We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fabulous vacation at the Bahia Principe hotel chain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
montreal canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“another fabulous vacation at the Bahia Principe hotel chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent a week at the Bahia Principe Esmeralda in the Dominican Republic at the beginning of December!!! We have visited there before, but we wanted to go back because we KNOW it is a great place to stay, AND it was!!!!! On arrival, we were given drinks to cool down and ....first class service all the time, great food, and we were able to book as many a la carte restaurants as we wanted, part of the Esmeralda benefits - our favorite restaurant on the property is the Don Pablo at the Ambar hotel, best steak we have eaten in a long time, so good, we went there twice!!!.....gorgeous hotel, very clean, large rooms always kept neat and tidy, plenty of towels, many chaise lounges on the beach,even bar service......the ocean was turquoise and clean, and the sand felt good between our toes!!!!! The employees were always so polite and attentive, and made us feel very welcome....we always like to go to the Bahia Principe hotels because they give us excellent service, there are no horrible surprises, and everything is as advertised....In Punta Cana, there are 4 hotels on the Bahia Principe property, so there is never a lack of food, entertainment and activities, but, at the same time, we never feel that there are actually 1000's of people staying there...the gardens are immaculately kept, and there is always transportation on site to get you around the vast property.We visited the small casino, and the market place, but spent most of our time on the beach..We thoroughly recommend this hotel, and all the other B.P.s we have visited.Thank you

Room Tip: We always take american $1.00 bills to tip the bar employees, and the maids, and they are very grate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination one of our Bahia Principe Clubs & Resorts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again, and continue demonstrating the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Regards from Bavaro!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,331
    675
    260
    83
    49
See reviews for
1,268
1,428
37
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just arrived back this morning from The Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. My husband, daughter and I travelled with Air Canada Vacations on Air Canada direct from Ottawa. There were delays both ways, due to weather, but Air Canada provded us with excellent service.

We wanted to thank a number of people who made our trip so special at this resort. Fior, at the reception desk was gracious and kind to us and went out of her way to make sure that our room request was honored. Jose, at the beach restaurant always showed us his best service and made sure that our glass was never empty and plates were taken away promptly. We attended the Christmas Eve Gala which had excellent food and service which we received from Wilson, our waiter.

We would also like to thank the bartenders: Rafael at the swim up bar and Franciso, our dancing bartender at the beach bar, for their attentiveness. Overall, what makes this resort different from the others are their front line employees and good vacation value.

Room Tip: Rooms in Buildings 90 or 91 facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is an honor to know that Fior, Jose, Wilson, Rafael and Francisco had provided our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Thanks for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 13 days in Dec. and attended a nieces wedding while there. We arrived at the Punta Cana lobby at approx. 4 P.M. We told the bell boy we were registered in the Esmeralda. Within minutes we were booked in and escorted to our room along with our luggage. The wedding a few days later was beautiful!!
We found the resort grounds to be absolutely beautiful and kept immaculately clean. The room was very nice and spacious, plenty of towels, nice large bathroom and I really liked the fact that there were 2 sinks! Shower was great. (No face cloths but I always bring my own.) As per our request we were in building 92 on the main floor. We tried to pick up the internet signal from the lobby in our room but were unable to. Walked a few steps to the lobby to use the internet connection and in the basement there was a room with 2 computers for use of the guests. These computers were quite a bit faster.
We found the food to be the best AI food that we have had. We ate in 9 of the a la cartes and found that the Don Pablo Gourmet was our favourite followed by the Japanese. The buffet was also very good, especially the seafood gala on Thursday evening. Most days we had lunch in the Esmeralda or Punta Cana snack bar. We also found that we were able to eat in the Punta Cana buffet. We ate there for lunch one day and also had an early morning breakfast there prior to a trip to Santo Dominico when the Esmeralda buffet was not yet open. Service was very good in all eating areas.
The pools were nice and very well maintained. All had a swim up bar. The beach was also very nice. We never had a problem getting loungers at the Esmeralda pool or beach no matter what time of day we went. However, we were a bit before high season. We also spent a couple of days at the main Punta Cana pool. Not difficult to find a lounger when we arrived prior to 10 AM.
We booked one session at the spa. We booked the monthly special which was an exfoliation and 60 minute massage. We enjoyed this very much.
We found the front desk and guest service personnel to be very efficient and friendly. We did not find that there was a language barrier at all as most staff we dealt with had adequate English (especially compared to our very inadequate Spanish!) We just laugh off the occasional glitch due to language.
We had no concern with the the time share sales people at all nor did we notice them bothering others. They only said hello a few times and we had the usual note in our room.
There were a couple of reasons that I did not rate this resort 5 stars.
In the evenings we usually like to the attend the show. The shows that we saw, with the exception of the circus show, were awful. I was really looking forward to the Michael Jackson show but....
On more than one occasion the ladies washroom in the Punta Cana resort was out of toilet paper. I realize that this is not part of the Esmeralda but most evenings we along with many others were in the main area.
Rules inconsistently followed. The only a la cartes where men are required to wear long pants are the gourmets. This is clearly indicated on the voucher as well as there is a sign on the door. In LeGourmet there were a few men in shorts. On the catamaran trip booked through the Esmeralda there were signs indicating no smoking - however, there were many smokers on this trip and this was not enforced. Cigarette butts were tossed into the ocean. It is not a big deal to me if men wear shorts or if people smoke but either enforce the rules that are in place or change them.
All in all we enjoyed this trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting our good food, well maintained pool, great Spa, and efficient employees.

Please be assured that your observations have been brought to the General Manager of our Resort in order to analyze each of your remarks.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda and continue providing the nicest experiences.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just got back from a week stay at the Esmeralda. While the hotel as many have stated is very nice I seem to agree with most of the reviews.
If you notice, those from Spain and other spanish speaking countries seem to have had a great time and those from the US complain about the language barrier.
The problem with the language barrier can be so bad that it can ruin your vacation. The problem (as I learned first hand) is that while many lower level employees may understand virtually little English, the most disappointing aspects is that the higher levels of mangament have a certain disdain for people who are not competant in Spanish.
I went to a restaurent during lunch and ordered something on the menu. After waiting 45 minutes for the dish, the waiter finally returned messing up 4 of the seven orders and not even bringing my order. The reason was that the waiter did not understand what i had ordered and just decided not to bring anything.
As this was the third language problem we had already (only our second day there) out of frustration I decided to complain to mangement. Unfortunately, I was told point bank that this is a Spanish speaking country and that I had a certain responsibilty to know a reasonable amount of Spanish in order to properly converse with the employees.
So the bottom line is that while this resort is very nice and the grounds are well kept, I will be going to resorts that "cater" to people who speak English and let the Spanish speaking toursts go to the Esmeralda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. Please allow us to inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge on many languages, such as English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Russian and so on; and our Human Resources Department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However, please be reminded that Spanish is our mother tongue and our knowledge and/or pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We’ve got an all-inclusive vacation in Bahia Principe Esmeralda Resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic for a week of Dec.1-8, 2012. It was our second trip to the same place. For the first trip we went there in November 5-12, 2011. For people who were there before and are considering going there again I would say that Esmeralda resort got twice as big: one more pool, pavilion, new villa, shack bar place on the beach have been added. A new Asian restaurant will be open in December. The construction is still going on but did not bother us much.
The lunch buffet choices were not as good as in the last year. Also I am not a vegetarian but this year non-meat dishes were less interesting. I also agree that it is a huge negative that there is a time (a day time!) when all restaurants are closed and you cannot get food. We were trapped twice in this situation when we got to the Resort after an exhausting flight and when we were going to leave for the airport (before an exhausting flight ). It made our check in and check-out slightly unhappy. During the week we were there, we saw people like as, who just got in looking for the place to eat, some of them with children. Bahia Principe Esmeralda must do something about it.
Also I like that Esmeralda is quiet. I like the convenience that with just a few steps in the right direction I could get all noise I desire, but this time in reality the Main pool had no entertainment either. That was a disappointment.

Expedia vs. Vacations to go: We’ve got a vacation tour in Bahia Principe Resort in Dominican Republic for the week of Dec.1-8, 2012 and we bought it through Expedia. It was our second trip to the same place. First time we went through “vacations to go” in November 2011. Prices were comparable, but services - not so much. First of all the confirmation phone call required with the transportation company had the name of the property wrong – they had “Ambar” instead of “Esmeralda”. We corrected it, but when we arrived – they still had it wrong. Once we landed and got to Expedia kiosk we were told “You must be tomorrow at Bahia Principe Bavarro Main Hall at 9 am to confirm your flight back. Your shuttle will be scheduled. Otherwise you will miss your flight!” I remember that last year all we had to do was a simple phone call from our room two days before the flight and received the time and place of the pickup. Why our physical presence was needed for a simple confirmation remains a mystery. We did not argue, last year it was vacationstogo, this year is Expedia. Different company – different rules. Got it. Next day my husband was there at 9am sharp, please keep in mind that “there” included a two-mile hike and spent 30 minutes looking for a representative, who, as it turned out, had a permanent office, slightly away from the main hall, a fact they neglected to mention when giving out instructions, and was told to come back again on Friday morning. On Friday morning we were told to call after 3pm and confirm our airport shuttle for the third time. Why was it so screwed up?? Why is it that “vacationstogo” a single phone call was enough and for expedia we had to personally contact them in triplicates?
I also want to mention that this year we had one suitcase between the two of us and certainly did not expect to be hit with the $25 baggage fee by US Airways. Twenty five bucks on an international flight for one lousy piece of luggage.. Yes, we should’ve learned the rules before flight, but honestly, it is an international flight and Delta did not charged us last year on the same trip for anything. Of course we paid $25 more on the way back for the same luggage. What really surprised me that during the flight US Airways served drink and no snacks not even a bag with a few pretzels or cookies or customary peanuts. Come on US Airways, don’t be so cheap or you will lose whatever few customers you have left! The plains did not have a TV in front of each seat and even the fight was not too long (about 4 hours), but comparing to Delta both way trip was much better and comfortable with movies and snacks then US Airway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing better service for our guests.

Concerning your observation about our non-meat dishes, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests.

Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been share with the General Manager of our Resort, and our Food & Beverage staff for their analysis in order to improve the points you mentioned.

Regarding your comments about our entertainment program, allow us state that, being Esmeralda an exclusive familiar hotel, is planned to have a relaxing atmosphere. By the same way, during the day you can attend to the main pool, where animation is continuing, and the night entertainment at Tropicana Theater and Pueblo Principe.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went in November 4th-11th 2012 for 7 nights with 6 other people. The villas are nice but some are far apart from each other so if you go with a group request to be in the same villa and preferably on the same floor. Also if you want to go back to your room and look at the resort next door and a bunch of trees then you don't need to request any view, but if you would like to look at the pool then request pool view. There is no ocean view. I requested pool view 3 months in advance and didn't get it. I went to the front desk and complained and got it 2 days later. The pool was not crowded and finding a lounger was very easy. The pool is clean and the bar area (swim up bar) was clean as well. The buffet (2 on the Esmeralda) property have decent food and a pretty good selection of food. We had access to Bahia Principe Punta Cana and Bavaro buffets and their el la carts. The food is good at the buffets but the one restaurant we ate at one night in the Bavaro resort was fantastic. It was called BBQ Chicken or something but it was great. We all enjoyed it. Be sure to make your reservations for dinner the day you arrive or the day you book your trip. They are booked solid and so hard to get into. All in all - it was wonderful. We also have stayed at Bahia principe Bavaro, and Bahia Principe Punta Cana. The only one out of the 4 in a row (kinda) we havent stayed at is Ambar, but I did look around and even used their pool - and its beautiful as well but its 18+ years. The Bavaro and Punta Cana are side by side and the resorts are huge!! A trolley (bus) comes every 5 minutes to a "bus" stop to take you to eat or to take you to the beach. You can walk it but after walking it a few times a day, you'll find its faster to just take the trolley. The Esmeralda is a very small resort so not as much walking needs to be done! Just remember when staying at the Esmeralda you have access to both the Punta Cana Resort and the Bavaro Resort. The pool near the ocean in the Punta Cana resort is the "happening pool" so if you want music, dancing, loud, contests (silly), then that is the pool for you!! If you want a quiet relaxing day, stay at the Esmeralda pool, the ocean or the other 2 pools in the Bavaro and Punta Cana resorts. As you can see, its one resort but kind of like 3 rolled into one. The Esmeralda is the Honeymoon resort ;) They all speak Spanish and some speak English. The alcohol is not premium, its the cheap stuff, so don't be disappointed because I just warned you haha. We would return. We had a great time and we travel a lot so my standards are a bit high and it passes.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy.

We think is important to remark that room’s petitions are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just arrived back from our 10 nights at he Esmeralda. I can't speak for other people's experience but my wife and I have a really good time. The resort itself was really nice. Our room was in building 90 (highly recommended if you want the beach close). The rooms were clean and the grounds were kept spotless. On arrival, we were surprised by the $10 USD per person entry fee. So have that ready! Watch out as you exit customs as there are a bunch of people trying to sell you tours and pretending to be someone they are not. If you were given instructions for transportation like we did, just go right past all the people and into the main hall

with all the service providers are located. Not the ones in the hall prior to. we were picked up by GO Caribe (Dominican Airport Transfers) Transfers. Probably one of the better economical, reliable and safest form of transport. They were very helpful and nice to deal with. We used the shared transfer. Its a little cheaper but there are drop offs for everyone on the van. A little longer if you have the time. Take this into consideration if you are taking the shared trip back to the airport. Upon arrival at the Main lobby (Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana), we immediately advised the concierge that we are staying at the Esmeralda (as per a previous TripAdvisor note). They quickly whisked us off and grab our bags and away we went on the shuttle to the main lobby of Esmeralda. We were quickly checked in, and within a few minutes we were off to our room (90015 -ground floor - Building 90). I honestly felt we had the best room! Location! Location!

Location! We were ground floor (no moving bags upstairs or climbing stairs), we were pool side and beach side within seconds! So convenient! I highly recommend this room or that building. So 10 nights. We literally tried all the recommended restaurants. Here is a Breakdown:

1. Bella Italia - Good! Recommended (Went twice)
2. Santa Fe - Not bad ! Recommended
3. Don Pablo - OK. Food ended up being over seasoned and salty. Service was ok.
4. Mikado - Don't even. Overcooked, uncomfortable, tasteless, confusing.
5. Le Gourmet - very Good! Recommended
6. Garden Grill - Very good! The steak was one of the most tender I have had! Cooked to perfection
7. El Pescador - Good! So much seafood here! can't complain (went twice)
8. El Olivio - Very good! Recommended
9. Jasmin Buffet (breakfast was good, lunch was ok)
10. Snack Arrife (Great lunch buffet!)

**** E-mail the hotel with restaurant reservations, Date and time about a week in advance. Any dates not booked, do it at the guest services desk when you settle down. They were very helpful ****

Over all the trip was good. However I wouldn't say it was perfect. There were times that I felt very challenged at the resort:

1. Language Barrier
- Most if not a majority of the people in higher / Customer service positions can speak English, But most of the other staff don't. So if you find yourself struggling to order something off the drink menu and the lady taking the order looking at you blank. Don't get pissed off, they likely have no clue what your talking about.

2. Service
- I had some really good people watching my every need and then I had the guy who's attention span was smaller than his brain, especially when the service is a choice between a guy ordering and a girl in a bikini ordering. Guess who got the order first. Good luck on getting service if the females dominate the swim up bar! There were some major inconsistency in service. Some times I felt that staff deliberately ignore you just so they don't have to work! I

found myself having to have to get my own eating utensil and water once. The young fella who I asked felt bad because he should have done it with out me going up to him asking for water! Another disappointment was at the Ambar bar. I stood there for the longest time wanting to order a drink and I was ignored by the bartender. Why? Well.... It seems that unless you have a dollar bill in your hand, you don't get service until its completely obvious there is no one left to service but you! That was disappointing. But very true. Watch for it! Last I checked, tips are given for service rendered! I know how it works! blah blah blah.... But really! Look at it from a true customer service perspective! Also maybe something to note for their Human resource Department. As much as i feel that some position's require socializing with guests. I found that some staff socialize to a point that they don't provide service. I myself catch myself checking my phone during work. But its because its work related. But I have found that service provided to me was also disappointing when staff was paying more attention to their cell phones than to a guest.

3. Room Cleaning
- Room was kept clean. However there was never consistency in our room service. Upon arrival things that were suppose to be in the room was not (Including face towels). One day its hand towels, the next day it re-stocking of the fridge, then its not even doing our room until we called the front counter (Which we had to do twice). I think we had to call the front desk a few times because we were constantly missing things. Beach towels were never replenished (ended up just getting it from pool side).

4. Food (Buffet style areas)
- Food was great! My only concern is that I have no idea what is in some of the dishes. Luckily I don't have allergies. But for those who have, I wish them luck. Because a typical dish will have such generic labels (some not even in the right spot where the trays are). So my recommendation is that they include what is in the dish and not just what the dish is. This way you will prevent a law suit from someone who may get an allergic reaction to a dish. This is where English would come in handy when most of them don't speak English or other languages to be able to answer "Does this dish have peanuts in them". Maybe even a symbol for Allergy alert or something to indicate that there is a potential for a common allergy food item.

Over all the trip was great! I had a good time and I would return depending on future reviews through trip adviser. I know everyone's tastes and tolerance level is different and maybe even biased on their reviews, but a review is still a review and I take everything into consideration when reviewing. My next visit to this resort will likely happen unless there has been a dramatic change in reviews.

Good luck!

Room Tip: 1. Reserve Restaurants 1 week in advance 2. Book Airport transportation 3. $10 USD entry fee upon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing better service for our guests.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We assured you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been share with the General Manager of our Resort to analyze the points you mentioned.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to change any negative perception you may have about us, and demonstrate you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.