We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first time at this resort, it was very clean. Food was ok, had better but ok.
The beach was fantastic, Beautiful turquoise coloured water, white sand , no rocks , waves to get full feeling of swimming in ocean. You can also enjoy long walks on the beach, you can walk for ever.
The resort was very clean including the rooms. Service overall was great.
It was easy to get around the big property , the trolly trains were great.
I was also very happy to have Yuleida as my butler, she took great care of us , made our restaurant reservations, got change , extra beverages and ice for our room.
I had mentioned to Yuleida on our arrival Sunday that Tuesday was our 25th anniversary and we left it at that,, She took it upon herself to make sure we had a cake at supper and what a surprise when we returned to our room after spending the day at the beach/pool. She decorated our room door, we had a bubble bath prepared with flower petals everywhere and a chilled bottle of champagne, she made our special day that more special. Thanks Yuleida.
The only thing I would suggest, have a piano player or singer at the Esmeralda lobby bar, it's a great place to relax and have a dring , just need more life, nothing to rowdy, you can go to main lobby for that

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Yuleida, your butler, who organized you a special day to celebrate your 25th anniversary, will be delighted with your acknowledgment. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a great week with us. Your suggestions have been share with the General Manager to analyze the points you mentioned.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,086 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,111
    617
    240
    78
    40
See reviews for
1133
1313
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklin, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As the trip planner for the family, I did a lot of research before booking. I also spent a lot of time on the TA Punta Cana forum asking questions and seeking advise.

We are a family of 4, with two children (ages 8 and 10). We arrived on March 4th around 9PM, and knew that we would be dropped off at the main lobby of GBP. Unfortunately there was still a lot of confusion in terms of how to get transportation over to the Esmeralda (there were about 15 of us waiting). We finally secured a tram, and along with our luggage headed over to the Esmeralda. Sadly we were not dropped off at the lobby; instead we were dropped off at the main Esmeralda tram stop (near building #93). As none of us had been there before, and it was late at night, we had no idea where the lobby was or what direction to go in. Within 5 minutes we found the lobby though, but instead of being greeted warmly and with a drink, we stood in line and were then ushered into the lobby bar. Two staff members told us to be seated (along with other guests) and were told our luggage would be brought in shortly and they would return shortly to check us in. A few minutes later we were finally given a welcome drink and the staff started to hand out welcome packages. Clearly they expected our arrival, but it was handled very poorly. We were not shown to our room, and no further details were given to us.

Our room was in building #90 as requested, and we were assigned a room on the 1st floor. As it was almost 10PM by this time, we quickly found our way to the Jazmin buffet to have a late snack. By then we were all tired and grumpy, but getting some food and drinks helped.

The room itself was adequate. We had a room with two beds and our balcony faced the main pool (another request which was honoured). The air conditioning worked very well, and never once had an issue keeping the room cool. The odd day we had a very mild musty smell, but we experienced this the last time in the D.R. as well and just attributed it to the humidity. The toilet area is rather small and can feel claustrophobic. The shower stall was nice and roomy and has a great rainshower / hose combination. Unfortunately there was mold in the shower and walls above the shower, and the light socket above and in the shower stall was rusty and falling down.

Maid service was a major letdown, especially since everyone TA seems to praise their service here. Some days the maid would come early, most days around 2PM/3PM. Turndown service was also hit or miss, but wasn’t a big issue for us. On the 2nd or 3rd day, I noticed a dirty nasal-strip on the floor beside one bed. It remained there the entire length of our stay! The only time we ever got towel art was on our last full day, again not a major issue but our kids really look forward to this. We also had ants in our sink a few days, maybe they like toothpaste?

We ate at 3 a la cartes (Garden Grill, Santa Fe and Bella Italia) although we reserved 6 different ones. We found the a la carte system a little odd. Appetizers and desserts were self-serve buffet style, and your main dish was ordered off a menu. The children’s menu was the same at each restaurant and had 5 different options. The buffet worked well for us overall, it was quick and painless (especially since my husband didn’t want to wear long pants on our vacation). The food was good, but not great. My biggest complaint was that it was rarely hot (temperature wise). We also had a few occasions where beef and fish were served almost raw, and then other occasions where the meat was extremely tough. Since we have been to the D.R. before we knew not to expect anything extraordinaire, but we were slightly letdown by the food. Overall presentation of the food was good though. We discovered the new buffet restaurant (Los Geranios) on our second last day. It’s beautiful and slightly smaller than the other one. Identical menu items, but overall quieter and newer.

Service in general was also hit or miss. Staff didn’t seem very happy or overly eager to please, regardless of the tips given or friendliness extended. We experienced this on our last D.R. trip too, so again I don’t think this necessarily has anything to do with the Esmeralda per say. Communication can be a challenge, but we always managed to make due. Remember this isn’t an English speaking country, so as visitors we respected this. We were never bothered by the timeshare people aside from them leaving a message on our phone once and black envelope in our room that contained some information. What was annoying was all the vendors trying to sell you things by the pool – dolphin trips, parasailing, t-shirts, professional photography sessions, tours and additional watersports. We did opt for a family photo session and the photos turned out great, we were very happy that we decided to do this and highly recommend it.

The grounds and charming architecture of the Esmeralda are stunning. The gardens and foliage simply beautiful. The pools were very clean and well maintained with one caveat; the adults only section pool / mini-pool constantly looked murky / cloudy.

Reserving chairs is an issue, but then again this is an issue at most resorts. Prime spots were reserved early, but you could always find a spot as late as 9AM (sometimes a little later). Yes the beach can get crowded, but we didn’t spend a lot of time here – we prefer a spot by the pool. The ocean (on calmer days) is lovely and crystal clean, with soft sand below you. Seagrass and seaweed was very minimal.

As this is getting to be a novel of sorts I will say that although we would recommend the resort to others, we probably won’t return ourselves.

Room Tip: As all the buildings are close to the amenities, I would choose one of the newer buildings - 94, 95...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, either in Mexico, Spain, Jamaica or Dominican Republic, and be able to change any negative perception.

Regards from Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Luxury Esmeralda GBP Hotel and it was far bettet than I expected. I visited many All-incl over the years and the Esmeralda has a certain quality that I found that is worth mentioning. Great Capuccino Bar in a relaxing environment (with soft music always playing). Access to all the others restaurants in the resort for Luxury visitors and not for the regular Gran Bahia principe clients (best being 1- Don Pablo 2- Santa Fe 3- Garden Grill) and a great onsite Buffet resto with outdoor seating at Esmeralda. Worth mentioning is that the Esmeralda Pool and Buffet and the room we stayed in (bldg 95) were minutes away and well located. Beach is only a few minutes further , so no hassle to get there. Place is well kept (almost too well), and the Lobby BAR stocks good varierty of brand liquours, not available at the regular Gran Bahia. WI-FI always available and Pool around Esmeralda has waiter service throughout the day, no need to get up from your chair.
Night time take the Trolley to the shows and hang-out at the square, it's all fun and really great if your young. The shows were not spectacular , but I have seen worse and they were somewhat entertaining , some nights better than others.
The downside of this resort is the abuse of Esmeralda clients that reserve their chairs around the Pool by placing their towels and never showing up until way later in the day. FInally the Beach is nice but around the Esmeralda section there were too many umbrella's and therefore too much shade and not enough of view of the SAND which is what we like to see and what they promote on their Brochures, but it was fully covered up by Palapa's and umbrellas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to find out that you find worth to mention our quality, which helped us go far better than you expected for an all-inclusive resort. Please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration.

Regards from Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were lovely and luxurious with hydro massage tub! Restaurants had delicious food! The beach was the white sandy beach that I love to walk on. The staff was very accommodating. We had two rooms. The house keepers did all the little extras to make it romantic fir my husband and me like placing rose petals to make a walkway from the door to the tub with the water drawn for a tub for two when we came in from the beach one day! The only thing missing in our room here that the Bahia in Cayo Levantado had was the bidet and loofah sponge!

This place was immaculate and maintained with excellence! 24 hour room service!

I would love to vacation here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Susan,

It is a pleasure to read that your stay became a wonderful family vacation. For our housekeeping team will be a compliment to know that with their little extras, they make it romantic for you and your husband.

We would love to cater you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, so you can enjoyed the beautiful white sandy beach and all of our services.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay; I would have likely given it a 5 out of 5 had the wedding / wedding facilities been more to our taste (like those at the GBP Tulum in Maya where we got hitched). They did a fairly porfessional job of running it, however, the location was not exactly private. If you are interested in putting on a show then you will be more than happy.
ROOMS: very clean, very nice with a large bathroom and all expected amenities. service was good - especially after a buck or two tip.
FOOD: great selection and very tasty buffets (if you stay at the Esmeralda, you have access to the other hotels on the property). The steakhouse was very good; Itallian was really nice - the staff were amazing and will make you want to come back. there is a brand new lunch buffet in the beach that has different food than the regular buffet and is well worth a try. on a side note a number of the 25 people we went with suffered a bout of sickness while there (there is a pharmacy on site with helpful staff) however the front desk claimed that the origin was traced back, through themselves and other hotels, to a certain flight which a few of those sick were on.
GROUNDS: typicall of GBP hotels and well kept. Pools virtually everywhere, all providing great service; some possesssing a far more peaceful environment than others.
BEACH: Fantastic beach with lots of shade and sun. Great sand and very calm "ocean" water. If you are looking for more excitement than the esmeralda beach can afford, just walk down to the beach in front of the Ambar section for your 18+ section activities. A little tip here and there keep the serving staff close. Those not affraid of long walks down the beach can go to the beach market.
GOLFERS!!!!! The best part about the DR is the golf. There is a course next door; it runs about 100 bucks and is worth the money, however lacking a little in the "ocean vista" department. If you want to golf, book through your tour rep to actually get a better deal than i could find on my own. Punta Espada (Nickalus design) is pretty amazing but a bit pricey at the "especiale deal" of 285 p/p. We found Corales to be just as nice, and a little less busy (no slouch at 7650yds from the tips, Tom Fazio design), at 180 p/p (both prices including transport, food, drinks, golf and rentals - great clubs for righties, not-so-much for lefties unless you like nike). Both are closer than Casa de Campo and are nicer and much newer with the ocean side golfing you go to the tropics for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for mentioning our clean rooms, great food selection, fantastic beach, and for considering that the best part about the Dominican Republic is the golf experience.

We hope to welcome you and provide you once again a very comfortable stay.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Esmeralda resort and loved it (February 20 - March 6th, 2013). The Reception Personnel were very efficient and very informative. A special thanks to David in Reception for his friendly and much appreciated assistance in tracking down our nephew staying at the Punta Cana resort. Our hotel room was situated in Building 91 on 2nd floor (very near main pool, lobby and beach areas). The room was huge and the housemaid cleaned and tidied it each day. The washroom was spacious with a very comfortable shower stall, bathtub and had two sinks. Our mini- fridge was stocked each day with hard and soft drinks and snacks. The grounds around this resort are well kept and beautiful to look at. The buffet and restaurants are well runned and Staff very courteous and efficient. A special thanks to Marilyn in the Jasmin Buffet for her kind assistance and her friendly and charming character. There are many à la carte restaurants and had no problem making reservations for them. Our favorites were the Japanese (Maiko) and the Asian (Takara). . The food served at all the restaurants was amazing...always a large variety and my husband just loved all the seafood. The alcohol and non-alcohol drinks were a-plenty...never any shortage at the Bars. A special thanks to Butler J.D.Jenny for the bottle of very cold champagne we found in our room...we enjoyed it immensely after a day spent at the beach. Also a special thanks to Daniel, the activity person, who livened our time spent on the pool and beach areas with the Horse Shoe, Bocci and Dart competitions. My husband even won two medals!!! We would return to the Bahia Principe Esmeralda hotel and resort again and will recommend it to our family and friends.

Italo & Maria

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Italo & Maria,

We appreciate your recognition from our personnel. David with his appreciated assistance in tracking down your nephew, Marilyn with her kind assistance and charming character, Jenny with her special bottle of champagne, and Daniel who livened our time spent on the pool and beach, will be proud of their effort in providing you a very comfortable vacation.

We would like to thank you for recommending us, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As the title says, this was a first for us and we have nothing to compare it too. That said, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Esmeralda. Staff were excellent as was our room. Very comfortable throughout our stay.
The buffets and the a la Carte restaurants were - for the most part - very good quality. Keep in mind we are very picky about food so that's really a compliment. Everything was very clean and well cared for at this resort.
The only disappointment were the excursions were the staff seemed to be on a mission to ensure we had enough to drink. We took the sailing/snorkelling trip which has heavy on the booze and the Bavaro VIP - see the local attractions which was too long and I wouldn't suggest it for anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resort as your first all-inclusive vacation. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed yourselves at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, and it is a great compliment to know that you considerate our gastronomic offer is good quality.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.