We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, fabulous, awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, fabulous, awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Have got to say this hotel is absolutely wonderful, don't no how anyone can say bad about the place, we had two rooms stayed there with our three children in the prefered ages 16, 17, & 12. The staff are all amazing, our favourites are, Carlos our waiter who served us on our romantic meal on the beach. Rueben who helped with our suitecases, that man works so hard but always has a smile for you, he is genuine, we loved this place and are going to go back next year also shout out to mr happy Carlos the waiter on the prefered beach. Ignore bad reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for having chosen us as your vacation destination in the Punta Cana area; it was an honor. We thank you for your comments, please know we appreciate them and it means a lot to us, as it helps us know that we are accomplishing our goals of making our guests happy.

Thank you for your warm and kind comments towards Carlos and Ruben, we are happy of having them form part of our team. Rest assured that these messages will be passed on to them.

It was an absolute pleasure to have taken care of you. We do look forward to welcoming you next year. Hope to see you really soon!

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,010
    1,492
    595
    216
    135
See reviews for
2,430
2,532
60
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This resort is below average. We stood here aug 2013 for a week for a friends wedding. This is supposed to be a top destination wedding resort and yet they cannot cater to or accomodate large groups for dining.Rather than complaining i will list pros and cons:

Pros-
- not far from the airport
- bar staff was great.
- lunch time barbeque chicken was great

Cons-
- phone in room was broken. Took them 2 days to fix it
- staff will avoid getting you a manager at any cost. Is as if they dont exist
- food is average.
- pool and beach close at around 7pm
- casino dealers cheat and will do anything possible not to let you win
- beach water is full of branches and seaweed.
- there is no atm machine. They wanted to charge $40 for a $200 withdrawal
- house keeping cleans, but does not put new towels. When you call they give you less than what you requested.
- they fumigate the property around 7 pm. If you are walking in the hallway or sitting on the balcony you are breathing in clouds of bug spray.
- only the lobby bar carries top shelf alcohol.
- mini bar consists of 2 cans of beer and soda. Dont expect it to be refilled
-wifi is expensive and they only accept cash


I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to send along your feedbacks in regards to your stay. At the same time we take the opportunity to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations and for the less than favorable experience; please know this was never our intention.

All of us from the Executive Management team would have certainly appreciated to have had the opportunity to turn your experience around by sharing your disappointments and concerns. We assure you that we would have ensured the wonderful experience we deliver to hundreds of happy guests on a daily basis,

We advertise premium drinks and are proud to serve top notch drinks in all 9 bars located in our resort. If guests do not find their drinks to their satisfaction, they are more than welcome to ask the bartender to adjust it to their liking.

As you say the pools and beaches are closed at 7pm. Swimming in the ocean is not allowed after 7pm because at this time it tends to get quite dark; pools close because they undergo rigorous cleaning to have them nice and ready for the next day for our guests’ enjoyment.
The fees for money exchange is a legal tax matter in which we have no saying

We are sorry about the miscommunication with the housekeeping staff and your disappointment with the minibar, sometimes the language barrier may be an issue. However, a call to the front desk or concierge would have solved both issues.

Food is something which is subject to each individual’s perception. Our chef is more than happy to cater any special request when food is not to our guests’ liking. Please know that later on in the year we will be having the unlimited connectivity up and running.

We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest’s experiences play a key role in this continuous process. We apologize this was the outcome of your stay as this is not the service we are so renowned for. We would like to encourage you to return for a future vacation so that we are able to regain your trust in our brand. For further comments or questions, please do not hesitate to email us.

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Sept. 2013: We are back from our vacation and wanted to let you know that this was no a great vacation, we had a horrible experience. The resort had mosquitos everywhere including in the rooms. The rooms needed work, they looked old and my expectations were higher. The food was okay, not the best. Phones do not work sometimes, Wifi cuts in and out and doesn't work well. Lights and water turn off in the middle of the night. The worst part about it was when we were checking out, we requested to have help with our luggage and no one showed up so we called the front desk and he did not speak much english at 4AM and our shuttle was here. As we were leaving the front desk guy said "you think you can leave without paying" how dare he, we took care of the bill the evening before. He should have checked and been more polite. We paid extra to be preferred but I did not feel preferred.

Room Tip: Rooms near the end have more bugs and mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for taking the time to send along your feedbacks of your recent holiday experience at our property. As a service oriented company our main concern is our guests` complete satisfaction and it deeply concerns us to learn that we did not meet yours.

We are avid followers of all that our guests have to share about their experience here in Dreams Palm Beach. The feedback that we receive is the basis to continue on the line that has taken us very far amongst our competitors and to improve all the things that we must in order to continue to grow even further. Rest assured that all these issues have been addressed to the management to prevent any further occurrence.

\Again we apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your constructive criticism and will work to correct any deficiencies in our daily operation. For further comments or questions, do not hesitate to email us.

Respectfully,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 5 with teenagers aged 13,15, and 16 in August 2013. We have done many all inclusive holidays around the Caribbean, and found this one to be the best we have ever had. We had adjourning rooms and both were clean spacious and all amenities you would expect from a 5star hotel. We ate at all the restaurants on site and found the food to be excellent in all of them, especially the seaside grill where the steaks were superb! We had no issues in getting sun beds around the pool areas or on the beach, and we particularly liked the fact we could move between beach and pool at any time of day. Entertainment Staff were excellente! Special thanks to "Woody" who really made our holiday. We found all the staff to be very friendly and happy and we would like to especially say thank you to Pedro and Miguel for making our holiday so special. Sometimes you judge the staff in a hotel by the way they rectify any small issues you may have , Pedro and Miguels customer service were second to none. The Thomson Reps on site Judy and Domingo were outstanding and helped out with any issues we had straight away. Our kids met loads of other teenagers and found the Core Zone a great place to hang out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. It fills us with happiness and satisfaction to be warmly embraced by our guests. We are glad that we continue to fill your expectations during each visit. Thank you for choosing Dreams as your home away from home and for your kind comments, which we extremely valuable.

We hope that we have the opportunity to keep delighting you in the near future. Please know that here at Dreams you have a home and a family waiting for your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a terrific 5-days/4-nights stay at Dreams Palm Beach in Punta Cana. We found all our needs meticulously attended to by staff who were extraordinarily friendly and welcoming. We selected accommodations at the Dreams Preferred, which includes access to a private club, private pool, and the Seaside Grill. At the Seaside Grill, we enjoyed excellent service provided, in particular, by Cristina, Carlos, and Felix. At the Preferred pool, Jose kept the drinks flowing. Carlos, the bellhop also on the Preferred side, made sure we had everything we needed. Last but not least, we also want to mention Sander (on the entertainment staff) who also was especially kind. All made our stay memorable and..."EXCELENTE!" (as staff are fond of saying).

The property itself was gorgeous with a palm-shaded private beach and multiple on-site pools. Although there were several dining options to choose from, we found the food served at the restaurants to be mediocre to average. It would've been fun to have a place on site that specialized in Dominican cuisine. The faux French, Italian, Asian and Mexican options were less appealing than what we found at the Seaside Grill, which we ended up patronizing more than any of the other options. Note that the Seaside Grill--open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner--is available to Preferred Guests only and has no dress code. (For any of the other restaurants, aside from the World Cafe, be sure to pack at least one pair of slacks for gentlemen, as long pants are required).

We booked our trip through Apple Vacations (also highly recommended). Cesar, the knowledgeable and personable Apple representative at Dreams, presented us with a variety of (paid) day excursions to choose from after we arrived. If you'd like to experience a little bit more of the people and culture of the Dominican Republic, we highly recommend the Bavaro Runners day trip to the beautiful countryside where you'll learn how cocoa, coffee, and sugarcane are produced and also how cigars are handmade. We also enjoyed our best meal of the trip (consisting of local Dominican fare) on this excursion! The trip included horseback riding and ended with a visit to gorgeous Macao Beach, where the translucent, azure water and powder white sand took our breath away.

In sum, we had a great experience. We definitely would go back again.

Room Tip: upgrade to preferred. higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent 10 nights at Dreams Palm Beach for our honeymoon in August and it was honestly the best holiday we have ever had. The resort is beyond beautiful, with wonderful gardens everywhere and fantastic views. The restaurants are amazing, there are so many to choose from, including our two favourites - the world cafe, which is a buffet style restaurant with a huge range of food, and the Italian restaurant. We also had some delicious food around the preferred pool at lunchtimes which is served from the seaside grill - definitely worth a try! We had such lovely food during our stay and can recommend sampling the cocktail list! We were in the preferred club which included a separate pool and area of beach which were amazing and made our stay even better! Our room, one of the suites, was absolutely stunning and this level of luxury can be found throughout the resort. The staff were exceptional and provided excellent service. The staff at Dreams are truly the most friendly and helpful people and go out of their way to make your stay the best ever, we would especially like to thank Pedro Tomas for making our stay perfect, along with his staff in the preferred lounge who were fantastic throughout our stay, and Angel, the preferred club pool concierge, who was brilliant from day one! Our stay at dreams was truly perfect and made our honeymoon 'excellente'! We will definitely be going back to Dreams Palm Beach and would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a holiday in paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for having chosen us for this past vacation and for sharing your experience with other reviewers; this is much appreciated. It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed your stay at Dreams. Thank you for highlighting how helpful, friendly and attentive our staff is. We are very proud of them all, as they go the extra mile to bring smiles upon our guest’s faces. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with them all.

On behalf of Mr. Pedro Tomas and the Dreams staff, please know that it was a pleasure to have served you and we truly do look forward to having the chance of hosting you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Liked it alot! Great tours..clean rooms...lots of stuff for kids in kids club... Pay the extra for concierge ..its worth it! Food was excellent and had so much fun! We met such great people there too and the staff was very courteous as well!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We would like to thank you for your having chosen us to be part of your vacation. Please know that your comments are very well received and encourages us to keep in the right track towards excellence.

We are glad that your children enjoyed all the fun activities from the Explorer’s Club, you all enjoyed the food, especially our staff who as you say are very courteous with our guests.

We hope you give us the opportunity to be able to create more memories in the future and most importantly to welcome you to your home away from home.

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.