We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good (with many caveats!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa to your Saves list
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro | Laguna Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good (with many caveats!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Really wish there was a button between "average" and "very good"....As a result of our family visit, there were things we loved about the resort and things that were frustrating. We loved the "open campus" layout with lots of walking amidst beautiful flora and exotic birds. Beach is beautiful (there was a lot of seaweed...maybe that's a time of year issue?) We hated that beach services and pool (small, crowded) shut down so early in the afternoon (beach, 3pm, pool 6p), when it finally got to be cool enough to enjoy.
We loved that the resort was so international, but found that information about the hotel services was extremely limited/non-existing. Probably were lots of nice things we never knew about. Maybe more info is available in other languages? Note: Resort was wildly over-crowded on the weekends...much nicer during the week.
Property is old and there are LOTS of basic things that don't work well in the rooms (lights, plumbing, AC)...request a change if you really hate your initial room, but don't expect the next one to be much better.
To parents with very small children/strollers: there are no elevators anywhere--get a ground floor room.
To snorkelers: We were disappointed in the quality of snorkeling in the whole area, but maybe we picked the wrong trips? Or maybe this area just isn't that great? And there's nothing underwater to see at the hotel beach swimming area.
We found it very aggravating that the promised daily beach/pool towel service was run by a separate trip service and there were NEVER towels available no matter when we tried to request them, but they were always happy to pitch their outings....Very tacky. Just bring your own and be prepared for them to smell bad.
We received constant and aggressive solicitations from various trip operators during our stay and we felt like all the trips (expect $50-$60+US per person for a half day activity) were ALL RIP-OFFS. Good luck. Another note on the trips: Natura Park is apparently at the very end of the routes for these outings and the shuttles (picking up other participants along the way) took between 45 minutes and 1.5 hours each way. :(
Loved all the hotel buffets--especially the emphasis on "local" style cuisine--but don't expect fine cuisine, and the access to the "a la carte" restaurants is strictly limited based on the number of nights you are staying, and they aren't even that good, tho the settings were nice. Fill-in "snack" meal options between buffets were disgusting/inedible and very limited availability.
Our experience with staff ranged from amazingly kind and accommodating to surly/rude/dismissive and everywhere in between. I suspect more adept employees tend to "move up" to nicer resorts?

Room Tip: Note that commodes are separated only by sliding, louvered doors (which often don't close) so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,075
    507
    226
    200
See reviews for
580
1,189
96
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed our fourteen day stay at the Blau Hotel The staff was friendly the buffet was good but the steak was no good. Building need some repairs such as the front exterior lobby you need to take a walk by the front to see this because you wont see this when you arrive on the bus. we need to change our room upon it to us due to the horrible musty smell the 2nd room was ok but it still had a smell but not as bad one advise bring along some sort of room deodorizer because wend you return your clothing will smell so will your bag so put some bounce in luggage .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Start with the good points. The outdoor nature of the resort is exactly what we were looking for. There were beautiful, well maintained gardens and lovely animals to look at like Flamingos, ducks, turtles, fish, and some birds I'm not sure what they are called. The staff were very friendly.

Staff service: We read reviews about tipping and ensured that we tipped well as we went along. We left $2 on the bed everyday and always returned to a tidied room with folded towel and sheet sculptures and fresh flowers and pedals. It's was special. We would leave $2 in the fridge on the days we wanted extra water and extra beer. There was always extra left for us. Which was appreciated as we took the waters on excursions. We tipped $1 to the bartenders as we went along. There were 4 bars including the beach, swim up, pool side and main. It was by the 6th day that the bartenders began to recognize us and offer our typical drinks. We also tipped the waiter $1 at most meals. It was difficult to get the same table and sometimes difficult to sit in the waiter's area. But, when we could, he was polite, friendly, greeted us by name. It was nice.

Room condition: This is where the resort falls short. The room did have air-conditioning, but it had a hard time keeping up with the humidity. Consider it to be a hot sleep if you go in the summer even with air-conditioning. The television screen and mirrors had streak and goopy marks on them. Like they had never been washed with ammonia or some other glass cleaner. The coffee maker smoked the one time we turned it on for hot water. The cover for the television plug had completely come off, so it was an open hole. And the television was staticy at best because the connection was not right. It was not a 5 star room. More like 2.

Main desk: The service at the main desk was good. We did not learn any Spanish before we went, and found that some front desk people only knew limited Spanish. Keep this in mind when travelling. I'll be sure to learn the language more next time.

Peddlers: A large drawback to this hotel were the peddlers. I had read reviews and talked to people who said peddlers would be on the beach, and they had to abide by rules. This resort lets them on sight. The guy you get your towels from works for the Dolphin tour, so every time you go by the pool, he bugs you for a tour. The photoshop boys hound you on the walkway continuously. Peddlers line the walkways selling excursions, and you cannot get from the main buffet to your room without going by them. They are pushy and at times, rude. We learned quickly so just say, "no thank you." Twice a week, the resort lets local merchants on sight to setup booths along the walkways. These guys are really pushy. The walk right in front of you and make you stop. They are beyond pushy and really difficult to get around. I did not like this.

Resort on the weekends: The resort was very quiet, not a lot of people booked for the week. Mostly people from Spain and Quebec, Canada when we went. However, when we got there Friday night, the resort was booming. Apparently, rumour has it, the resort sells discount packages on the weekend to Dominican people. So it fills the resort on the weekends. Nice idea, but keep in mind, Dominicans are a different culture from Canadians. I was pushed aside, trampled on, and but in front off numerous times at the buffet during every meal on the weekend. It was downright scary at times. I didn't go on vacation to a resort to be pushed around. Perhaps if I stayed at a local place, I would have expected it, but not at a so called 5 star resort. This and the room condition are the main reasons I give this resort such a low rating.

Beach activities: This is my first all inclusive experience, so I don't know what's typical. However, I did not expect to pay extra for the included activities like catamaran sailing and snorkelling. You have to pay an insurance fee for using the equipment. Tip - we brought our own snorkel gear. It was a good idea because the resort only had a few sets and the place closed at 4pm, so you couldn't use anything after that. Good thing there were not a lot of people booked during the week. There was a 1 hour snorkelling you could do where they take you on the power boat out to the reef just beyond the resort waters. It cost extra as well. I think it should have been included. We didn't go far, it was only an hour, and really, didn't cost them anything to take us out there. Take extra money if you go to la Blau for their water activities.

Internet: Last thing, there is no wifi at this hotel. It is $3 for 15 minutes to use the computers. And the computers are only available for a few hours during the day. This was very challenging for us considering how used to connectivity with our child and family back home. Wifi should always be included at a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside by the employees beach are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly, but you get what you pay for in regards to the rooms and accommodations. Just a heads up- during the weekends the hotel allows the residents of the Dominican Republic to stay at the hotel for a discounted price. It was way way too crowded! The hotel really should have limited the amount of people staying.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice resort, human size, not 10.000 rooms and a million acres like some others...
I stayed twice in this hotel and I am bummed that no agencies in my country (Belgium) has this resort bookable anymore.
I will be in the area this october and will sure try to visit to say hello to some off the staff-members, especially the most famous Ramon at the lobby bar.
It would be nice if people stopped 'complaining' about how outdated some rooms are, this is one of the first hotels in the area, so, yes, its a little old, so what, are you staying in your room all day?
The rooms are big and comfortable, the maids do a very good job( leave them a small 'propina').
Now, the food, who is complaining? Get a life! You are in a different country, for all i know its an opportunity to discover new things and not complain that they don't have what you are used to eat at home, so try everything that you don't know and try to enjoy the fact that you are whealthy enough so you can travel...most people here aren't that lucky!
The language barrier is entirely the fault off the guests imo, if you go to a country where the official language is spanish, learn some basics before you go, it will make your life a lot easier once there.
Yes, they do speak a little English, French, whatever, don't forget that the educational system is not the same here and if you take along a small basic dictionary you'll be allright.
Please be patient when you ask for something, it's hot for everyone here, also for the staffmembers that will go out of their way to accomodate all off your needs as soon as possible...
A smile and a 'ola!' or 'buenos dias' will do miracles for you, not kidding, really.
There is no 'disco', which is good for nightrest, no drunken hooligans that roam the resort late at night and wake you up!
You can go to a club if you choose to, they provide shuttle service to 'Imagine' couple days a week, or you can take a cab to 'Mangu' in Friusa-Bavaro, very nice if i may say so.
Just for you singles, beware of the gorgeous looking girls or boys in the clubs, they are not in love with you, they love your wallet...
I'll stop for now, if you want more details, just ask!
Have a nice trip!

Room Tip: Just the pool area is very noisy, if you are close, no 'siesta' in the afternoon for you...o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I rated this a "1" star only because you have to pick one, other than that it would have been "0" star.We made reservations for the one in Punta Cana. This place is a joke, it looks ABSOLUTELY nothing like the pics. It looked like a hole in wall, smelled like moth balls, lock on our room door was broken, cable cord to the 1989 tv on the dresser was rigged. Not to mention full of ants in the room and in our sealed box of cupcakes. This was our honeymoon so of course I was highly upset. We went to the lobby to use the internet to find another resort (and we did) then got the Hell out of dodge after about an hour of our arrival there. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

You won't get a five star experience with Natura Park, but the resort is small and the staff is friendly. We liked the personal service -- the staff knew our names -- and the fact that the resort itself has lush grounds and is small and homey. Rooms were adequately furnished and comfortable and each has a balcony. No room is far from the beach or pool. The a la carte restaturants were great, though the resort has a weird policy for how you book them. We went during off season (July) and the weather was terrific and the resort wasn't too crowded. On the negative side, the rooms could use more electrical outlets and we had difficulty getting fresh beach towels. The pool closes too early. But, it's a great spot for families and they have lots of day and nighttime activities. The only thing we didn't like was the constant pressure from hawkers selling excursions. Check reviews on the internet before you go and choose your trips wisely. There is a lot of fun to be had, but some bad trips as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa

Address: Cabeza de Toro | Laguna Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Natura Park Beach Eco Resort & SpaExperience a holiday in complete harmony with nature at our luxury Punta Cana resort, Blau Natura Park. Lush tropical gardens teeming with exotic bird life are interspersed with lagoons and bridges along winding paths which lead to the beach. Our Punta Cana luxury hotel is located on the marvelous Playa Bavaro beach, one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Park Punta Cana
Natura Park Beach Eco Resort & Spa
Natura Park Beach Ecoresort Hotel
Blau Natura Park Punta Cana
Punta Cana Natura Park Resort
Natura Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.