We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Punta Cana Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Save Saved
You added VIK Hotel Cayena Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | n/a Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“My Punta Cana Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We first stayed at Cayena Beach during Christmas and New Year 2010 - 2011 for 2 weeks. We have returned to Punta Cana 4 times since then but have been unable to book Cayena till a trip in April 2012.

Firstly the three negatives, as other reviewers state, the rooms are modest and in need of refurbishment. However I hear this is being planned so things will probably improve. Besides, if you go the Punta Cana to spend much time in a hotel room, you may be missing the point! Second negative is only 5 of the 47 rooms have king size beds, most have two doubles. For this stay I requested a king size and got one which was nice. Third negative is the number of time share sales people stalking guests. They can be a little devious at times, but a firm no thanks usually stops the pressure.

Now the positives which far out weigh the negatives. The Cayena is a small private part of the much larger VIK Arena Blanca hotel. Cayena is quite compact and located literally on White Sands beach which is without a doubt one of the best sections of Bavaro beach. Room to food is 50-100 meters, food to beach is about 20 meters. The El Cano restaurant is exceptional and exclusive for Cayena guests, good food and great staff. The restaurant staff really make the stay special.

The beach deserves special mention, the sand really is almost white. Swimming there is very good since the beach is in a bay with a reef offshore meaning even when it's windy there is little surf, and the water is warmer than some other sections of Bavaro beach which are more exposed.

Previously there was a modest shortage of sun beds on the beach but this has been neatly solved with a new sun lounger area immediately behind the beach. The beach section in front of the hotel is reserved for Cayena guests only and this is policed quite effectively.

Cayena guests have full access to all facilities in the VIK Arena Blanca next door, this includes the main "El Mirador" buffet which is not bad, and two other main restaurants which are very good. Trattoria (Italian) and Estrella del Mar (Sea food and some other dishes). There is also a number of other minor eating places and bars dotted around the Arena Blanca. Available at modest extra cost is the excellent La Proa restaurant located above the Cayena El Cano restaurant. La Proa is a fantastic place to eat once or twice during a stay since it is open fronted for the most part, with amazing views. Expect to spend about US$50-60 for two people.

If you arrive at Cayena after 5.00pm on a week day you'll have the check in at the VIK Arena Blanca, since the Cayena reception is closed, but this fairly painless with good reception staff.

As with other all inclusive hotels, tipping is not required, however a few dollars once in a while goes a long way and is much appreciated. The Cayena staff are genuinely friendly and will go to some lengths to make your stay pleasant, especially if you show some appreciation for good work.

If your idea of a holiday is spending most of the day locked in a 5 star hotel room watching TV, don't go to Cayena. But if you want to experience what the Dominican Republic has to offer by way of weather, food, people and beaches, I whole heartedly recommend Cayena Beach Club. The cost is fair, the beach is flawless and the food and staff are great.

Room Tip: All rooms have some sort of ocean view, but the section of the building that actually faces the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    58
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
57
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights. The staff is wonderful especially.... Juan, Licowdy, Antonio and Pasquale. The resort was perfect for our 2nd Honeymoon. The resort is nice and close to the ocean, which makes life so much easier. The food and drinks were great. Our favorite places to eat were the ElCano for breakfast and lunch and the Italian place for Dinner. The room was very clean and the beach chairs and huts were perfect. Very relaxing resort!:) Word of advice make sure you get tot he airport at least 3 hours in advance it was a nightmare leaving there!!

Room Tip: Room 216 was awesome!!:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Cayena section of the VIK was supposed to be the "5 star" part of the resort unfortunately this was no the case. On our arrival they did not have our suite ready so we had to spend the first night at the VIK (rooms are terrible dated and not that clean) once over to the Cayena side we were please with the size and appointment of the room. However we soon discovered ants and water issues. The neighbors would shower and our room would have wet floors, the water run from our shower as well. The suite was well laid out but smelled moldy - probably due to the water. If I was to return to Punta Cana it wouldn't be to the VIK or to Cayena. The only advantage was it's wonderful location on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

When we first arrived our room on the Cayena side was not available, they had overbooked the hotel, they sent us back to Arena side and gave us a lovely pool side view on Bldg 3 for that night, and the next day, went to see our Tour Agent rep, who talked in spanish to someone and they got us a room on 2nd floor on Cayena side and they apologized and were very friendly and gave us free day stay on our last day because our flight was leaving only at 8 p.m. (ck out is at noon) they found us a beachfront room for that day! Staff is very friendly! and since this is a small hotel (only 47 rooms) they got to know us when we walked in the restaurants...etc

Very delicious food at all 3 restaurants, buffet was ok, we certainly did not starve, different food but was expected because this is another country! Did not need to reserve at any of the restaurants, they also have a beach bar for fast snack (pizza, hotdogs, fries...etc) Beautiful scenery and most of the staff could understand English or French. only negative would be two beds (had requested king) , and their sheets were not fitted.. we don't sweat the small stuff so we really enjoyed this experience. Would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Don't expect King or beachfront even if you request it so you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonto
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The beach is the best thing about this place,,, the rooms need work from new beds to new Ac...Although most of the staff is willing to listen and help with your concerns some just brush you off and give you a lame excuse... There are no ocean front rooms they are only for time share people and if you notice that people towel a chair at the beach and not use it all day..Guess what ...its the time share people double toweling They have no limit on towels so they place one at the pool and one on the beach just in case they want to move

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is my second trip to Cayena Beach as my parents are timeshare owners here. Although as mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are not as luxurious as some resorts the ocean-view rooms make up for that. Being able to go to sleep each night listening to the ocean waves and to wake up to the sunset over the water is totally worth it. We have stayed on the second floor in the corner rooms which have a bathtub overlooking the ocean. Although the response can be slow to some requests (I think that is part of the culture), I have found that they will eventually resolve any issues you have. The waitstaff and bartenders are friendly and since the resort is on the smaller side get to know your food/drink preferences quickly. I would recommend checking in while the Cayena reception is open usually until 5pm. We had to check-in at the VIK this time because it was late and the process was much slower and not as relaxing as going into Cayena as we have in the past. The beach is wonderful and they have improved the chairs and added a larger lounge area for Cayena guests only. We didn't have a problem getting a spot on the beach this year but it is smart to put towels out in the morning before breakfast just in case. On Monday nights they have a welcome dinner and have raffles to win excursions and spa time which is an added bonus. Just stay for the whole dinner! Looking forward to our trip again next year.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The good: Warm, helpful, friendly staff, amazing beach, and clean resort with good food.
The bad: Our first room was two single beds, a fan that clicked all night, and a noisy parrot outside our room.
We got moved after the second night and things were better, but what hotel offers two single beds in the first place?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VIK Hotel Cayena Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Address: White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | n/a Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VIK Hotel Cayena Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to the VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, this hotel enjoys an outstanding location overlooking the beach of Bávaro. The Hotel Cayena Beach is an exclusive part of the complex, designed with the most discerning guests, like you, in mind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your VIK Hotel Cayena Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel Cayena Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.