We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,but not for all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Royal Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Royal Beach to your Saves list
Secrets Royal Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel,but not for all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First off,amazing staff.the nicest people you will ever meet.
Rooms are very nice and the food at Secrets was really good.We tried two places at Now and really didn't like them,the food just isn't as good as Secrets [i'd give the italian a 4 and the french place a 6]

The only reason why this is not a raving review is my own personal taste,the place looks great,people are very nice,nothing wrong with it as such.

We picked this as a last minute option,we usually go for a place that is less crowdy and loud.
And loud it can get.I had trouble finding a nice quiet spot just to relax and read a book in the sunshine.The beach is as loud as any beach and can really get loud when all of a sudden you are faced with a zumba class :)
The animation team that most people rave about are the people i tried to avoid as much as i could,not being able to do so all the time is what i didn't like.
Once again..my personal taste,should you like to be entertained a lot,by all sorts of dancing and such,you will love it.
Gotta share a weird evening tho,we found a place that was kinda quiet[habana]and a band started playing covers,the lionel ritchie kind,so slow stuff.while we sat there relaxing,i noticed two guys walking though the crowd clapping their hands,i first had the idea some peeps just had a lil to much too drink,but it was our lovely animation team:) while listening to the band,i also noticed 2 guys dressed up as clowns eeh clowning around.
The combo between the relaxing music and the team bend on entertaining us was weird.

Not had any problems with people trying to sell me anything,had booked my trips in advance.

In short,big on keeping you busy,not so much a place to relax and hide away somewhere.

Room Tip: We had the seaview suite,should you wanna spent most of your time at the pool,go for a swim up.[we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

As our main goal is to satisfy all our costumers and our best prize is your feedback, we feel so proud of it and we really appreciate your time in sharing with us your experience. We are happy to know you enjoyed and regret the fact that you didn't find it as relax as you expected.

We hope to have you back soon and have the opportunity to create the real relaxing experience we usually give to our costumers.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,437
    1,028
    405
    121
    62
See reviews for
335
3,550
100
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,524)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and stayed at the secrets from March 21st to March 28th and had so much fun. The hotel was very clean and nice, the staff was awesome! The beach was always clean and beautiful! The weather was perfect for us! We arrived at the hotel around 12 and our check in time was for 3 so around 230 we went to see if our room was available yet and it wasnt they told us to come back at 3 which was fine with us. At three we went back and they told us another 15 minutes at this point I asked the guy to just put us in another room because I was sick of carrying my carry on bags. He told us one minute, after about five minutes my husband went up to the desk to see what was going on he gives my husband the key and away we went. We get to our room and the maid was still cleaning it which means the floors were wet and the jacuzzi tub outside didnt get cleaned at all. The room ws nice the only complain we had was our jacuzzi tub had to privacy at all so we did not use it the whole time. We had room 5166 which is at the bottom close to the pool and restuarants but also in the back where all the workers walk. Day in and day out we always had a guard right outside our patio which is another reason we didnt use our tub! Maybe secrets could upgrade this a little bit more and make it more private?
Food was okay we just found ourselfs going over to the Now all the time. There restuarants were a lot better and the entertainment was a lot better too! The casino and everything is located over at the Now which means that you are going to see little ones on your trip no matter what and that made it hard for us considering it was hard to leave my kids for the first time. I just think maybe the remenities over at the Now should maybe have been at Secrets. Our favourite dinners were the Italian and the Mexican, the buffets were always nice but I found the cheese to have a weird flavour!
Staff was awesome always trying to make you feel like family! Up at the front bar which we used every night after dinner was great, Anna Maria was the best waitress up there, always smiling and serving you to the fullest. At the pool bar we had so many awesome staff members that would serve! I would have to say our favourites there was, Jefferey who would walk the whole pool side all day long and always made us laugh also really fluent in english, Domingo who never had to ask what drink he knew exactly what we wanted, Angel who had to be the funniest guy there and so warm, Carlos and Josee who would keep the drinks lined up all day long I remember having 4 infront of me at one time and them saying I need to drink faster lol, Patricia who was just so darn cute ecspecially when her and Domingo would dance, and Yolanda who would always joke around! If it wasnt for the staff our trip wouldve been pretty boring. New York was always happy but I think the entairtainment couldve been worked on a bit more over at the Secrets, we loved the entertainment at the Now though!
Would I pay this kind of money again probably not considering we didnt have no privacy and was always at the Now! The only good thing was the warm welcoming staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

As our main goal is to satisfy all our costumers and our best prize is your feedback, we feel so proud of it, thank you for sharing the whole experience as your remarks helps us to keep improving our services.

We hope to have you back soon and have the opportunity to create more special moments for you.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Its a five star resort, so the buildings, grounds, and food were amazing. But the reason why I took the time to write a review is because of the staff. You truly are treated royally. And the entertainment staff was incredible, i seriously have no idea how they have the energy to entertain all day. Case in point, Akon taught me spanish in the morning, held a volleyball tournament in the afternoon, and at night break danced during the nightly entertainment.
Only complaint but its probably only a complaint for me is that it is that everyone there seemed to be a couple, married, newly weds, but no singles. Not really a problem unless your single though.

Room Tip: I would pick above ground level. There is an outdoor tub thats kinda useless being on ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

As our main goal is to satisfy all our costumers and our best prize is your feedback, we feel so proud of it and we are so happy to read that, our services, property and overall staff friendliness where up to your expectations and went above and beyond to satisfy all your needs and make you feel as special as you are.

We hope to have you back soon and have the opportunity to create more special moments for you.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent the week of March 17th at the resort with my husband and another couple. This was our third Secrets property and it didn't disappoint. The staff was exceptional and did everything they could to make our vacation fun and relaxing. The beach/pool servers were fantastic and Santa was our favorite, although we found all of them to be friendly and helpful. My advice...take the time to get to know the staff and tip them frequently. They work extremely hard for very little wages, and yet always have a smile on their face. All have interesting stories about their own lives and life in the Domican Republic if you take the time to ask.

Our room was comfortable and our daily maid (Bernada) kept it spotless and stocked with fresh towels. Don't forget to tip your maid as well!

The front desk staff were professional and helpful. Special thanks to Jonathan S. for all of his advice and interesting conversation.

We enjoyed many different restaurants and some were better than others. The French restaurant food was excellent but it took 1.5 hours and service was slow. We had steller service at Oceana (seafood) but the entrees were just ok, although the seafood civeche appetizer was outstanding and we heard that remark from other guests as well. We loved the Italian restaurant and could have easily just eaten the appetizer buffet as it was varied and plentiful, but our entrees were delicious as well. (Take the golf cart from the Secrets front desk instead of walking). The breakfast buffett was not bad, although I think there was more of a fresh fruit selection at the Secrets in Cancun. There truely is something for everyone at the buffett, including cooked-to-order eggs. Was it exceptional? No, but very good and plentiful. We tried room service one evening and the service was quick and the food was very hot. The beach grill is by far the best place to each for lunch. We had grilled hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken, lobster, and salmon on various days and there is nothing better than sitting in your chaise under a palm tree with your feet nestled in pure white soft sand eating a freshly grilled meal.

We only attended one show (Jeerks) but it was awesome. I highly recommend seeing their show, although I know they are headed to Branson soon.

I took advantage of a facial at the spa it was wonderful. Very professional staff and I highly recommend it, even though it is a little pricey compared to prices for the same services at home.

Overall, I have to give a slight nod to Secrets Royal Beach over Secrets Silversands in Mexico. The food was better at Silversands, but the staff and overall ambiance of the property won us over, and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 4 and had no issues. It is a bit away from the pool area but you are closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

As our main goal is to satisfy all our costumers and our best prize is your feedback, we feel so proud of it and we are delighted to read that, all our services, property and staff friendliness where up to your expectations and you could relax on it.

We hope to have you back soon and have the opportunity to create more special moments for you.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I went for a couples break and we loved it! We were lulled by the higher end alcohol being included as well as the beautiful location. It lived up to the photos-just beautiful! It is our first all-inclusive trip and we are hooked. It may be an older renovated resort but it is immaculate and the simple layout was just fine. Now Larimar next door is much larger and has a great layout too, and with size comes larger-scale choices. The sister property is great if families with kids want to travel as well-it seems like a rare opportunity. We felt the food offerings were very good, especially in the specialty restaurants at both. Definitely worth it, and we also had a fantastic deal on the package. Flying in to the airport was a wonderful experience-it is so beautiful! As with all, experiences can vary greatly with any trip but in our case we were very pleased. Like all all-inclusives we were subjected to the "obligatory" time-share spiel but I think you could easily avoid it. We just weren't bold enough to try. I think you could simply decline at your greeting and politely duck them. We shouldn't have felt so guilty-its hard though seeing how hard they work just to support their families. The one thing we learned is that the island needs better infrastructure-horror stories abound about injuries and extreme poverty; people who traverse the island for a job and support entire extended family, dependent upon the tourism industry. Loved the massage on the beach and drinks were simple to get. Not too crowded at all. Also loved the tub on the balcony!

Room Tip: We wanted one near the water and am not sure it was worth the surcharge. View was pretty obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

As our main goal is to satisfy all our costumers and our best prize is your feedback, we feel so proud of it and we are so happy to read that all our services, property and staff friendliness where up to your expectations and you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to have you back soon and have the opportunity to create more special moments for you.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was beautiful. Spacious, clean and well decorated rooms. Grounds were lush and tropical. The staff was very energetic and helpful. Always plenty of things to do, but you could just as easily do nothing if you preferred.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that, all our services, property and staff friendliness where up to your expectations and satisfy all your needs. We are proud to read that you had enjoy being in our beautiful hotel.

We hope to have you back soon and have the opportunity to create more special moments for you.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon vacation at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana in mid November 2012. It was absolutely amazing and we loved every minute of our week-long stay at the resort! We had a beautiful room (ocean view room) and an amazing butler, Steves! Steves was so nice and helped get us special reservations at restaurants and set up many other romantic surprises for us during the week. The entire staff at Secrets was amazing! Even the maintenance workers were great - we had some confusion getting our fan to work in our room and it was repaired immediately by the nicest man.

The food was good overall, especially breakfast and dinner. We loved that everything was all-inclusive and that we could also visit the neighboring NOW resort. It was nice that we could use their restaurants and services, but that Secrets was only for couples - it made the resort more quiet and romantic for us as a couple, but allowed us to have a lot more flexibility in dining and entertainment.

We had a fabulous dinner on the beach at sunset. It was one of our favorite experiences during the week-long trip. Junior was our waitor and he was fantastic! He was so fun and prepared a fabulous dining experience for us on the beach. Definitely do not skip the romantic dinner on the beach if you have the chance!

The beach itself was great - nice and peaceful. It can be somewhat crowded depending on when you go, but we always found two loungers and never went to the beach earlier than 11 am. The drinks were amazing too - there's nothing like soaking up some sun on a beach with a frozen banana mama or pina colada in your hand : )

The one slightly negative thing that I can say is that if you are an American and take a taxi outside of the resort for any reason, expect to pay insane prices for a short cab ride. We went to the local catholic church, which was only about 2 miles away and paid $20 for a cab there and back. I recommend taking the shuttle that the resort provides to some of the shopping areas, though. Don't expect a local market shopping experience, but there are some nice places in the shopping "malls" to get some unique dominican souvenirs.

I definitely recommend Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana to any couple looking for a romantic vacation experience. We had an especially nice time as honeymooners - if you are planning on going there for your honeymoon make sure you get the honeymoon package with the massage, it was well worth it! Also, remember to bring a copy of your marriage license / wedding invitation to prove that you're on your honeymoon too, we almost forgot!

Room Tip: We LOVED our room - we had a top floor junior suite ocean view room in the building closest to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

As our main goal is to satisfy all our costumers and our best prize is your feedback, we feel so proud of it and we are delighted to read that, all our services, property and staff friendliness where up to your expectations and went above and beyond to satisfy all your needs.

We hope to have you back soon and have the opportunity to create more special moments for you.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.0 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#13 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 9,819 reviews
3.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
0.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach

Address: Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.