We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Bahia Principe Esmeralda is a new and very clean resort. The beaches were beautiful and you can walking for miles. The staff are very friendly and would go out off their way to help you.
we had a wonderful time and would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as clean resort, beautiful beach, and friendly staff. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon and have the opportunity to continue providing the most wonderful vacations.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,210
    653
    253
    82
    47
See reviews for
1219
1357
36
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alexandria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staff was great resolved our issue right away when we got there, food was great, beach was beautiful just a short walk, we stayed in the resort the whole time, esmeralda is quite and more exclusive but you can wonder into the other sections of the resort and use their facilities, ambar is a bit more lively and no kids there. Make sure to stay in building 90 or 91 ... do not stay where the construction is because it is very loud deff stuff that gives a headache...the donpablo restaurant is amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel. It is pleasant to know that our staff solved your issue right away.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you once again and have the opportunity to continue providing the most relaxing vacations.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent a week at this resort in December 2012. The Gran Bahia chain did not disappoint. Service was excellent and our butler, Ramon Diaz was fantastic. The resort and grounds are spotless and at the end of each day, the pool areas and beach are all cleaned and ready for the for the next day. If I had to make a comment it would be about making dinner reservations. When trying to book the a la cartes for the week upon arrival, the hotel said we should have e-mailed in advance of our visit. Although they easily accomodated all of our requestes and everything was great, if they expect/suggest reservations prior to arrival, they should say so on the website. Overall, excellent trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to the excellent service from our employees. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Ramon, he will be delighted to learn your observations.

Regarding your comments about your dinner reservation´s experience, we would like to let you know that, due to internal policies and operational reasons, this are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request. Of course, if you prefer to send your requests prior your arrival, it will be an honor to assist you.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most excellent vacations!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The entire week was wonderful. We stayed in Esmeralda and had a Wonderful location . Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our butler Jenny went out of her way to make our trip memorable with all the little extras. It was so unexpected. The beach was exquisite and you could walk forever. The food was all great, and even with the daily rain showers it didn't stop any activities as it was always very warm. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed a memorable trip thanks to our wonderful location, helpful staff, exquisite beach, great food, and good activities. It is an honor for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to Jenny.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon and have the opportunity to continue providing the most wonderful experiences.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We LOVE the Dom. Republic and go often for rest and relaxation not fancy food, shows or shopping - this resort provided us with everything we wanted. Bahia Principe is a MASSIVE property - if you chose the Bahia Principe stick to the Esmerelda or the Ambar sections or you will be walking a very long way to the beach. People must remember the time of year and price point when visiting this resort - for the money we found this resort to exceed our expectations! The staff was exceptional. We have never experienced such helpful employees. We witnessed associates running to help families with children, always smiling - they could not do enough for you! This was OUR experience - 12/8/12-12/12/12.

Check in was very swift as we were immediately taken by cart to the Esmerelda section. We arrived AFTER 3 so our room was ready - if you arrive before check-in time pack a suit or shorts to change into. It is high season and this resort is full- chances are if you arrive before 3 your room will not be ready - prepare yourself for it.

We were given a room in building 90 which is closest to the beach and right across from the buffet. Our room was ready when we arrived, bed comfortable, ample towels, good A/C, good water pressure,bvgood Hair dryer ladies! Beach towels are already in the room no need for those annoying towel cards! Easily chaged out by the pool during the day for clean dry ones. Our house keeping team was the best we have experienced ANYWHERE- always restocked minibar/fridge. TIP - Request building 90-92 this will change your experience IMMENSELY!

OK onto issue others have mentioned - There is almost NO availability in the specialty restaurants unless your reservations are made in advance- our stay was 4 nights and we were only able to eat at Sante Fe (Mexican) which was just ok. We ate at the buffet the other nights and found the food to be fine - it is a small buffett but there is plenty to chose from. The trick was to go either at opening 6:30pm or after 8pm after the "rush". We were never hungry and the deserts were FANTASTIC! This was the first vacation we did not order room service because we were not hungry for a snack because dinner was always fine. The room sevice menu is limited.

The beach and pool chairs - This was the first time that we had to wake up early to get a palapa on the beach. This does not bother us because we usually spend from 9am-4pm on the beach HOWEVER we saw towels on chairs at 6am!!! This being said we never had a problem because we are early risers. The chairs towards the back of the beach (the brown ones) were great as they laid flat - Yea! Water fantastic soft white sand - Heaven. Tip - bring ear buds - this is a family resort = children crying, etc = earbuds NO problem with noise..lol!

Spa, shopping, shows are spread all over this Massive property. They do offer trams and bus stops (no I am not kidding) so you can get to these other areas. The specialty restaurants are spread throughout the resort. bring comfortable shoes ladies!

Overall I believe that this resorts' staff is fantastic, beautiful beach, nice rooms, decent food and flowing drinks - Great value for the dollar found at this resort!. Even though I realize that this is high season for this resort I think that they should rethink adding more rooms as overcrowding WILL be an issue in the future.

Room Tip: Request room in buildings 90-92. Bring ear-buds and music if noise is bothersome to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel and for highlighting our exceptional and helpful staff, beautiful beach and nice rooms. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service.

In relation to your observations about our specialty restaurants, please allow us to inform you that, because of internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

It’s very satisfying to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and will be a pleasure to welcoming you once again.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Super vacation at Esmeralda, stayed Dec 2 to Dec 9, the best part of this resort are it's employees, always smiling and wiling to help. Special thanks to Olga Fior from reception for resolving room issue on arrival ( two large group of people showed up at the same time). Also greetings for restaurant hostess Paula, and waiter Augusto( it's me Decembre) Esmeralda can be proud of these employees end others, who did an extra effort to make our vacation memorable and enjoyable. Great food especially seafood, are trademark of this resort. Had no problem finding bed at the beach after breakfest , butler service available there. Two pools had swim-up bars, never had to wait to get my drink, room maids doing great job, they even providing extra towels at evening hours. You don't need towel ticket, you can exchange your beach towel whenever you want. Here are some remarks regarding people behaviour at restaurant : People grab food with hands, they don't use utensils provided to handle food. Some jumping in front of the line disregarding others or wear clothing not suitable for lunch or diner. If people want to be served and treated with class and respect, they have to show the same values towards others tourists and staff serving them. Will definitely come back to this resort. Regards for Mr. Reynaldo and Mr. Felix from Gerente.

Room Tip: Building 90 closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

It will be an honor and a great compliment for us to forward your comments to all our staff, who had provided you a great vacation. Olga, Fior, Paula, Augusto, Reynaldo, and Felix will be very happy and delight to learn your comments.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived on Sunday, Dec. 2 with a number of other Transat Holiday customers at the front desk only to be shuffled off to a sitting area and thats when the delaying tactics started. It was apparant that our rooms were not ready. We were given our wrist band and sent off to lunch. On our return we learned that they had lost our reservations although we had given them our e-ticket from Transat Holiday. The front desk were rude and evasive. It took a raised voice before a Customer Service Rep came out to talk to us. After some talk we were given a room with two double beds, not at all what we wanted so back he went to the front desk. We finally got a room in Villa 97 with the king bed. We asked about any contruction noise at his villa and were assured that it will not be noisey. We entered our room almost 3 hours after arriving at the resort only to find the room had not been made up, the toilet would not flush and we had no phone service.
After talking to a housekeeper just out in the hallway we managed to get our room made up and the other problems fixed. The phone service had to wait until 5pm to next day. We soon learned that the front desk staff were well skilled in the art of delay and mislead. We figured it had to get better after all this is a 5 star resort. WRONG! The beach is very noisey and overcrowded and the food at he buffet and a' la carte restaurants is terrible. I could go on but I think I made my point. This resort has luxury rooms and property but food and customer service one might expect at a 3 star resort. We ingnored the bad reviews and paid the price!! The contruction noise started at 7:15am on our 3rd day there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience in our Hotel. Please feel assured that we are taking your observations into great consideration with the aim to reinforce the quality of our services.

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

Concerning your point of view about the food in our resort, we must say that the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires has always been very elevated levels of satisfaction.

In relation to your observations about our staff, let us inform you that your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness. It is important to remark that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources Department, as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests an excellent service.

Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been brought with the General Manager of our Resort in order to analyze the points you had mentioned.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels, where we are recognized for our commitment to excellence, and that way be able to change any negative perception.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.