We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor A la carte Restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor A la carte Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed the Esmeralda very much but there is always a negative and at this hotel it was the very dissapointing quality of the A la carte restaurants, we booked A la cart for every night but after sampling the quality and service we preferred to go to the buffet for our second week, for a 5* hotel our party of 4 felt that we were being rushed into finishing our meals,(in our home we do not clear dirty plates away until every one is finished) this was not the case we experenced in all the A la carte restaurants , as one of us finished their plates were taken away. 3* for A la carte 5* for the rest of the hotel facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort

Our main goal strives in having a great ambiance to satisfy our guest's requirements and we regret to hear that your perception about a la carte restaurants was not positive.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any misperception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,301
    674
    260
    83
    49
See reviews for
1,255
1,419
38
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Esmeralda was nice but more for suitable for geriatrics and far from a 5 star hotel. 4 hotels in one large compound and the main hotel has better restaurants but you have to take a shuttle. One of them will knock you out with exhaust fumes. Main lobby WiFi rarely works so I was forced to pay $40U.S. for the week. Also, they have timeshare-type representatives that harass you every single day to go to a meeting and then once you're there, they have hounds that use every sales tactic in the book including a bell that sounds every time someone buys. They try to sell you a $10,000 Bahia Principe membership which is a big waste of money.
Buffet restaurant was very limited and certain days I really couldn't find anything that I found appealing enough. The last night was the best because they had lobster tails. Japanese restaurant was under construction.
No music by the beach or pool and I brought my two year old daughter who was very bored.
Service was good but not as friendly as Mexico or Cuba - not to mention higher-end resorts.
Overall nice but I'd rather try another resort next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

We regret to hear that your perception was not positive but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

Despite these inconveniences, we hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and that way be able to change any misperception you may have.

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our best vacation yet! Service was exceptional. Every little detail is thought of. Beach is beautiful. Rooms are very confortable and clean, food is excellent. This section of the resort is more quiet so great to relax. Unlimited al la carte restaurants, all very good. Buffet was great too. We had lobster and lamb chops at the buffet. Would definately go back and recommend it to everyone who wants to eat good and relax and enjoy the beautiful beach and all the tropical gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited October 27, 2012 and had the best time. The rooms were amazing and very very clean. The food at all the restaurant and the buffet was very good. The staff were friendly and very help full. I do not have on complaint about this resort. I will definately be visiting again. Thank you for making this the best family vacation so far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It’s all about expectations! This is a very good 4 - 4.5 star resort, definitely not a 5
Stayed in this resort Oct 2012. Beautifully kept resort, wonderful beach, very clean and quiet ( except the construction going on but you get used to it ) There are no animators but if you would like to party and participate in organized activities, these things are less than a 5 minute walk.
The room was very nice, clean but did smell of cigar smoke, even though they said it was a nonsmoking room. The fridge was stocked daily, and there was lots of bottled water.
Not the great customer service experience, front desk were rude and inattentive, Esteban very arrogant. Overall, the food was the best we've had for a resort in this price range, the very best a la carte for food and service was Le Gourmet.

Room Tip: Wake up around 7.30 am if you would like to get a hut on the beach or an umbrella at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Regarding your comments about our staff let us inform you that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda and that way be able to change any misperception you may have.

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We went down for our family vacation sept 15-22 and stayed at the Esmeralda. First of all, let me mention 1 thing I didn't know before going. The bahia Principe hotels are all located on one massive compound. All the hotels are connected on the same property with transports to take you wherever you want.

The Esmeralda is the closest to the beach (2 mins walk) It's the section with the least action also. mostly families and older people. If you're looking to party, you'd have to go over to another section of the hotel at night. That being said, I much prefer the quiet areas as I work in night clubs and don;t enjoy the noise.

The food was top notch. We ate like kings! A ton of variety every day on meals and desserts.Tipping is at your own discretion but let me tell you. leaving 2-3$ per meal between 5 adults and 2 kids assured us great service; Every time we walked in, every waiter in the place wanted us in their location. Again, it's not required but you'll notice a difference in service going form good to great.

The rooms were also excellent and very clean. Stock 2 bottles of water in the fridge every day and mini bar is free. Keep your water bottles to refill as well if you need more or just ask the cleaning lady.

Gorgeous beach. This is by far the nicest beach I've been to. No rocks at all on the beach nor in the water. Just powder sand all the way through. I'm not usually a beach guy but this beach kept me there all day.

There's a market right side of the beach which is about 40 mins walk or 5 min boat taxi ride. To be avoided at all costs. The ppl working there's are like horse flies. They won't leave you alone, harassing non stop to sell you junk for ridiculous prices.

We did the nurse shark/sting ray/catamaran excursion. I'm not a supporter of keeping animals confined for profit. I only realized it after the fact. The crew and staff were quite friendly and it was a nice relaxing day though.

The only thing I was a little disappointed in was that there was only free wifi in the lobby and not in the room. We managed to catch some wifi on and off the first 3 days form the room, but they locked it down after that. It would have been nice to have free wifi access from the room but wasn't the end of the world.

All in all, I have to say that for what we paid (under a 1000$ per person) it was money well spent and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your stay with us.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting once again our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is lovely, very clean and the rooms have the wow factor. So everything u read about that is true. Unfortunately there are problems, there is building work and its fairly loud but tolerable. In the esmeralda it's the arrecife restaurant next to the pool and the new complex next to the lobby, they r also putting in another pool too and what looks like another restaurant. But don't get too excited this is for the timeshare. The people in reception who bombard u and tell u they are not selling timeshare. U are buying an apartment for 2 weeks for 5 years! ( timeshare then). There is other building work amongst the other hotels too, pools being dug up and the beach area is having a facelift too. Areas closed off including beach. There were a lot and I mean a lot of people ill with gastroenteritis so take all necessary medicines. Out of our party all 4 were ill one actually hospitalised and there were quite a few in hospital, just be very careful and watch what your eating.
The jasmin buffet was very varied and the desserts look wonderful but the food that is cooked fresh, beware some of the chicken was still raw, over the two weeks we were there this happened a few times with turkey and pork. Our server was luis he was a pain, so much infact we moved area in the dining room and sat on tables for two! He can't sing, he whips away cups and cutlery while your still eating and when the survey was presented for us to fill in he tried making us tick excellent to everything with behaviour only described as bullying!
On the whole the a la carte were excellent the don Pablo and garden grill, service was outstanding, food wonderful.
Would I return NO in a word the complex is far too big, the esmeralda itself only small but it's growing. If u have booked the hotel is nice please don't be put off by this review just be aware of my negatives. The hotel will say they have no stomach problems that they have heard of and so says Thomas cook, trust me there were loads and not just the esmeralda, there were people of all nationalities talking about it around the pool who's family members were ill. In the doctors office the people were from all the other hotel in the complex and they had sickness and diarrhoea too.
Lastly if u are travelling with Thomas cook, good luck, we had no rep for over a week the hotel staff helped us with our friend in hospital, making phone calls so a big thank u to them. But Thomas cook were rubbish. We finally got a rep two days before travelling home and she was nice and took our complaint but too little too late!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regarding your comments about other guest experience, allows us inform you that our hotel follows a very strict hygiene, quality and security program monitored by the international company Crystal; on those days and taking into account the high occupancy, we cannot conclude that our hotel is the causative of their illness.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and that way be able to change any misperception you may have.

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.