We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've been to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent standards throughout the hotel. Though I would recomend that you spend a little more and go to the Esmeralda section of the complex.
The food is excellent in the buffet sections, and even better in the resaurants. Recomend the Takara and Bella Italia especially. Though you do have to book early to get in.
Make sure you take a good mosquito repellant as the stuff in the hotel shops is not very good. Also take enough sun tan lotion as it is expensive in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and for acknowledging our fantastic gastronomy.

We hope to welcome you soon and be able to provide you once again a great vacation!!

Regards from the Dominican Republic!

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,725
    840
    341
    103
    59
See reviews for
1,496
1,716
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Some of our experiences and observations from out stay at the Esmeralda.
The bus ride to the Gran Bahia was comfortable and uneventful. Drop off and shuttle to the Esmeralda was quick and made very easy by the staff. If your shuttle has you sitting sideways then please hold on as it was a very bumpy ride! We had to wait a few hours to check-in as our room was not ready but we were given our bracelets and went for lunch and explored the resort.
I have to say that our room was large and immaculately clean, lacking the musty smell that we had come to associate with the Caribbean on previous trips to other resorts. We had a comfy king sized bed, enough cupboard and drawer space for two. The bathroom was large with walk-in shower, bath, two sinks and separate room with toilet. Bath amenities were replenished as needed.
Our fridge was stocked daily – mostly with water as we are not huge alcohol drinkers and oddly enough a bag of potato chips per day! We also ordered room service for breakfast on two occasions – service was quick and friendly. Make certain you bring lots of U.S. $1’s for tipping – we spent: maid service ($2-3 per day), room fridge ($1 per day), servers at the restaurants, bartenders, baggage handlers and the list goes on. I don’t think tipping got us better service but I certainly do not begrudge the money.
Making a la carte reservations thru the concierge was a breeze and we had no trouble getting the restaurants we wanted. Food on the whole was fine. The grounds are beautifully kept and shuttles to the other hotels are frequent.
The pools were clean and the beach was beautiful. However, and this is really my only serious criticism of the resort – every day almost all of the chairs at the beach and at the pools had been “saved” and a large number of those continued to be empty throughout the day. What I did discover was that people were not only saving chairs in the shade they were saving chairs in the sun as well so they could move back and forth, but it didn’t end there – they were also saving chairs at the beach and at the pool at the same time. Consequently, two people could theoretically be saving eight chairs. Considering that the resort was packed to begin with it seems rather counterproductive to relaxation if one has to fight for chairs or get up at some ungodly hour to get a chair.
I had a mani/pedi at the spa and would not recommend it. The mani/pedi was supposed to have taken 2 hours and stretched into a 3 hour ordeal with bleeding cuticles, nail polish on my skin on both hands and feet, and polish on towels. Nails had to be redone and then redone again, the manicurist had more nail polish on her fingers than I ended up with on my nails – it would have been amusing if I hadn’t been so anxious to get out of there.
If one doesn’t speak Spanish there is a definite language barrier. However, to me it adds to the charm of a vacation where the staff do not speak English but are eager to try to meet your needs, therefore communication through hand gestures or charades comes to mind!
Hope this gives you some idea of our experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Annie,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. We apologize for the situation you experience on the spa.

We appreciate that you have highlighted our comfortable bus ride, beautiful grounds, clean pools and beautiful beach.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection and be able to enjoy all our facilities and services.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great, including the staff. Well maintained and clean. The food was good, similar to a cruise. Make sue you take some cash and tip your bartenders. This will promise you great friendly service. I would highly recommend this resort.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all, we would like to thank you for recommending our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that your stay was absolutely wonderful.

We hope to see you once again in Punta Cana!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After reading another review about the fantastic service before arrival I decided to do the same. We are a party of 9 (2 families, 6 adults and children aged 5,7 & 13) travelling on June 24th and because it is such a special holiday as it is our friends 25th wedding anniversary and likely to be the last holiday all together as our friends children are getting older we wanted to make it as special as we can. After reading previous reviews I have emailed the hotel a couple of times to make dinner reservations and room requests and I have been amazed by the speed of response and how accommodating they are. I am sure that we are in for a very special 2 weeks and cannot wait. As previous reviews have been so helpful to me I will write again after. Nicki Smith

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Nicki,

Thank you very much for choosing our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection as your holiday destination. It is an honor for us to assist you.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you and make your stay an unforgettable experience in Punta Cana. If you have need any further assistance don´t hesitate to contact us.

Thank you in advance for taking your valuable time to contacting us.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at this resort (the Esmeralda) in late May with my wife and two kids. Under 10 years of age. Overall the resort gets an average from us because it is ok. Nothing fantastic, nothing hugely bad. Although I am comparing the resort to other 5 star and above resorts we have stayed at previously. The resort property itself, rooms, pool, beach, grounds are very nice. The restaurants are good, but not great. The French and Italian restaurants are best. Breakfast buffet is good. You get hassled when trying to make dinner reservations about lack of availability, but then when you get to the restaurant there is only 6 or 8 tables taken. Weird! The main reason this resort is average, is probably the most important element of an all-inclusive resort and that is the customer service offered by the staff. Some of them are great, others were horrible. Reception staff interactions we had were quite awful. The bellhops could not speak english. I understand it's a spanish speaking country, but come on, the bellhop could not understand me when I was asking to reserve a taxi to the airport. I had to mime it for him, still could not comprehend! We had 40 people in our group with consistent feedback about the resort. Average.

Room Tip: Review the hotel map when you get there, it is helpful as the place is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments regarding your experience during your last stay with us.

Concerning your comments about our customer service, please allow us to inform you that this is quite surprising to us, since our staff is certainly committed to offering the warmest welcoming to each and every one of our guests, as well as to providing the best of services. We apologize for the impression you could perceive from our personnel.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to cater you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The best beach I have ever seen!
Nice food, very convinient location.

If you decide to go to Gran Bahia principe take only Esmeralda or Ambar. Bavaro and Punta Cana are not so nice.

The ball for the beach volley was not ok and wasn't replaced even upon my call to Guest service!!!

Would not agree to the comments, saying that the vine was not ok: really enjoined red and white vines offered in Jasmin restaurant.

And take Rum Imrerial in the bar - the best Rum I have ever tested! (BTW, Imperial is free of charge for Esmeralda and ambar guests only)

There was a very strange situation with towels: although it was always quite difficult to catch the moment when they can be easily replaced at the big pool, there were a lot of them at the small one with jackuzi, hidden behind the counter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Alexey,

It is a pleasure to read that you were delighted with our beautiful beach, our wine selection and great rom. We are happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectation during your 10 days stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel, resort. Friendly staff. Great food. It was our 25th anniversay and wanted to go to the best resort. Did alot or researching on the net and narrowed it down to the Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda. It was the best deicision we could have made. Everything was above and beyond what we expected. The staff is very friendly. Always trying their best to make your stay great.The hotel is very clean. There are ppl cleaning all the time. The pool is beautiful. the beach is wonderul. The food was really good. The entertainment was simply amazing. Nothing bad to say at all about this resort.
The staff knew it was our 25th wedding anniversay, so ever evening when we returned to the room to change, there was always surprises there for us. One time, balloons was decored in room and door. Other time a fruit basket, other time a gift bag , another time canldes and champagne and a bathe prepared for us. It was the most amazing time EVER!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suite. Higher floor have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Charmaine,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that everything was above and beyond during your 25th anniversary in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience.

Thank you for sharing your photos with others on TripAdvisor.

All-inclusive luxury hotels on Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Looking forward to seeing you once again!

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 (at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana) Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club (11 - 16 years) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.