We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We actually upgraded to this hotel due to hurricane Sandy when we decided to delay our trip for a few days. Originally we were supposed to stay at the Iberostar resort but we are so glad we switched. This resort was amazing and out of all the hotels on this resort I think Esmeralda is the best!

Our room was in Villa 90 which is the closest to the beach and sits right in between the Esmeralda pool and the Punta Cana pool. We woke up in the morning and had our pick. If you stay in some of the other hotels you will need to walk or take the tram to get to the beach.

The room itself was beautiful and very well maintained. We left our extra key card in the ac controller to keep the air on and every day our butler came in and cleaned 3-4 times. We would leave to go to the beach and come back and the room was cleaned, then we would go out during the day come back and they would come back. Even when we went out for dinner and the shows we would come back to a nice clean room. I felt very well taken care of.

The resort itself was perfect. The staff was friendly and the grounds were immaculate. I would recommend the Italian restaurant and definitely check out the shows. They were great.

We had such a wonderful time, went kayaking, boogieboarding, 4-wheeling in the mountains and relaxed on the beach. After we checked out we had a few hours to kill so we got a couples massage and it was a perfect way to end the trip. We will definitely return!

The only thing I would change is that the trams run on gas and the exhaust stunk. They also needed to put a espresso machine in the Esmeralda lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience during your honeymoon, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,852
    875
    356
    111
    65
See reviews for
1,582
1,793
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed the Esmeralda very much but there is always a negative and at this hotel it was the very dissapointing quality of the A la carte restaurants, we booked A la cart for every night but after sampling the quality and service we preferred to go to the buffet for our second week, for a 5* hotel our party of 4 felt that we were being rushed into finishing our meals,(in our home we do not clear dirty plates away until every one is finished) this was not the case we experenced in all the A la carte restaurants , as one of us finished their plates were taken away. 3* for A la carte 5* for the rest of the hotel facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort

Our main goal strives in having a great ambiance to satisfy our guest's requirements and we regret to hear that your perception about a la carte restaurants was not positive.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any misperception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Esmeralda was nice but more for suitable for geriatrics and far from a 5 star hotel. 4 hotels in one large compound and the main hotel has better restaurants but you have to take a shuttle. One of them will knock you out with exhaust fumes. Main lobby WiFi rarely works so I was forced to pay $40U.S. for the week. Also, they have timeshare-type representatives that harass you every single day to go to a meeting and then once you're there, they have hounds that use every sales tactic in the book including a bell that sounds every time someone buys. They try to sell you a $10,000 Bahia Principe membership which is a big waste of money.
Buffet restaurant was very limited and certain days I really couldn't find anything that I found appealing enough. The last night was the best because they had lobster tails. Japanese restaurant was under construction.
No music by the beach or pool and I brought my two year old daughter who was very bored.
Service was good but not as friendly as Mexico or Cuba - not to mention higher-end resorts.
Overall nice but I'd rather try another resort next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

We regret to hear that your perception was not positive but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

Despite these inconveniences, we hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and that way be able to change any misperception you may have.

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our best vacation yet! Service was exceptional. Every little detail is thought of. Beach is beautiful. Rooms are very confortable and clean, food is excellent. This section of the resort is more quiet so great to relax. Unlimited al la carte restaurants, all very good. Buffet was great too. We had lobster and lamb chops at the buffet. Would definately go back and recommend it to everyone who wants to eat good and relax and enjoy the beautiful beach and all the tropical gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited October 27, 2012 and had the best time. The rooms were amazing and very very clean. The food at all the restaurant and the buffet was very good. The staff were friendly and very help full. I do not have on complaint about this resort. I will definately be visiting again. Thank you for making this the best family vacation so far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It’s all about expectations! This is a very good 4 - 4.5 star resort, definitely not a 5
Stayed in this resort Oct 2012. Beautifully kept resort, wonderful beach, very clean and quiet ( except the construction going on but you get used to it ) There are no animators but if you would like to party and participate in organized activities, these things are less than a 5 minute walk.
The room was very nice, clean but did smell of cigar smoke, even though they said it was a nonsmoking room. The fridge was stocked daily, and there was lots of bottled water.
Not the great customer service experience, front desk were rude and inattentive, Esteban very arrogant. Overall, the food was the best we've had for a resort in this price range, the very best a la carte for food and service was Le Gourmet.

Room Tip: Wake up around 7.30 am if you would like to get a hut on the beach or an umbrella at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Regarding your comments about our staff let us inform you that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda and that way be able to change any misperception you may have.

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We went down for our family vacation sept 15-22 and stayed at the Esmeralda. First of all, let me mention 1 thing I didn't know before going. The bahia Principe hotels are all located on one massive compound. All the hotels are connected on the same property with transports to take you wherever you want.

The Esmeralda is the closest to the beach (2 mins walk) It's the section with the least action also. mostly families and older people. If you're looking to party, you'd have to go over to another section of the hotel at night. That being said, I much prefer the quiet areas as I work in night clubs and don;t enjoy the noise.

The food was top notch. We ate like kings! A ton of variety every day on meals and desserts.Tipping is at your own discretion but let me tell you. leaving 2-3$ per meal between 5 adults and 2 kids assured us great service; Every time we walked in, every waiter in the place wanted us in their location. Again, it's not required but you'll notice a difference in service going form good to great.

The rooms were also excellent and very clean. Stock 2 bottles of water in the fridge every day and mini bar is free. Keep your water bottles to refill as well if you need more or just ask the cleaning lady.

Gorgeous beach. This is by far the nicest beach I've been to. No rocks at all on the beach nor in the water. Just powder sand all the way through. I'm not usually a beach guy but this beach kept me there all day.

There's a market right side of the beach which is about 40 mins walk or 5 min boat taxi ride. To be avoided at all costs. The ppl working there's are like horse flies. They won't leave you alone, harassing non stop to sell you junk for ridiculous prices.

We did the nurse shark/sting ray/catamaran excursion. I'm not a supporter of keeping animals confined for profit. I only realized it after the fact. The crew and staff were quite friendly and it was a nice relaxing day though.

The only thing I was a little disappointed in was that there was only free wifi in the lobby and not in the room. We managed to catch some wifi on and off the first 3 days form the room, but they locked it down after that. It would have been nice to have free wifi access from the room but wasn't the end of the world.

All in all, I have to say that for what we paid (under a 1000$ per person) it was money well spent and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your stay with us.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting once again our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 (at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana) Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club (11 - 16 years) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.