We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Royal Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Royal Beach to your Saves list
Secrets Royal Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Air Credit!
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Repeat Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just returned fr a 2 week vacation at the most beautiful resort in Punta Cana. We can't wait to go again. The pool is like a maze to walk,swim float on a mattress or tube while drinks are served to you by really nice waiters and waitresses. Carlos and a group of waiters are great at entertaing the guests at the pool bar. The beach is very nice, warm ocean water,nice waitresses serving you all day ,Yoeloney,Margarita and Gladys were really nice even bringing you Pineapple and coconut drinks that are really really heavy. The entertainment people are fantastic and do a really good job (Cari ,Stefania,Blondy,Speedy and Akon) they dance at night as part of the nightly entertainment as well as being at the beach all day. The restaurants are great, the buffet is excellent great variety and very friendly staff and management (Felix, Menquis,Josefa,Gilver,Miquel,Jaqueline,Neudy,jaun Carlos,Carlos and Domingo). The Alacarte restaurants were excellent,the Seaside Grill was the best then the Oceana. The entertainment at night was very good. There is a very nice guy named Carlos Garcia working for Sea Pro who arranged some nice excursions ,he also books snorkeling,parasailing etc. We will be back. Mama and Papa U.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,113
    938
    369
    110
    57
See reviews for
286
3,223
93
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,355)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This resort is the best imaginable place in the world! The staff, the food, the service, the drinks, the activities and the shows were all amazing!!!! We went in October and are already saving to go back! The only complaint is that the robes were child size (and no, I'm not a big girl) and the check in process took quite a long time and we had to wait hours for our room to be ready. However, while we waited we were able to sit and drink in the lobby and get some lunch. It was an amazing vacation and we will definetly be back and have told all our friends to come too!

Room Tip: all rooms are exactly the same on the inside, even if it's swim up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We've spent 7 days there in Oct 2011 and were extremely satisfied with the resort. Great service, spacious room, good variety of food and selection of restaurants. We didn't use SPA so no comments as to what do they offer there since we mostly stayed on the beach, which is well maintained and clean, plenty of seaweed however, but that's natural occurrence as we understood... They offer different activities at the beach like playing volleyball, stretching, zumba, etc. And they serve great selection of beverages and all sorts of both non & alcoholic cocktails. Book safely and enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Would suggest booking king size bed rooms as rooms with separate queen size beds are located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was the first all-inclusive Island vacation for my husband and I. From the moment we arrived at the resort the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The food was very good. We ate a la carte for every dinner and we were both pleased with all our meals. The service in all the restaurants and bars was excellent. Our room was beautiful, very clean and thank goodness for the air conditioning since it was very humid. The beach was so beautiful with lots of chairs and huts for shade and always lots to drink with a bar set up right on the beach. We used the pool alot too, it was very clean and a great swim-up bar. There was plenty of entertainment at night and we danced in the disco for a few of the nights.We had alot of fun and would definitely recommend this hotel. We look forward to going to another Secrets resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Well I guess lets get the bad out of the way. When we arrived we booked and was confirmed by the resort a swim up room. We were orginally given a room on the third floor a long way from any pool. When questioned they said they were over booked on the swim up rooms and showed us a form in which was pre printed that gave us a lobster dinner and a 25 minute massage for the problem. Which for us was not good enough becuase I want what I paid for on my vacation. Well to find out we were not the only one having this issue I spoke with about 15 other couples with the same issue. After talking with management this is a very common problem everyday at this resort. Finally after calling our travel agent and having him call Secrets corporate headquarters 2 hours later we had the room we PAID for but not with out arguing for 2 hours.

Besides that we had a great time a swim up room was the way to go it was awesome. Pool bar was great with Andy Guerrero making our stay great all the time. Food was good cant say I had an amazing meal anytime but it was always good. Staff was great throughout the resort except for Enrique at teh French restaurant which was the worst service we recieved and he was rude to our table. Cant say I had a bad stay it was great the nightly shows were some of the best we have ever seen at any of the resorts accross the carribean we have stayed.

It was a great way to spend my 30th birthday and they brought me a cake that was awesome and made it a great trip. Beach was amazing and always clean as well as the entire resort was at all times.

Room Tip: Swim up was the way to go you could easily go from pool to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This resort was a great 25th anniversary for my husband and myself. The staff was warm and welcoming at all times. Ths was our first visit to the Dominican Republic and would return in a heart beat. The resturant options was was limited when it came to american food but the sister hotel next door helped with the issue(French, Asian, American, Italian, Seafood). The poolside accessibility is wonderful no matter where your room is located. The swim up bar and service on the beach and the lazy river type pool is just the best thing ever. Would recommend that you watch out for the "sales" pitches" for the guest(vacation Club presentation). The mini bar was always stocked and the 24 hr room service made us feel like a King and Queen!. The robes and slippers in the room was a nice touch but need to remember that everyone is not a 1 size fit all number. The DJ in the night club not to familiar with al types of music but everything else was perfect(open dance floor with comfortable seating). Phone the room did not work the first 2 days there but who were we going to call?.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Sorry to anyone looking for a short review. We hope that you find this extensive review helpful. Grab a glass of wine or a coffee and enjoy.
Overall Impression
Well if it is not clear from the majority of other reviews written, I will state it simply, the secret about Secrets Royal Beach is its staff. The staff here are extraordinary and really do aim to make this a vacation of a life time. The size of the resort allows the staff to get to know you on a very personal level. They get to know your favourite drinks and what table you like to sit in the restaurants. However it is important to note that the staff take their cue from you. If you are warm, open and friendly then they will mirror that back to you. We have been at other resorts that had very professional members on its staff, we have been at resorts that have had fun and outgoing members on its staff, but this is the first resort that we have encountered where all of its staff members were both professional while being outgoing and fun.
It is important to note the outstanding and very visible management at this resort. The Secrets experience began for us prior to arriving at Secrets Royal Beach. For us it began with our contact with Juanna Hoffman the head of concierge for Secrets Royal Beach. She answered our many emails in a timely and friendly manner and always provided very detailed responses to our questions and concerns. Then we arrived at Secrets, management was very present at all levels and truly act as members of the team ensuring that your experience is all that you hoped it would be. It was so nice to see individuals such as Damingo in the main buffet restaurant playing as a team member supporting his staff by clearing dishes and refilling wine glasses. He was always there to greet us with a warm smile and handshake.
Our review however would not be complete without mentioning the efforts and professionalism of Jazmin Mejia, a manager assistant at Secrets Royal beach. This young woman has a brilliant career ahead of herself. It was our pleasure to meet her and share our views and experiences with her. She listens attentively and genuinely cares about her clients and is proud of the resort that she represents. She seems to always be present in a very understated way –a true sign of a good manager. It is also clear that her team members respect her and value her presences. Many guests may have run into Jazmin and chatted with her and not even realized that she was a member of the management team. It is because of the efforts and commitment to customer service by individuals like Jazmin that we have fallen in love with Secrets Royal Beach.

Our Experience
We arrived at Secrets Royal Beach eager with anticipation and a little apprehensive after leaving our favourite Punta Cana destination to try a new location. However we felt prepared after our hours of research on TripAdvisor and numerous emails. Unfortunately we were not prepared for what we encountered, we were not prepared to spend two weeks being pampered in a Spa like atmosphere. From the moment we stepped off the bus to receive our glass of champagne and refreshing towel to the moment we had to leave our room keys at the desk to return home we had an experience like we have never had before.
Our days began at the Secrets buffet restaurant on the terrace overlooking the turquoise waters of the ocean. Fresh squeezed orange juice, a wide range of baked goods and extensive variety of meats and eggs left you wondering what to choose each day. After a relaxing breakfast we were off to spend our time either lounging in the lazy river pool that meandered through the resort grounds or on the white sands of the beach. By the end of our second week we did find ourselves spending more time in the lazy river, spending hours floating and relaxing in the sun. Our favourite pool waitress Gladys always made sure to check and see if we would like fresh fruit or a refill of our favourite beverage. She was always smiling and cheery even when carrying trays towering with a variety of drinks. We were always left wondering how she remembered who ordered what and how after only a few days she did not even have to ask what we wanted to order but simply asked if we were ready.
Lunches for us were an event. We enjoy heading up to our room prior to lunch to shower and change. We would arrive at our room to find it made up for the day. Only twice was it not prepared by that time and a call to concierge and a request made for an earlier make-up and we never ran into that problem again. Lunches would find us once again on the terrace of Secrets Royal Beach’s buffet restaurant. There we were spoiled by the extremely attentive service of Kenia. This young woman was extremely professional and endeared herself to us. She could make us feel that we were the only ones at the restaurant, making sure that our glasses were always filled and that we were pleased with our experience. We were also very well taken care of by Jackie (Happy, Happy) and Randy, while being entertained by Hemeregildo . It was easy for us to spend a couple of hours enjoying our lunch and drinks while watching the ocean and listening to the crash of the waves.
Afternoons found us once again in the sun enjoying the day. There are many opportunities at Secrets Royal Beach to be as active or lazy as you want. Never do you feel pressured to join in by the animation team. Activities ranged from fruit carving to Zumba lessons. One thing we really enjoyed was the Secrets Newsletter(The Sundial) that arrived each evening describing the events of the upcoming day, restaurants that were open and evening entertainment.
Evenings, at Secrets Royal Beach can be spent enjoying a relaxing dinner, listening to live bands, watching Vegas Style shows or dancing at the rooftop disco. For us, we started with cocktails in the well air conditioned lobby bar. We were pleased to find Delia from a previous resort location serving drinks. We were so surprised when she recognized us! Our favourite ala cartes we Secrets Seaside Grill, Now Larimar’s Italian and Secrets Oceania.
Over the course of two weeks was our experience free of minor hiccups or mishaps --no, but you choose your reaction to minor problems that you encounter. Did we love every item we selected to eat, most times yes, like the tenderloin at the Grill, the gnocchi and calamari at the Italian and the chocolate volcano at Oceania. Those that complain that they could not find something that they would enjoy were really looking to find something to complain about.

Ways that Secrets Could be Improved
Beach towels seem to be an issue. It was evident that Secrets was doing a change over from past linens to new but the amount of better quality beach towels was limited
Turndown service did occur most evenings, however we were forgotten on a couple of occasions. It is important for Secrets to tighten up the reins on this, if they advertise a service it must be consistent
Oceania needs to come up with an alterative menu. When you are staying at Secrets and you want to dine adults only having a restaurant that only has a tasting menu greatly limits your dining options. A return of a French or a Gourmet menu would be beneficial. Another option would be to have a second tasting menu that alternated week to week
The Gala at the buffet to be more like a Gala, maybe to organize the Manager’s cocktail party to be made part of the evening
Music to be played inside the buffet restaurant that is played on the terrace
WiFi made available through the resort

What it is not
Secrets Royal Beach is not the place to go for raucous parties filled with loud music and drinking games. While we were there one large group arrived thinking that this was the type of resort that they had booked. Their behaviour stood out as an offence to the senses of those of us who had come to relax and enjoy the sunshine and relaxing jazz music played throughout the resort. Management, once again was to be applauded for how they handled their offensive behaviour and it was soon toned down so that all those who had booked this resort for the secret experience could continue to enjoy their holiday. There are many larger resorts that accommodate this party hardy attitude towards vacationing and it is hopeful that individuals wanting this type of vacation might do their research a little more carefully.

In Closing
As a couple who tries to travel to Punta Cana three to four times a year our holiday time is very important to us. Once we find a resort we like we do become creatures of habit. Friends and family now often come to us for travel advice and many have been waiting for our trip experience report. Would we recommend Secrets Royal Beach? Yes without hesitation and the main reason --the experience provided by the members of the Secrets Royal team such as Jazmin and Kenia, professionals like this really who really do ensure that your travel dollars are very well spent. Our plans for our upcoming trip are already in the works and we can not wait to see the improvements that Secrets have planned.

Room Tip: Plan to come and relax and connect with your partner. Don't forget to bring a floatie for the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach

Address: Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.