We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon - Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Honeymoon - Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Me & my husband stayed here 30 July - 13 Aug for our honeymoon. We had spent a vast amount of time looking for our perfect place. This was it!!

Arrival- Thomas cook dropped us at the Punta Cana where a bus was already waiting. We were driven over to the Esmeralda. First impressions: WOW

Check in- group check in we received no problems, we had sent reservations for our room and we were honoured this request. Bell boys efficient with taking our luggage to our room.

Room- Block 90 room 90111! Amazing room with views to the beach & the pool. Perfect! Bed was big and comfy for us both! The room had been decorated with balloons and a honeymoon banner. We received fruit, rum and tshirts too :-)

Cleanliness - Hotel was spotless. The maids work hard as do the gardeners etc. our room was cleaned late on occasions but hey this is a slow paced life just go with it.

Food- the most important ;-) we had sent our a la carte requests 2 weeks before and they were all hounoured. Our favourite was Don Pablo the best beef ever and the chocolate pudding was to die for. The worst was Bella Italia we waited 45 mins for a coke and found the service not to our satisfaction. We ate at the Jazmin several times with all the themed nights. Waiters are good and friendly.

Beach- stunning. Beautiful and so soft. We've never been to the Caribbean so was very mesmerised by the soft sand and blue waters. We found getting to the beach around 10am finding seats was difficult.

Pool- we loved all the pools especially the jacuzzi. It was relaxing there for us. We found the towel game happening so again around 7-8 people laying the towels down. Of course we did this too just so we could get shade.

Entertainment- we attended the MJ show and the circus we really enjoyed both. Not much entertainment happening but we was here to relax.

Excursions- we booked with Thomas cook, Helen our rep was FAB! We did a 20 min helicopter ride. This totally was amazing and seen the beautiful island from above is undescribable. We also did sharks & sting rays and the Caribbean festival. Both we thoroughly enjoyed them. Excursions are expensive but we knew this before we went.

Overall we loved our two week honeymoon. Staff were all friendly and language was never a problem :-) we would definitely recommend this hotel to others And we hope to return to the Caribbean :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Natalie,

It is brilliant to know that you loved your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Please feel free to contact us for a future stay in order to prepare all the details before arrival, and make your next visit the most unforgettable experience in the Caribbean.

Your honeymoon in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,103
    613
    240
    78
    41
See reviews for
1124
1312
35
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

1-The check-in staff was polite. 2-The resort felt safe. 3-The resort was very clean. 4-The room was clean. 5-The furniture was in good condition. 6-The bed was comfortable. 7-The temperature was not appropriate, in the middle of the night, they turned down the air conditioner, it was very hot. 8-The restaurant very was clean. 9-Not much menu variety. 10-The quality of the beverage wasn't good (pina colada). 11-The quality of the service wasn't good especially at the buffet restaurant next to the reception(watch out for dirty glasses, spoon, dishes, more) and the adult jacuzzis( they never show up to take the drinks order). 12.-The transportation at night is very slow. 13.-They never had reservation for the good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Client,

We really appreciate your valuable information. Feedback from our clients gives us the opportunity to evaluate our performance and help us improve our services.

It would be a pleasure if you can give us the opportunity to welcoming you back in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I, 2 adults and children ages 9 and 7 stayed at the Bahia Principe Esmeralda for 7 days in June. I am writing this review as I rely on tripadvisor before I book a trip and want to extend my experience. This resort was rated number #6 in Punta Cana when i booked and this influenced my decision.
I read nothing about anyone complaining about peanuts......as a parent of a child who had this allergy this resort is a nightmare. Both pool bars in the Esmeralda section offer peanuts to their guests. It totally stressed me out....people were even eating them in the pool out of little plastic cups. I am writing this review to warm other parents who are travelling with children who suffer from a peanut allergy......stay away from this resort. Overall, it was just average in service, nobody went out of their way. There were no fresh beach towels for 2 days...had to use the same. Service was very inconsistent. If you haven't booked any restaurants there is no way you will get a table while you are there, we were stuck eating at the buffet for the 7 days. There was a lot of choice at the buffet restaurants but everything was overcooked. I mean everything...even the poached eggs were hard as rocks. All the meat dishes were dry.....we only really enjoyed the mangoes!! The entertainment was boring and not much for children . We still had a great time and we enjoyed the beach and family time. But i would never go back to this resort because there was no WOW effect when we left. Hope this helps others make their travel plans.

Room Tip: I was happy with Building 95 as it was next to the new buffet and we ate all our meals there. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is important to remark that if one of our guests has food allergy, once in the hotel they can pass by Guest Service where we will take note of the special diet to notify all the corresponding departments. Also, we will provide a note to present in every restaurant and we will write the observation in the ticket of their restaurant reservations.

We regret any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may had experienced.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blainville, qc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I would like to share with you that the bell boy Nelson is an expert in hospitality. He was approachable and always smiled and gave great eye contact.

I was there for one week and every time I saw him he was being pleasant with all the of the guests.

He has a very physical job. Not only dealing with nervous travellers, but also with the heavy cargo and the heat as well.

I look forward to seeing Nelson again.

Thank you
Martin Lefevbre and Jocelyne Pereira

Room Tip: higher floors have less ac unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Joyce,

It will be a pleasure to forward your wonderful review to Nelson. He will be glad to hear that his hospitality and hreat work is being appreciated by our customers.

Thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Receive a cordial greeting,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, had my very own butler called victor made the holiday a whole lot better! The food was gorgeous, and overall was the best 2 weeks, and would recommend it too everyone!! The rooms are great, very clean! Even got flavoured pillow which victor nicely got for me! I love it here, and me and family even came last year and just had to come back!! Really really good for any age and any group!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

For all our hardworking personnel it is brilliant to hear that you enjoyed the most amazing holiday ever thanks to their excellent service. They will be delighted and motivated with your positive comments, especially Victor who created you an unforgettable experience.

Thank you for recommending family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the esmeralda for two weeks in July overall it was an excellent trip! We found the hotel to be clean and very comfortable.

The choice of 2 buffets was good although found the newer one with outside seating much nicer in the morning!

We ate at most of the a la cartes as we ate out 12 of the 14 nights as a couple we enjoyed this. Although we stayed at the esmerelda we found that we enjoyed sitting at the amber lobby in the evening this had a lovely atmosphere and we found the service to be much better also. Our best al la carte would be don Pablo and the worst maybe the BBQ grill as it was just buffet food. However food was of a good standard everywhere.

Shops on site were very expensive so bring plenty of sunscreen with you.

Pools were great:) three to choose from. Although jacuzzi pool is recommended as adults only this was ignored-this disappointed me as I was not travelling with children and there were designated children's areas. Two bigger pools have swim up bars.

There are non motorised water sports available but usually long waiting time.

If you walk up the beach on your right after many hotels are shops - if you are going to buy then the hassle is ok but if you wish to browse forget it. Barter with these people they want to charge ridiculous prices I mean reduce it to nothing then settle on what you think it is worth!

Book all a la cartes before you arrive most of my requests were honoured. I got loads of tips also from the tripAdvisor forums which I would also recommend:)

Ok the service was not 100% but for what we paid I feel we made the best of it!! These people that work at the resorts are paid very very little this must be the only way that we get the luxury we do when on these types of holidays so do bear that in mind!

All in all great trip do not hesitate to book;)

Room Tip: Don't worry about request ions particular blocks to stay they are all excellent for the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Maggie,

We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent trip in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. On behalf our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us and for sharing your experience which is very important to value our daily development.

We do hope you consider visiting us in the near future.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Facility is the largest resort of this type I have ever seen.The food was excellent, and incredible amount of healthy choices. I don't drink, but the people I was with did complain about the cocktails. Hoverer beer wine and straight drinks were all top shelve. One of my traveling partners was getting Black Label scotch the whole trip.
My Butler Victor was Awesome, all the people at the Jasmine Buffet were great, Here are some recomendations.
The Don Pablo restaurant was a highlight and a must.
The Circus is another must.
Reserve sailboats, kayaks daily

Most importantly bring enough $1 bills to tip 10 to 15 dollars a day this will make your trip amazing, these people are not paid much and a few dollars will make their day and they will remember you.

All the best and the Bavaro Runners Dune Buggy adventure is well worth the trip off the resort.

Peace

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good stuff such as excellent food, great service from our employees, and entertainment.

We hope to host you one more time in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.