We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Esmeralda, a Honeymoon not to forget :) All the guests say more or less the same things so I won't repeat it... In a nut shell : Good things : all the 4 villas are close to the beach so it doesn't matter in wich of them you stay. The food is great, you have plenty choices so everybody must find something for themselves including caviar and lobster and seafood. The Jasmine Buffet Reastaurant located inside Esmeralda was even better than a part of a-la-carte restaurants in resort :) But if you want to get some a-la-carte serving you should reserve for the entire stay the restaurants right after you arrive so you'll be able to choose day and time that suits you. Pool is great, peaceful, and the architecture of the buildings I liked most. The staff is very friendly and try to please you with or without tips :) The room is perfect for a couple with a king size bed, jacuzzi , big bathroom and good AC. The sheets were changed daily and smelled so nice :) The towels were changed even twice a day..
The entertainment is amazing, we liked the Michael Jackson show (don't miss it) the Azuka dance and all the shows worth it , special mention for the animators , so funny. People from guest assistance desks were very kind and willing to help even if they didn't know the answer to all your questions :)
Now the bad : Reception people not so kind as the rest, we ask for a room change and they kept us come daily to the reception desk just to find out that we must return the next day.. eventually we abbandoned the idea :( The beach is very small at the resort because is filled with beds so there is no much space left for sand (for our taste) so we walked ~ 500 m north for an amazing beach , amazing sand and amazing waves !! it was really wonderful. The minibar in the room is not refilled daily with alcohol and beer so we asked for it daily :) Our slippers were stolen from the pool, as we left them half day alone :) The organized trips are overrated I think so after we did the Saona trip with the local agency , we went on our own to the Capital Santo Domingo by public transport and all went well , of course at a total price 3 or 4 times lower. But in order to go out from the resort by yourself you must know a little spanish...
We stayed at Esmeralda for 2 weeks and didn't get bored at all. It was a wonderful trip and would return there anytime :)

Room Tip: If you can , choose the room in 90 and 91 villas because the are right near the main pool and beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your honeymoon. We really appreciate your comments about our staff and restaurants.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
.

Best regards,


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,081
    602
    240
    78
    39
See reviews for
1107
1304
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

we have just come back from a 2 week holiday at esmerelda and it was fab. staff were really friendly our butler Milfey was lovely and very helpful as were all the other staff. the hotel was very clean, our suite was beautiful, you couldnt fault the food, something for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Milfey.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort with the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards,

Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in December of 2011 for the first time and we loved it. Our two children said it was like being in paradise. Our room was always kept up - several times a day. They even gave us treats every night. Welcome baskets for kids with T shirts! The last night our girl decorated the room with flowers, nice scents, bath, etc. The girls were wonderful to us. The resort staff need to know that they are doing a great job. We were in building 90 first floor. Just perfect. Have heard many folks like the 3rd level. Maybe we can try that next time. This place is so nice. Looking to go back soon. To the staff and all workers at the Esmeralda - great job. Keep up the great work. Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience in our Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to all our Esmeralda staff.

Looking forward to seeing you very soon, meanwhile we wish you all the best.

Regards from Bavaro!!


Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

An honest review here....

The Esmeralda is truly wonderful. We travelled as a couple and this was our first time to Dom Rep. I e-mailed the hotel a week before travelling to request Block 90 after reading previous reviews on here - there was really no need as any of the blocks are within 5 mins of all the facilities. It was my birthday on the 2nd day, so my e-mail included reserving the Italian al a carte which was arranged for us and our ticket included in our welcome pack. Once there, they produced a wonderful chocolate birthday cake!

The rooms are very spacious with a lovely jacuzzi bath. Bed sheets are changed daily and plenty of towels. The mini bar is good but we found it was a bit hit or miss with re-stocking. We had chocolates delivered every day. We had a problem with the safety deposit box but one phone call to reception and 10 minutes later it had been fixed. The only downside was that we were ground floor and had clothing stolen off the balcony.

The food is FABULOUS - after experiencing all-inclusive deals all over the world, this is right up there with being the best. The al a carte restaurants are particular of a high standard and I would compare 'Don Pablo' with top restaurants in London. We both had the best cooked steaks we'd ever eaten. There is so much choice at all of them. You can have as much lobster and caviar as you can eat! The japanese was very good too. The drinks are also great. From the beer 'presidente' to the quality of the red wine and champagne is also of a very high standard.

The pool is great with the swim up pool bar offering shade as well as sunshine. The esmeralda is the exclusive part of the complex, so it keeps everything quiet and so the service is first class with the staff being brilliant - especially Jose, Joel, Emmanuel and Marilyn.

WARNING:
**There is a private area of the beach just for Esmeralda, but remember that this is still a public beach. We had our bag gone through and a mobile phone stolen while we were swimming in the sea. Another family had their bag taken on the same day containing everything......so be aware and cover your belongings up if leaving them**

Thomas Cook - We were bitterly disappointed with them - we paid extra to be in the exclusive part of the resort and the TC rep was a 15 min walk away in the main complex and didn't work weekends, so when we had our mobile phone stolen, we needed advice and none was available. When we did speak to the rep, they told us to report it to the hotel - we did this and the hotel told us that the TC rep should have taken us to the Police Station to report it for our insurance. He just wasn't interested. When we went to the welcome meeting - he didn't provide us with a full list of the trips - he just gave us info on the trips that earnt him more commission.
When we did book a trip (zip wiring) he didn't ring it through and so they didn't turn up to collect us. We were left waiting for an hour. We wasted time having to re-book and re-arrange other things. He had very limited knowledge and info on the Esmeralda part of the complex and didn't tell us that we had 30 mins of free internet use in the privelege club every day.

TRIPS: When we eventually did the zip-wiring, it was brilliant!! We would really recommend it. It is tiring and hard work walking up to the platforms but exhilerating and good to see the mountains. We recommend you book the afternoon session when it isn't as hot.

We did the dune buggy driving which was fun too. They stop a couple of times so you can swap drivers if you wish. You need a bandana and sunglasses due to the dust. If you haven't got one, they sell them for $5 dollars when you get there......oh and there are no toilet facilities once you leave the base!

We also went snuber diving and speed boat driving which was awsome and our favourite trip. You can buy the underwater photo disc for $10 dollars and this includes everyones photos on the same disc - you must do this trip!! We paid for them using a credit card. We took american dollars for tips.

We only went to one show as it was too hot to sit out at night and there are around 2000 people all sat together. From listening to others, the shows were really good. We had dinner and normally went up to the karaoke/sports bar which was extremely amusing and a great place to people watch - such a laugh was had in there.
We also went to the nightclub - next door to the sports bar and this was really entertaining too. The drinks are all included til 2am when it closes.

All in all, this was a brilliant place and we would definately go back and recommend it to others. We miss it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all receive cordial greetings from the entire staff of the Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda. Thank you very much for your feedback.

We greatly appreciate that you had chosen our resort as your holiday destination and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us that much.

We apologize for any inconveniences this loss has caused to you and your partner and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Gran Bahia Principe Bávaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services and facilities meanwhile we wish you all the best.

Best regards from Bavaro!!



Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here as a family with 2 teenage sons from the 3rd sept to the 17th.
We arrived at the main gran bahia then were taken to esmerelda with our luggage, there we were greeted by Esteban with a warm welcome (welcome home were his words) quick check in with drinks then off to our rooms. we were in block 92 i had emailed the hotel and requested 90 or 91 but our room was fine, however our sons had been given a room with a double bed which was not ideal, we returned to esteban and explained we had requested twin beds, this was not a problem he was very efficeant changed thier room which was ready in 30 mins.

Rooms
Large rooms, very clean, big bathroom very nice, mini fridge stocked daily,we left a tip and a note of what we would like in our fridge and it was nearly always what we asked for. clean towels twice a day, maid service was excellent our room was decorated with balloons petals and towel art nearly every day.

Restaurants
we had emailed the hotel and made reservations for the first 2 nights the tickets were in our welcome pack in our room, we ate at the bella italia and the garden grill and the santa fe all very good we mainly ate at the jasmine there was a good choice of food here and the service was excellent we were always greated with a welcome and a smile (hand gel everywhere)

pool
this area was beautiful and very clean never very busy could always get a bed, the pool temp is warm like bath water, pool bar very nice friendly service, not full of rowdy slightly drunk people (try the pool next door if thats what you like)

Beach
esmerelda beach not very busy could easily get beds, plenty of shade, main gran bahia beach very busy,lots of seaweed at the esmerelda end but still a beautiful beach.
esmerelda beach bar very good, lovely staff and waiter service on the beach very nice

Lobby bar outside patio area
we spent most evenings here, nice atmosphere, nice to meet for a drink and chat with friends made on holiday,the waitresses are very efficient especially alexandra and sandra
To conclude
excellent holiday in a beautiful resort excellent service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear clients,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Esmeralda Hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations.

We wish you all the best to you and your family. Looking forward to welcoming you soon to one of our hotels.

Best regards from Bavaro!!


Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

before travelling we reviewed the hotel mixed reviews especially about the staff being very rude this is an honest review hope its helps. this place is amazing the beach was beautiful the cleanliness impeccible food 5 star all the way the rooms huge and very clean the pool also the weather was very very hot so we will visit again in october or november when its a bit cooler.
to those reviews about the staff must have stayed in a different hotel they are so freindly polite and so very helpful there english is excellent we never encpounted any problems with communication issues some ppl just can't be pleased the buliding work is nothing to worry about it doesnt hinder your holiday will revisit in a couple of years once the esmeralda is finished extending dont be put off by the negative reviews there all nonsense this place is incredible big shout out to jimmy sandra and brandi always there to help also esterban on the front desk also our maid she was brill fantastic place try it out you wont be diassapointed
one negative when visiting the other other parts of complex you could only drink what they could have which i feel was unfair the beer was so inferior we should have stiil been able acsess the same drinks as when we where on the esmeralda only a small gripe though

Room Tip: dont worry stressing about getting block 90 or 91 every block is so close to everything we stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience in our Hotel

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you consider our hotel as the best.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to all our Esmeralda staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!


Customer Service Department
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have been to the Dominican Republic 5 times and visited the North,east and south coasts. The South coast is the best followed by the east coast.
This is the best hotel on this very large resort it is on the beach with its own private beach area and own private beach bar.
The beach can get very busy because this is a large resort.
Guest at the Esmeralda can use all the facilities of the other hotels on this resort and only the guests at the Adults only Amber can use the Esmeralda services.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and kept like that all the time by the fantastic maids many thanks Lorenza. The bathrooms have a jacuzzi bath seperate shower two was basins and a seperate toilet. The air Conditioning is excellent.
the pool and gardens are imaculate along with the adults only jacuzzi area.
All the staff i had dealings with are very friendly, Alexandra, Braundy and Angel went that extra mile.
There is some building work but it was not noisey.
The seaweed on the beach was cleared all through the day however there was also pockets of it in the sea but it did not bother me just move away..
We had a 28 hour delay with Thomas Cook flight but stayed in our same room and continued with our extended holiday. the rep could have been more available and informative but we got there in the end and this was no fault of the hotel.
Before we left the UK we emailed the hotel requesting a top floor in block 90. We got a top floor in block 91 at the end next to block 90.
If you want a relaxing holiday in a very nice hotel with great staff then the Esmeralda is for you.
If you have got kids then i think this would be to quite for them and you and would opt for the Bavero,Punta Cana or Principe all three are much bigger and cater better for familys.
learn a little spanish like Hello and how are you and please and thank you. It goes a long way and is polite.

Room Tip: close to the beach block 90 but you are never more than a five minute walk to the beach from any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience in our Hotel

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you consider our hotel as the best.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to all our Esmeralda staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.