We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation! We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation! We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our family had not done an all- inclusive vacation and the last time my wife and I had gone on an all-inclusive was over 10 years ago. After spending a week at Esmeralda, our thought is: what took us so long?! From the moment we arrived for check-in process (we were seated and sipping cocktails - no check-in lines!), we knew we were in a for a great stay. Everything was perfect from the rooms, grounds and pools to the restaurants, and most importantly the beach. Everything was spotless and clean, including the beach. Food at the buffets was excellent with a lot of choices; we actually preferred the buffets to the à-la-carte restaurants. All three meals were excellent and were very happy with the food and the service all-around. In particular, Osvaldy who worked the breakfast and supper shifts at the outdoor terrace at the buffet was awesome! Very warm greeting every morning when he saw us arrive for breakfast. He was fantastic - on our last night, he even got the band and the staff to come sing Happy Birthday (and a couple of other songs) for my daughter who was turning 10. A very special moment for our family as they serenaded our daughter - big thanks to Osvaldy. All the staff was pleasant, and very hard-working. The pools, although I am a beach person who needs to be dragged there by my family, were fun with a great atmosphere. The beach was also beautiful with plenty of huts for shade, beach chairs for everyone, blue water, nice sand, and as I mentioned, NO litter. I am certain my famliy will return there as this was a near-perfect place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Richard,

It is marvelous to read that everything was perfect during your great family vacation; we are glad to know that you enjoyed an unforgettable holiday in this Caribbean paradise in Punta Cana and you and the family would return without hesitate.

Thank you very much for this comment and for highlight our nice staff at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda!!!!

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,720
    837
    339
    103
    59
See reviews for
1,493
1,709
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jordan Station, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the Esmeralda now 5 times and this time we brought two other couples with us. The food, rooms and service was all 5 stars ! Go there chance to speak to the GM this time, he and his staff certainly pay attention to details ! A big thanks to
1. Victor – “butler service” was exceptional in his attention to detail. We were quite impressed that he had committed our room numbers by memory, not sure how many rooms he is responsible for but Victor was excellent.
2. Moises and Josefina both of these servers deserve special mention as they were also exceptional in attitude( friendly and positive ) and truly made our stay that much better. All staff at the Esmeralda were always pleasant and accommodating.
3. Our arrival and departure process was easy and quick.
4. The resort grounds, pool and our rooms were impeccable.
5. The buffet food was, as always fresh, regularly filled, and tasted great.
6. A la carte restaurants were awesome
7. The beach area , which is where we spent most of our time was also clean and well maintained.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Willi,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your loyalty. It is thanks to repeat guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.
The staff you mentioned will be happy to learn that you recognized his top notch service.

We are already waiting for you in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda for 6th time.

Best regards from our All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The friendliness, cleanliness, service was fantastic. The food was great ,buffets, restaurants, seafood lovers paradise. We traveled with a family of six, the children thought this resort was the best ever. We were always comfortable felt at home the minute we arrived at the hotel. Michael cleaned our room everyday took time to do the little extras making swans for the children, special touch with flowers. Manager Richard Morales always made himself available if there was anything they could do to make your visit more enjoyable, your wish was their command. Beautiful people, great food. I would recommend this resort and go back in a heart beat. Don't hesitate, I cannot say enough good about this hotel. The grounds are georgeous everything is impeccable . We enjoyed the intimacy of the hotel, no hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: We had the suites overlooking pool on the third floor they were lovely quiet,we never heard noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Dianne,

We are delighted to know that the personal attention from the staff and management made your trip more memorable and enjoyable. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Thank you very much for your comments, we are proud because you left more than happy from this property!!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a dream in the Caribbean.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We knew nothing of Bahia Principe other than what we had read on the internet, which was favourable. We were very pleased with everything and would return. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, excellent selection of food, lovely beach and pools....

Room Tip: Our room was on the end, ground level, which was handy, but there were speed bumps on the paths outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for all of us that through the internet you were able to choose our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. For all of us it is a pleasure to know that you would return and you were pleased with everything here.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It was a very nice choice everything is perfect, highly recommended
The pool bar is under staffed, need to wait for a long time to get your drink
very friendly staff, the hotel was nicely decorated and very clean

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Nemir,

Thank you for your feedback and for recommending us as an excellent Resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future to make everything perfect once again.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I recently returned from the Esmeralda and enjoyed getting away from the snow and cold. The location was great and the facility was very nice. The service by the maids, wait & bar staff was also very good. The front desk and Guest assistance team were poor at best. Whenever I approached them with any questions all I got was a deer in headlights look. Their English was not the best and they only had a stock answers that had nothing to do with my request. I wasn't able to find out much about the resort unless I was willing to sit down with their sales people who amazingly spoke very good English. When I showed up for activities listed on the paper in our room there was never anyone there to organize anything. I spoke to several families with children that were upset because the promised activities for their kids were non existent. One of the reasons I picked this resort was because of all of the a la carte restaurants. The food at these restaurants was mediocre at best. Other than Don Pablo, the soups, appetizers and dessert were from a buffet. I have had better entrees at fast food joints. The only restaurant that was halfway decent was the Mediterranean restaurant. Don Pablo was fancy but the food was just so-so. The wait staff took forever between meals which would have been okay if they had cleared the dirty dishes but they walked by empty handed many times and did not pick up the empty plates. I live in downtown Chicago and I admit that I am spoiled by the many good restaurants in town but the ones at this resort were not as good as Red Lobster or Dennys. I usually go on trips in Europe, Asia, Africa or South America and on some cruises and thought that this would be a nice change of pace but the lack of activities and poor food make me appreciate the cruise industry much more. If someone asked me for advice I would tell them to take a cruise instead or visit the south of France or the Spanish Costa Del Sol where the weather is nice but not as hot and the food is far superb to anything served here.

Room Tip: It wouldn't help. I asked for several different options and they didn't meet any of my requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for take the time to post this review. In the name of the staff I would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for some troubles with the staff you have experienced.

Also, we feel so sorry to hear that our food and services has not reached your expectations.

We regret not being able to fulfill your expectations and if you felt you did not received the service you deserve.

Best wishes,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The room was good . Best food your going to have in PC. The staff was 50/50 better at the beach bar in the punta cana area but there was NO beach bar in the ESMERALDA area so if you enjoyed the beach which in most cases thats why you go to the DR. If you stayed by the pool the service was 1000 % . Incase your a red wine drinker this is your resort

Room Tip: We did not have a view of the OCEAN but our kids had a room in the punta cana area which was just 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda thanks to our good rooms, the best food and the great service by our staff.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resort as holiday destination.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 (at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana) Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club (11 - 16 years) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.