We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“repeat guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Royal Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
You added Secrets Royal Beach to your Saves list
Secrets Royal Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Big Fall Savings!
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“repeat guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Our 2 week vacation at this resort was one of the best at an Adult Only Resort.Had a lot of fun at the beach as their Activity Group is so nice Speedy,Akon,Isaias,Stephanie and Blondy made our stay at the beach each day very entertaining as we watch the Volleyball games,Baseball,Dancing and the very good excersise routine they do daily as well as some silly things they do.Carlos Garcia is a very good person to arrange any excursions etc with as he is very nice and can speak several diff languages. The AlaCarte Restaurants are very good ,The Oceana for a varietyy of foods. The Seaside Grill for Steak and Seafood and Asian ,Italian and the French Gormet is very nice.as well. The buffet restaurant is very good and has an excellent staff to name a few (Felix,Josefa,Ericson,Gibel,Jaqueline,Jaun Carlos,Rafael,Franklin, Menquis,Miguel,Samoro and Carlos. We always got that little extra service fr Felix no matter where he was working..(a hard worker). The Lazy River pool is very nice as you get to meet some of the other guests as you make your way around. The swimup bar is very nice,Bartenders Carlos, Gladys,Yoelandy,Margarita to name a few are very nice. The beach service for drinks is very nice fr Yoelandy,Margarita,Gladys etc. The girls are very friendly. Even the clean up boys are so friendly and do such a good job of keeping everything nice a clean by picking up cups etc.(Franklin and Juan) also doing the raking of beach. A breif talk with the Manager Clara Escribano was very nice . She is easy to talk with. and very friendly. Mama and Papa

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,557)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Royal Beech looked in the brochure like it was going to be everything that we wanted, sophisticated and modern. When we arrived we weren't disappointed either. We were warmly greeted and the reception area is very grand and magnificent. Infact everything looked lovely, our swim-up room was very big and well decorated with a lovely bathroom. The restaurants and bar areas look nice.
One of the faults with Royal Beech is that their staff bother the guests too much. On our first day we were sat on the beech, we had a cocktail by our side, book in hand and the background noise of the waves lapping up against the shore... Bliss. Then suddenly Boom, boom, boom, the music starts blaring out from a portable CD player and it was shortly followed by at least 2 members of staff shouting to all the guests to join in with whatever activity they were about to embark upon. This wouldn't have been too bad if it was occasional but this occurred twice each morning and once in the afternoon most days. If you are thinking that you could escape to the pool area to get away from all this then you are mistaken because the exact same thing occurs here but with different activities. So loud was the music each day that even if we went back to our room we could still here it from the pool area. I felt like we were at that hotel in the film Dirty Dancing where you are constantly forced to participate in activities that you probably don't want to do!
The food at their restaurants is overall very nice and as you can also use the hotel next door, there is a large variety. Everywhere you go though there is entertainment and it's noisy. There was a lack of real lack of space to just relax and unwind.
Something that I ate whilst on holiday also made me very poorly and so we spent a couple of days not going very far from the room. I didn't want to be disturbed as I felt so sick and so we put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. After one day we had a phone call from reception asking if we were okay. This could be passed off as the hotel being caring. However, the next day the same thing occurred and the receptionist informed us that the maid needed to clean our room. It was quite annoying because I just needed to rest and even in our own room this wasn't possible. Unfortunately I got so sick that I ended up at hospital (make sure you have travel insurance, we learnt at the hospital that it isn't uncommon for people to get get sick in the Dominican). But finally at the hospital we found some peace and quiet!

I may sound like a moaning old woman from this review, but my husband and I are a young fun-loving couple. But this hotel drove us mad and we were so bitterly disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Mgr_Asst, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Valued Secrets Royal Beach Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your time and effort writing a review.

We are very concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your vacation as expected and we would like to express our sincere apologies for not fulfilling your needs.

Every comment and every suggestion is taken into consideration from the management to improve the service quality to our valued customers.

Please also understand, that we would like to please every guest, but in some aspects it is impossible due to brand standards we have to meet.

Again, please accept our apologies for causing you any inconveniences.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you at one of our Resorts within our brand again.


Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bávaro Beach
Provincia La Altagracia
Republica Dominicana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have stayed at other Secrets Resorts and while they are all well designed for the couples crowd, the Secrets Royal Beach was the best experience yet. The resort is beautiful and the rooms very clean, large and set with luxury linens. The resort setting is perfect for a romantic getaway or just some down time and small enough that the service is exceptional. We also enjoyed the private beach cabanas with Butler Service while we were there. What makes this Resort so exceptional is its people ... specifically the Concierge and Butler Staff. They were beyond amazing, warm and truly happy to help with anything and went over and above to ensure that we felt at home. If you get the chance to meet and get to know Arcenio, Jacky, Steves or Juan Manual you are guaranteed to have a wonderful vacation and top notch service! Thanks for a wonderful experience at Secrets Royal Beach

Room Tip: the first floor rooms with the lazy river outside their door seemed like they would be nice but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at Secrets on Jan 13th to the 17th. This was our first stay at this resort which used to be an NH Hotel. I believe it is still managed by NH but marketed by Amresorts. This is a newer type hotel with a glass enclosed A/C lobby. The grounds are beautiful but not as tropical as some resorts. There is a serpentine (lazy river) pool the wanders through about 2 thirds of the resort. The beach is on Bavaro beach and the resort sits right beside the family resort NOW Larimar which guests from Secrets can use their facilities.
The resort does not have a large amount of chairs by the pool. If you are a pool person I would recommend a swim out room to ensure a chair by the pool. The rooms are large with a nice bathroom but have a glass shower with no indoor tub. There are 2 person tubs with jets on each deck or patio with varied degrees of privacy.
The staff here is great, our butler Steves checked on us twice daily to see if we needed anything but we saw him everywhere through the resort. The pool and beach service was excellent.
We had 3 dinners at Secrets and one at the French Restaurant at NOW. The 2 dinners at the Seaside Grill were excellent, the French had very good food but the wine at NOW was not as good. We were disappointed with the Oceana. The dining room décor, service and menu were fine but the food was disappointing in the Oceana. Maybe just a bad day. No waiting at the Secrets resorts but you may have a wait at NOW depending on the restaurant and the time you want to eat. Just relax, no different than home! The breakfast is in the buffet which is a very pretty buffet with the ambiance of a nice sit down restaurant. Standard breakfast with omlett station, waffles, pancakes and all other breakfast goodies etc. Lunch is served in the buffet and on the beach which has a great grill with chops, burgers, hotdogs, etc. Food is of a nice quality.
Dinner is the Seaside Grill which is looking over the beach and ocean, the buffet also overlooking the beach and ocean and the Oceana, which is a pretty restaurant just to the side- plus all of the restaurants on the NOW side are available to Secrets guests. Wine is good and they have a list if you want to buy a better bottle,
Secrets is much more laid back than NOW. The courtyard in the evening has light entertainment but a great place to get liquors, coffees etc. The serve you espresso and coffee drinks in pretty cups, on a silver platter with a coffee cookie, very nice. A good place to have a cigar. The pool had floats that I never saw in the water. Most of them were on people’s patios or on their decks. Not sure why the resorts do not put them in the water and do not allow them to leave. The room above us had a float on the deck. Our whole stay the floats never got wet!
The beach was white sand, rippling water, some seaweed that was constantly cleaned. You did have to go out early to get chairs. Walking the beach you pass in front of many other hotels and the beach activities are numerous. Beach service for drinks was very good.
The resort does have vacation club people. At check in they tell you to see them for coupons. Take the tour if you want or ask for the coupons and say no to the tour. The only place they approached me was in the main lobby and I gave them a firm no look and they went away. Many people though were very interested in their presentation. Just be aware they are trying to sell you vacations.
We went to the NOW pool a couple of times and to the Preferred Club pool. Pool was nice but definitely more families. Looked like a nice resort but really can’t comment much. Their main atrium had all the entertainment, sports bar, casino, restaurants, main lobby etc. A lot of activity going on at one time. We did take a ride to the new NOW annex and had a very nice buffet breakfast there. This is almost like its own resort about a 2 min ride or 5 min walk from the NOW main lobby. We heard the rooms were very nice and they looked like they had tubs on the decks. A nice pool and pool bar. You have use of all NOW facilities.
They also have an active Facebook page to answer questions.
This is a nice Adult Only resort if you want the quiet, more relaxed feel but still want to see some shows or get more active. You can have both here which makes it nice. And still the no reservation and no wristband policy.
If you have questions contact me at bbgamer1@yahoo.com

Room Tip: The swim up rooms on the North side are the sunniest rooms .All rooms have 2 person tubs on the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We went on jan 25th and the weather was great, the beach is huge and is very windy which was great for us. Some key points are:
Stunning location.
Cleanliness is perfect.
A huge selection of restaurants
Helps to speak a little spanish
Worth upgrading to swim up room
Beach runs for miles
There is seaweed there but they are always cleaning it up so not a issue
If you go you need to do swimming with dolphins.
Overall the holiday was great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and i visited Secrets in Aug of 2011. Over all the staff serving were great and worth tips!!.
The STAFF PUSHING THE TIME SHARE MEETINGS WERE SIMPLY ANNOYING. When we finally decided to go mid week just to be left alone the rest of the week. The guys doing the sales pitch were sales men for sure and literally would not let us go without causing a scene. We waisted 1/2 a day in this meeting and were unable to relax the rest of that day, we were so upset.
The bar served strong drinks, a little to strong for my wife. You really need to pay attention to who makes your drinks if you wanting a good tasting one.
Weather was great and the beach was cleanest of all the resorts on the stretch.
Will not go back just because of how hard they pushed the time share stuff. Really made it hard to relax
Lyndsey & Steve

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We chose this resort on our travel agent's suggestion following a great vacation last year at Secret's Maroma. Our agent has a relationship with the hotel after recommending it to other clients and we were treated accordingly. Royal Beach did not disappoint. Pre-arranged airport to hotel transfer went without a hitch. Quick, efficient check-in at hotel, where we were greeted with Champagne. Very pleased with Room 4372, which provided a great view, kingsize bed, and spotlessly clean. Our butler,(can't believe I'm blanking on his name) was courteous and professional. Breakfast and lunch buffet's were very good with lots of options (smoothie and omelet stations, waffles/pancakes, fruit, etc. Excellent dinners at Seaside Grill, Oceania, Spice, French Restaurant and all were terrific. Service staff is exceptionally attentive. Steves was a wonderful "beach butler". Juan Carlos is a great maitre'd, Ramona kept our room clean as a whistle, and really everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. General manager Gonzalo, Lauren and management staff should be applauded for running such a tight ship. We would like to see a better, more equipped fitness center, with disposable earphones and individual video on the treadmills and ellipticals. Another thing we liked was the guest mix. We met people from all over the states, Europe, and South America. Very good trip.

Room Tip: We prefer 3rd floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.0 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#14 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 9,948 reviews
3.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
0.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
3.8 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach

Address: Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Splendia, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.