We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cayena Beach - Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Save Saved
You added VIK Hotel Cayena Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | n/a Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cayena Beach - Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Cayena section of the VIK was supposed to be the "5 star" part of the resort unfortunately this was no the case. On our arrival they did not have our suite ready so we had to spend the first night at the VIK (rooms are terrible dated and not that clean) once over to the Cayena side we were please with the size and appointment of the room. However we soon discovered ants and water issues. The neighbors would shower and our room would have wet floors, the water run from our shower as well. The suite was well laid out but smelled moldy - probably due to the water. If I was to return to Punta Cana it wouldn't be to the VIK or to Cayena. The only advantage was it's wonderful location on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    58
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
57
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

When we first arrived our room on the Cayena side was not available, they had overbooked the hotel, they sent us back to Arena side and gave us a lovely pool side view on Bldg 3 for that night, and the next day, went to see our Tour Agent rep, who talked in spanish to someone and they got us a room on 2nd floor on Cayena side and they apologized and were very friendly and gave us free day stay on our last day because our flight was leaving only at 8 p.m. (ck out is at noon) they found us a beachfront room for that day! Staff is very friendly! and since this is a small hotel (only 47 rooms) they got to know us when we walked in the restaurants...etc

Very delicious food at all 3 restaurants, buffet was ok, we certainly did not starve, different food but was expected because this is another country! Did not need to reserve at any of the restaurants, they also have a beach bar for fast snack (pizza, hotdogs, fries...etc) Beautiful scenery and most of the staff could understand English or French. only negative would be two beds (had requested king) , and their sheets were not fitted.. we don't sweat the small stuff so we really enjoyed this experience. Would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Don't expect King or beachfront even if you request it so you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonto
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The beach is the best thing about this place,,, the rooms need work from new beds to new Ac...Although most of the staff is willing to listen and help with your concerns some just brush you off and give you a lame excuse... There are no ocean front rooms they are only for time share people and if you notice that people towel a chair at the beach and not use it all day..Guess what ...its the time share people double toweling They have no limit on towels so they place one at the pool and one on the beach just in case they want to move

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is my second trip to Cayena Beach as my parents are timeshare owners here. Although as mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are not as luxurious as some resorts the ocean-view rooms make up for that. Being able to go to sleep each night listening to the ocean waves and to wake up to the sunset over the water is totally worth it. We have stayed on the second floor in the corner rooms which have a bathtub overlooking the ocean. Although the response can be slow to some requests (I think that is part of the culture), I have found that they will eventually resolve any issues you have. The waitstaff and bartenders are friendly and since the resort is on the smaller side get to know your food/drink preferences quickly. I would recommend checking in while the Cayena reception is open usually until 5pm. We had to check-in at the VIK this time because it was late and the process was much slower and not as relaxing as going into Cayena as we have in the past. The beach is wonderful and they have improved the chairs and added a larger lounge area for Cayena guests only. We didn't have a problem getting a spot on the beach this year but it is smart to put towels out in the morning before breakfast just in case. On Monday nights they have a welcome dinner and have raffles to win excursions and spa time which is an added bonus. Just stay for the whole dinner! Looking forward to our trip again next year.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The good: Warm, helpful, friendly staff, amazing beach, and clean resort with good food.
The bad: Our first room was two single beds, a fan that clicked all night, and a noisy parrot outside our room.
We got moved after the second night and things were better, but what hotel offers two single beds in the first place?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My Boyfriend and I booked our stay through interval 4 months prior to our trip (we booked everything on september and just got back from the hotel), and when we got there we had the not so pleasant surprise of being put in a room wiht two single beds on the room (despite having booked a room that what supposed to have 2 queen beds) to top that the room had a horrible shower that got the whole bathroom area and the entrance of the bedroom wet (despite having booked a room that had a shower+tub). The worst part is that even though it was 6:30 p.m on a saturday e couldn´t get a manager to help us solve the problem (and the woman at the reception was less than friendly and didn´t even tried to solve it for us).
The room was clean, but the linen was too small for the bed and we often woke up sleeping directly over the mattress.

The towel guy was never there... We could never get our towels changed. And the hotel was completely book so every day it was a competition of who got first to the pool loungers to save a seat for the day (which is probably not what you look for on your vacations).

The front desk had little or no information at all about certain tours, and wasn´t very helpful to find information (which was easily found on the internet).

To top it all, when leaving, e asked for a late check out, and were told it wasn´t possible, and that we should look for a shower room at arena blanca (which we were totally fine is, the only problem is that we thought that the shower room should be arranged by the cayena staff, afterall we were guests at this hotel and not at arena blanca).

The beach is amazing, though, and it´s great to have a parivate section where you can just relax and admire the beach.

If you book a trip here don´t forget to bring casual pants and closed toe shoes for man, because shorts and sandals are not allowed at the a la carte restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I found this resort to be a wonderful resort and especially after all we had read about it. I have travelled the world extensively and so at times wonder what people anticipate or expect. Our trip began with Barbaras excellent client services to us (thank you!). The rooms were exactly as the photos showed - perhaps not new but extremely acceptable and comfortable. It was serviced daily and left in great condition. Our $85 p p daily gave us access to all the restaurants and to drinks which is a superb deal. We found the food to be of a high standard and altho i read a lot of bad things about the desserts, there is so much selection with everything in such huge quantities that we never needed dessert! The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The beach beautiful. Considering we were there at the busiest time of the year (new year) i can say with all sincerity that we had an outstanding holiday and would love to book to go back soon!

Room Tip: I cant recommend any particular room - however, we did have one overlooking the ocean and on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VIK Hotel Cayena Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Address: White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | n/a Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VIK Hotel Cayena Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to the VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, this hotel enjoys an outstanding location overlooking the beach of Bávaro. The Hotel Cayena Beach is an exclusive part of the complex, designed with the most discerning guests, like you, in mind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your VIK Hotel Cayena Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel Cayena Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.