We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 10th Stay at the Luxury Gran Bahia Esmeralda Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our 10th Stay at the Luxury Gran Bahia Esmeralda Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We last visited your hotel in March 2013 and have decided to return once again to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary from Nov 14 to 21st, 2013. My husband and I have always enjoyed the excellent service, friendliness of your staff and overall experience at your Gran Bahia Hotel properties in Punta Cana. We have invited many of our friends to your hotel over the years and we all just love it.

This hotel has everything to offer. clean, bright rooms nicely decorated. The a-la-carte restaurants are superb - our favourite being the Don Pablo Restaurant in Ambar - be sure to try the Chateaubriand for two. The variety and quality of food and service is very appealing.

Special thanks to Sondra Rodriqguez, our favourite server at the lobby bar in Esmeralda. After 10 years, SonDra continues to recognize us and her warmth, happiness and excellent service is always appreciated. She has become a good friend and we look forward to seeing her onnce again in November.

If you are looking for a great holiday..at a great price with excellent service and friendliness, be sure to book at this hotel and try it for yourselves.

Madeline & Walter
Toronto, Ontario

Room Tip: Send an email before you arrive to pre-book for dinner reservations and hotel room preferences. Depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Madeline & Walter

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to read that you keep us loyalty. We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is wonderful to know that everything is as expected.

We feel proud to hear that you are returning to our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection once again to celebrate your 40th wedding anniversary.

Please don´t hesitate to contact us prior arrival, we will be pleased to assist you.


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,077 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,104
    615
    240
    78
    40
See reviews for
1126
1313
35
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am always a bit concerned about returning to a place where you really had a great vacation. How pleased was i that we did. After realising we had been before an upgrade had been applied to the booking which really added a new dimension to the location in choice of food and dining options.
The friendliness of the Dom Rep continues to grow across all aspects and the facilities and services offered at these type of holidays now exceeds value anywhere in the caribean. Having been all over this is the best value for money £ for £. These beaches are simply the best beating Barbados, Antigua, or Mexico. Go between xmas and april to avoid the humidity.

Room Tip: all year round great weather but humidity high off season between Aug and xmas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time during your last stay with us. As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Looking forward to seeing you soon


Claudia Adames
Bahia Prinicpe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013. The property is very big, but they make it easy to get around with their trolley system. Also, the grounds are beautiful and very-well maintained. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the daily stocking of the mini-bar is a very nice touch. Food was pretty good, especially if you try the different specialty restaurants throughout the property, which I would recommend, as the buffet was nice, but gets old after the 2nd day. Overall, would highly recommend if you're looking for a nice, relaxing vacation. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our well maintained rooms, pool, beach and other property.

Please feel free to contact us for a future stay in order to prepare all the details before arrival, and make your next visit the most unforgettable experience in the Caribbean.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana

Warm greetings,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

we just came back from the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda in Punta Cana, everything was perfect, even if their was construction going on, it was hidden so well we did not even noticed. the beach, the service, the food, the rooms, it was just perfect. we are not very interested in animation or activity, this hotel is more for people who want to relax in luxury not realy for party so i would recommand it for people from 40 + years even if they so accomodate families very well.

Room Tip: the complex is on the beach so every room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Custumer,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts for your first visit to Dominican Republic. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed a perfect vacation.
Thank you for your nice comments and for highlighting our beach, the service, the food, the rooms and recognize that Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda is an excellent relaxing place

All-inclusive luxury hotels on Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in room 92113.
After spending two amazing weeks at the Bahia Principe Esmeralda, it goes without saying that we was not disappointed in our stay.
The staff could not do enough for you, they were very friendly and welcoming, especially bellboy George :)
The food was outstanding, especially in the a la Carte's.
Rooms were very spacious and well maintained, the lavender pillows and chocolates were a nice little added touch as well as the decorative towels.
As for the beach it without a doubt had the WOW factor, and on the plus side the staff always made sure a drink was in hand!
Id just like to also mention how curtious, polite and helpful Darius the butler was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers.

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed an absolutely wonderful stay with exceptional and outstanding treatment from our employees.

Looking forward to seeing you again at our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana!!!


Best Regards,

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau QC
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda in April 2013 with my husband, my daugter and her boyfriend; the place was clean, beautiful. People who work at the resort were friendly and very, very nice and incommoding. The employees at the Buffet Los Geranios are sooo nice and friendly like Francesco and his brother. I loved every minutes of it especially at the pool with Leondra and her partner they were the best, also Marcos where we could get our towels and plan a trip. The beach was fantastic! We loved it so much, we are going back next year.

Suzanne Miville Alias Mama & Papa

From Canada Gatineau Quebec

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Suzanne,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection for your visit to the Dominican Republic. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation.

Thank you for your nice comments and for highlighting our fantastic beach, our spotless premises and the friendliness of our staff.

We look forward to having you again with us for your next Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regards from Punta Cana,

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the Esmeralda from the 2nd September - 16 September as part of our honeymoon.

We stayed in block 92 and although the view wasn't great, it didn't matter to us. We pre-booked all our a la carte retaurants for the 1st week before we travelled, which I would advise everyone to do. When we went to pre-book the restaurants for the 2nd week some of them were closed, but there was still plenty of choice with the buffets etc. When you stay in the Esmeralda you get access to all the a la carte restaurants and I can honestly say that all the food was excellent. Our favourite was the Garden Grill, we went here 3 times during our 2 week stay.

The staff were exceptional and I can say they made our honeymoon, they are all so friendly and the level of service was brilliant. The maids cleaned the room every day and gave us fresh towels and sheets. Please remember to tip the staff, even $1 here and there, I think this really makes a difference.

I would recommend the Bavaro Splash for an excursion, the Snuba Diving was the experience of a lifetime and getting your own speedboat for 45 minutes was incredible.

The only thing that let us down was the service we received from Thomas Cook on the flight to the Dominican Republic and also information we received from the rep at the resort.

I would most certainly return to the Esmeralda, but I would try to avoid travelling with Thomas Cook again. The Esmeralda was like paradise and it was certainly the best holiday we have been on.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in Block 90 which is closest to the Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ollie,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our excellent gastronomic offer and the exceptional service from our friendly staff.

You can rest assured that it has been an honor to cater you for your honeymoon in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Certainly, we will be more than happy to have you once again with us so that we can continue providing the most memorable experiences for you and your wife.


Best Regards,


Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.