We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing blue water and a GREAT STAFF!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Save Saved
You added VIK Hotel Cayena Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | n/a Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
San Jacinto, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing blue water and a GREAT STAFF!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We arrived at Punta Cana Airport. The ingress was interesting. $10 per person Tourist Visa fee (Make sure you have cash). There was about a 30 minute ride to the hotel. The driver the hotel set up was great. He spoke acceptable English and told us about the local culture. At the main hotel we were greeted by staff who walked us to the Cayena Beach Club (CBC).

Check-in was a breeze. Throughout the stay we were politely greeted by staff and asked if they could be of assistance. The CBC is a more exclusive section of the VIK Arena Blanca. It has a restaurant (that serves a tasty breakfast, lunch and dinner from a menu), bar and pool area. As a guest of the CBC, you are able to use the VIK Arena Blanca's facilities.

It is suggested you do not drink the faucet water. Bottled water is provided and housekeeping will leave you as many bottles as you ask for.

I am a SCUBA diver and used the on-site Pelicano Sport (which is a chain of dive shops in the Dominican) for 5 dives. The staff was wonderful. They explained the dive sites and guided us around. Safety briefs were held before we headed out each morning.

My fiance', who is not a diver, chose to lay out on the beach and take in the magnificent beach atmosphere and drink the bottomless local drinks (Pina Colada con rum).

I live in Southern California. We have nice beaches and water here, but there is NO comparison.

We went to the on-site spa for a pedicure... Not impressed.
The casino is about a 200 yard walk from the front of the hotel. It was small, but took my money just as well as any large Vegas casino could!!

I was initially concerned about safety. When I got there I learned that the tourist industry is the largest source of revenue for this country. Therefore, tourist safety is paramount.

Final words... I will be going back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    57
    22
    14
    10
See reviews for
56
92
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The personal was great, the animation team was super, the food was ok, the pool and beach were excellent, the atmosphere unforgettable. Don't forget to take a stock of 1$ bills for tips ;). The night activities were not so great: although after the evening show the disco club is available, the people just vanishes! Nevertheless, it was a great holiday and I would gladly return.
P.S. - Don't accept any first call prices on anything (trips, souvenirs, etc.), everything is negotiable, from 30-70% or more. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I did not realize that Cayena is the "VIP" section of Arena Blanca when I booked it! I met THE BEST people there!! Travelers & locals, both!! I would return in a heartbeat! Check-in was personal. The staff that I had never seen before knew exactly who I was. The newlywed crowd (Bill& Mary, Lois&Stephen) & the not-so new crowd (Milli & Heather, Kathy&Robert, Dave&Gretchen, Sam & Alejandra & their son, JP) were so kind!!! As were the locals (Niwton, Rodolfo, William, Ezequiel, Francisco, et al...Just smile, say hola/como esta/ buenos dias/... Es mas facile!

Room Tip: Cayena 3rd floor, small #s closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Vik Cayena Beach Club offers a great product at affordable price. It is located beach front with very comfortable rooms and great dining options. My family and I highly recommend this Hotel for other travellers

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our stay was extremely pleasant, place is wonderful, service super good as well as the food.
The beach is a plus, clean blue ocean!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had a wonderful family vacation. Loved the beach and the accommodations. The staff and service is wonderful. While the food is just OK, the beach and resort made up for it and we had a fantastic time. Make sure the men bring pants and closed toe shoes for two of the restaurants, even though it does seem silly, they will turn you away.

Room Tip: We called ahead of arrival and requested top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed most every moment at VIK Hotel Cayena Beach. We had no trouble with our taxi to & from the airport (coordinated through the hotel); and upon our arrival we had a pleasant check-in. Our ground level room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the ocean. Our goal for our week long stay was to relax, relax, and relax. The hotel certainly allows that.

Our favorites - having the private pool, private bar, private restaurant for lunch/dinner and private entrance to the beach allowed us to feel 'VIP' all week long. The customer service was always friendly and attentive. Having the mini-bar restocked with water, beer and soda each day was a lovely little perk. And the excursions booked through the resort (Bavaro Runner Zip Line and golf) were easily and professionally handled. For us, the other guests were couples over 50, some other honeymooners and a few families with children. Water was so so clear and perfect temperature!!

Our 'it was okay' - Food was reliable but nothing to write home about. Wine at the regular resort was really bad. Cayena Beach, though, offered different choices (and better according to others that tried it). The Italian restaurant was okay, the main buffet for breakfast was okay.

There wasn't really anything in the bad category. We didn't have any desire to listen to the timeshare/ownership pitches so we worked our way around ever having to go to their meetings about it. The bathroom and shower was okay but the rooms overall weren't recently updated, but weren't outdated, either. The entertainment was high school quality, at best. We ended up just staying at Cayena or relaxing in the room most nights.

Recommendations - we are glad we took the advice to bring washcloths (hotel didn't provide them), also glad that we brought some snacks from home (not that we were every hungry!), and glad we walked along the beach to discover all the vendors on the beach so close to the hotel. Other reviews mentioned vendors coming to the hotel and bothering them, but we didn't have that experience at all. It was nice to be able to converse in Spanish but given how international the resort is you'll hear many languages but the staff usually knows English.

Room Tip: Doors slammed loudly! Corner rm would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VIK Hotel Cayena Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Address: White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | n/a Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VIK Hotel Cayena Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to the VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, this hotel enjoys an outstanding location overlooking the beach of Bávaro. The Hotel Cayena Beach is an exclusive part of the complex, designed with the most discerning guests, like you, in mind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your VIK Hotel Cayena Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel Cayena Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.