude. I would not recommend the food at any of the restaurants. The food was very plain.
The staff, for the most part, were very courteous. The entertainment staff was excellent. The beach was beautiful. The grounds were beautiful.
As far as excursions go, the dune buggy ride was very unorganized,it took way too long, and took you to places where all the people did was beg you for money. It was very sad. The snuba trip was well worth the money.
Overall, for as much money as we spent, neither of us would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear lisa488

First of all, receive cordial greetings from Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and at the same time, we regret that you did not enjoy your honeymoon in our Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.
We have just analyzed every point that you kindly reported in a a constructive manner about our infrastructure and its facilities and we are extremely sorry for the things that you did not like or found inappropriate about our hotel.

Your comments are very helpful to us in order to be able to improve the hotel quality and service and they area indeed an excellent source of valuable data to know what our guests like and appreciate and what they dislike.

Concerning your comments about the room service, we do apologize due to the lack of service of our personnel and we assure that we had took the proper actions to prevent any similar situation in the future, we feel very concerned because of the uncomfortable situation created and we regret if we did not able to assist you on the timely manner.

About the issues that you had in the mentioned restaurant, our main goal in Secrets Royal Beach is the guest service and we are working hardly to be one of the best Hotel destinations in the Caribbean, we do not pretend to justify the incorrect attitude of our collaborators at the respect and we assure that right now, we have a new team of professional people motivated who will help us to increase the hotel value.

We are very sorry for all the inconveniences that this might of caused you and we regret that you left the hotel with such a bad taste on your mouth.
Also we regret about the unfortunate facts that did not allow you enjoy your stay plentiful and we would like to think that somehow you can change your mind about our resort and we hope that you visit us once again. If that happens, we will make sure that we will do the best to give our best service in our establishment.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to hear from you soon.

Yours faithfully


Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We traveled to Secrets Royal Beach the week of July 13 - July 20
This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic.
The weather was good and we did have a couple afternoon tropical rain showers that lasted from 15 minutes to 30 minutes, but nothing major.

Room: The room was big and spacious. The A/C and ceiling fan worked just fine. We used the hot tub once and it only took us 25 minutes to fill it up. The shower was great. The Shower head is on a moveable steel bar that you can position away from the shower entrance and you can also raise or lower the shower head as well. The lighting in the bathroom does suck and my wife had to use the mirror next to the tv. The bed was HUGE and very comfortable,but the pillows did suck a bit.

Food: Overall the food was a 3 1/2 out of 5. If you're looking for 5 star quality food go some place else, otherwise the food isn't that bad. Stay away from the Oceana restaurant. We were warned but went anyway and it was bad! The rest of the restaurants were good. We ate at Mercur, Gohan, Capers, Spice, and the other seafood restaurant on the NOW side. All were very good. The beach grills are excellent. The best grilled fish that I've had in a long time. The hamburgers, chicken, and rib-eye steak are very good. And we loved the french fries. The NOW side also has a beach grill with more sides and it is very good as well. The buffets are good. We only ate at the buffets for breakfast and lunch once in a while. They have good selections.

Adult Beverages: They had Presidente beer on tap and they also had Presidente Light in bottles as well as Bud and Coors Light. But they do run out of Bud and Coors light. The frozen drinks don't have much alcohol in them so ask for more. They do have Absolut, Stoly, Jim Beam, Jack etc. but you have to ask for it and you need to tell them mucho rum etc. or you'll just be drinking a frozen 7/11 slurpee. They do give you 5 Presidentes in your in-room fridge and a small bottle of rum. And they will replenish your fridge everyday.

Cigars: Don't bother buying any cigars at their 2 humidors in their gift shops, they are way overpriced. Yes, you can get "real" Cohibas, Montecristos etc., but you'll pay between $15-$30 per cigar. Not a good deal. Just walk down the beach and find a small cigar store called La Perla Dominican and buy your cigars there. They hand roll all their own and will give you a free cigar to smoke as your making your decision. I bought 10 Robustos for $77 and 9 Grand Coronas for $50. Well worth the money and all 100% pure Dominicans! Watch out for the fakes. One guy tried to sell me 20 Churchill Cohibas for $40, all fakes.

Pools: The pools on the Secrets side are good. The swim-up pool bar is good, but sometimes you may get slow bar service. We never had any trouble finding chairs under shade to sit in. They only give you 1 towel per day, so hold onto it. As far as floats, we never did ask for one and they do go fast in the morning and I think people hoard them and take them back to their rooms. But no big deal for us. Also, we did see people with large insulated glasses, but I think that is unnecessary as well.

Beach: The sand was great! Yes, there is a bit of seaweed near the ocean but the resort staff does a good job of raking it up. The water is great as well. There are more than enough seats on the beach with shade from either the palm trees or shade huts. And there is a beach bar, but it can get packed.

Service: The resort staff was very good. The Entertainment staff was "Excellent". They really do try to make your stay very fun. Akon was by far the best!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I could nit-pick here and there, but why. A vacation is what you make of it and we went to relax and have some fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jeff S

Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay in Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

We feel very thrilled that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all and also we feel very happy that your experience in our establishment was plentiful.

Through of your comments, we can get the best recognition as one of the best hotel destination in the Caribbean.

We hope you can visit us once again and it will be great if we can meet you personally. If that happens we will do best to give our best service as your last time in our Luxury hotel.

Be well

Ismael Vallejo
e-concierge
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
e-concierge.nolpc@nowresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach

Address: Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury®. Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.